We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Esperia Beach Hotel Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Esperia Beach Hotel Apartments to your Saves list
Esperia Beach Hotel Apartments
1.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Australon Polemiston 31, Rethymnon, Crete 74100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 42 Rethymnon B&B and Inns
4.0 of 5 stars 60 Reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This is the 4th time I have stayed at Esperia and as always I had an excellant time. The apartment is very clean with towels and sheets changed regularly and no charge for the Air Con. The beach is just a few steps away and everything you need is within walking distance. I am not sure why people are complaining as this is a very friendly place to stay for a holiday in an apartment, with all staff knowing my name and having time to chat with me, if people want more than this, then they should pay the price and stay in a 5 star hotel where they will be known as a room number!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    19
    8
    5
    6
See reviews for
18
28
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We booked this hotel for 10 days and after getting there at 11pm we were told there was no rooms available for 3 days. We had to stay up a back alley where it was noisy and dirty. No other accommodation was available as we walked the sea front for a whole day but the resort was fully booked . We were told that 2 apartments had no water but we never saw any sign of repair men. We had to walk to the hotel for our breakfast which was always cold and tasteless. On day 4 we packed our bags but no sign of nick the hotel manager ( he starts his day at12pm ) so we hired a car for the day and ararrived back at 7.30pm to check in . Nick told us that because we had not confirmed the room and did not leave our bags (we could not find anyone to leave them with and who in their right mind would leave your bags unattended with laptops etc) , there was no room available he had allocated our room to someone else!
At this point we knew what a complete liar he was, we had asked around a few tavernas in the area and nick is notorious for over booking so in fact he had been paid twice for our room!
We rang our holiday company who immediately cancelled the holiday and found us accommodation in another resort which lost us another day, more money and we had to make our own way there. No nick, no apology ,no compensation he just disappeared and he had been avoiding us all the way. We found him to be very unprofessional, rude and not capable of running any hotel . If this happens to you cancel right away and find a better hotel along the sea front don't wait to be ripped off like we were. Apart from that Rethymnon is a lovely place to visit.

Room Tip: Ring ahead to make sure your room is available , not double booked and take your travel companies ph...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Esperia for one week in July. We are a family of five and this was the reason we stayed here, only place that could accommodate us - family room. The location was great, right across the beach, at the very end of the strip. The rooms were ok, beds were hard, nice balcony, kitchenette consisted of a mini fridge, burner, sink and mini counter. You could not cook a meal in this kitchen, just make coffee and have drinks and some food in the fridge. The breakfast was terrible, food was exposed and flies were constantly on the food. The staff were very friendly and helpful, especially Maria and Elias. The pool was tiny and beach towels were not included, we rented them each for 2€ every 3 days. The key to the safe also was an additional charge, 20€ for the week. This was quite disappointing and annoying. I have never paid for a safe key or towels before.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperiabeach, Manager at Esperia Beach Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Sir/madam
Thank you for your review and your good spoke about us! It seams that the Breakfast was not what you expect it to be ,so we shall continue our hard work to make it better! Now about the additional charges ....every hotel or maybe 95% of hotels charges for the safe key ,and we charge 2.00€ per day as you were informed in the reception ! Like many hotels do charge for the A/C wich we dont. Free towels for the Beach and pool ,are only provided for free in the 4* and 5* star hotels,as we do NOT charge for the towels are in the room !
Thank you so much for your review !
Best regards
Esperia Beach ***
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed here in July 2013 for 7 nights and arrived just before midnight, tired after our flight and the welcome couldn't have been better. Check-in was really swift and we were able to order food (which was lovely) and Nick (the owner) even offered to open their on-site shop if we needed any supplies. Nick was very informative about the area and helpful throughout the week.

Our apartment was really spacious and clean, and overlooked the sea as we requested. All the staff in the hotel, snack bar and shop were really friendly, polite and helpful. It was easy and free to park close to the hotel and there was also a taxi rank nearby. The lovely sandy beach is literally across the road and the hotel has its own sun loungers (at 3 Euros per person, per day), with a food and drinks service. There are plenty of bars and restaurants within a few minutes walk and it is a lively area, withough being rowdy. Our 5 year old son was made very welcome everywhere we went.

A really great stay and we thoroughly enjoyed our first visit to Crete.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

My daughter and I spent 6 nights at the Esperia and thoroughly enjoyed it. The hotel is small and very clean. The owner and staff were very friendly and made us feel welcome. The open-air bar/cafe had a fun vibe at night that wasn't too rowdy but offered a good time. It's within easy walking distance of markets, restaurants, and bus stop. The taxi stand is right outside the door. Thank you, Nick and staff for everything! It was our first trip to Greece and I hope to make it back there some day!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOREHAMWOOD
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Friendly small hotel/apartments overlooking the sea. Beach is across a small road and beach charges are only 6€ per day for 2 sunbeds and an umbrella.
Good size apartment and our one had 4 balconies with a bedroom on a mezzanine
Well situated.with numerous good restaurants and only 3 kilometre walk from the old town
Small kitchenette and bathroom but lots of other room space and plenty of wardrobes.
Would recommend for a relaxing holiday with very helpful staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperiabeach, Owner at Esperia Beach Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Hello and thank you so much for your review ! We shall always, me , and my family try to make everyone happy with our greek hospitality and service! Thank you and hope to see you again .
Best regards
Nektarios
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We have stayed at Esperia beach twice in the last 3 years, and enjoyed the same excellent service, in clean spacious accommodation, overlooking the Beach. All of the staff were superb and very friendly, you felt that if there were problems they would solve them, but there were no problems! (save for a couple of glitches with the in room equipment)
Tv a bit dated, but who needs tv, and the pool was a bit small for long distance swimming! but the location is ideal for those who prefer it quiet, but not so far away from the busy end (3k walkable but the 5 Euro taxi ride is VFM!
Will definitely be back.
Stayed week commencing 16th September 2012

Room Tip: 2nd and 3rd floor front of appartments offer excellent sea views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperiabeach, Manager at Esperia Beach Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Friend thank you so much for your rewiew! My self and my family will always try to do the best we can every time for all of you, to be special each time!
Best wishes
Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Esperia Beach Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esperia Beach Hotel Apartments

Address: Australon Polemiston 31, Rethymnon, Crete 74100, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Esperia Beach Hotel Apartments 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Esperia Beach is located right on the beach of Rethymno and only 30 minutes walk to the center town ,there are split level apartments and studios sea view with kitchen,a/c,flat TV,safe box,hair dryer,mini market ,Reception ,Bar and snack Bar,organized Beach ,swimming pool,lift and ramp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Esperia Beach Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esperia Beach Hotel Apartments Rethymnon, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Esperia Beach Hotel Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.