We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, poor food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Civitas Rethymnae

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Civitas Rethymnae to your Saves list
Civitas Rethymnae
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   E.Venizelou 20, Rethymnon, Crete 74100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #104 of 159 Hotels in Rethymnon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great location, poor food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located directly opposite the bay and is 5 mins walk from the old Venetian town and port. It is beautifully decorated, interesting and very creative in its lay out. Unfortunately the catering was very poor. They don't keep a wine cellar and offer only one wine label which is awful. The food is mass produced and reheated. The staff were very helpful and friendly but for the hotel to become a superior boutique style, they need to run a high standard Cretan restaurant.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    20
    8
    12
    17
See reviews for
9
77
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

The hotel is in a good location, and while soom rooms are decorated nicely others are not. This is definately NOT a four * hotel and does not live upto the reviews and photo's on the web site. We had no air conditioning, no sound proof room,no cable for T.V., no bar to drink in, there was no sun terrice on the roof or loungers to relax on, and no room servicing over the weekend. The quality of the food was very basic, but did improve during our stay. One staff member, Vasilis, was working particularly hard to bring standards up and to please the guests, his efforts helped to make the stay more comfortable. The venition style needs to be lovingly restored and it needs to reflect the photo's and advertising, until then we will not be returning.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Despite the impressive décor of this hotel and the relentless effort by staff to please guests, the hotel failed on many aspects. Our room pleasantly overlooked the sea but was very basic in its facilities. We had no bedside tables or lamps and had to improvise with our cases. The TV didn't work and hung precariously crooked on the wall. There was no full length mirror. The bathroom was not practical to the point of being ridiculous. It measured 2 metres long by 1 metre wide which meant sitting side saddle on the loo. There was nowhere to put toiletries and was so cramped it made showering very uncomfortable. Our room, although very clean upon arrival, was not cleaned over the weekend period and we had to get rid of paper ourselves.

Meals displayed no sign of culinary flair. We were served strange dishes that seemed to be rehashed from leftovers. Food was so bland and either dried to a frazzle or undercooked. Ugh.

As for the hotel facilities, there was no furniture on the roof terrace to relax and sunbathe as advertised, only one wicker chair and a load of old empty flower pots. There was no bar in the hotel as pictured in the details.

Despite the hard work of one member of staff who did his utmost to keep things going I'm sorry to say its a place that I would never recommend.

Room Tip: Think carefully before booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Just returned from a dreadful week in this hotel. They failed to give us the room which we had booked and paid for and failed to move us into an alternative room when we asked to be moved. The room was not serviced for 3 days until I contacted our Thomas Cook rep who made an official complaint, so there was no fresh bed lined, towels or clean floors for the first 3 days of our stay. The furniture in our room was damaged with the seats worn and torn with the foam rubber stuffing hanging out. Disgraceful! The air extraction fans in both the toilet and the shower room did not work leaving the room with a constant stale damp smell. The air conditioning unit in the lower half of the room was not functioning.
The food was truly terrible with e.g. half a cold boiled egg and two 2 centimeter hot dog sausages being a regular mandatory offering at breakfast.

On Friday, Saturday and Sunday nights the noise levels from the nearby bar / club was deafening until around 3 am.
A truly awful place. Avoid this at all costs. I shall be taking up my complaints with Thomas Cook who promoted this hotel and sold it to us as a desirable place to stay. Awful, truly awful.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Just back from one week at the Civitas, booked through Thomas Cook. We took the half board option and would not recommend this to anyone. The food is truly awful. We also payed extra for an inner courtyard view. This is a COVERED atrium so no actual fresh air. The room was very good and clean but we had to keep the lights on at all times as it was dark. The bed and bedding were excellent.The sun terrace with loungers did not exist. For 2 days our room was not cleaned, towels, toilet paper and bin, bedding was not renewed. Dimitri and his staff were lovely but totally overwhelmed with trying to run this sinking ship. Be carefull. This does not deserve its 4 star rating. All the other guests had similar problems with the food and paying for rooms and facilities they did not get.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

This small hotel was my place of serenity. Assisted personnel and attentive while at the same. Time discreet. Restaurant has good selection of local and international grill plates.the hi light is the hotel location. In the middle of everything with tones of character...
Bars, shopping, the beaches, the monuments, the tavernas and the mainland as well. I took a flight from Chania and it was an easy drive after 40 minutes.
Looking forward to go back rethymno has many attractions.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanb
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

This romantic hotel has offered unforgettable experience we felt like it was our first time traveling as a couple.
The suite we used was two flor and the decor is nicer than the pictures , not that much actually. The rooms very quiet with all comforts and very quiet, for us to enjoy our privacy. We arranged for private dinning with selection of grill plates and splats and the service was excellent.
We booked again for next season can't wait to be back.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Civitas Rethymnae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Civitas Rethymnae

Address: E.Venizelou 20, Rethymnon, Crete 74100, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Civitas Rethymnae 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have developed a luxurious Boutique Hotel & Residences in a premier waterfront location between well-known historic town of Rethymno and miles long sand beach . The design is inspired by Architect/ Painter Nikos Mourelos who brings out the true character of the historic building while the new construction combines state of the art technology in a luxurious and comfortable environment. Outstanding Services tailored to each of our guest preferences will create memorable experience. The ambiance is luxurious, yet warm and inviting. The lobby is a showcase providing entertainment for memorable occasions. Special butler-style dinning will invite our culinary regional creations to embrace your pallet. The evenings will be inspired by a cosmopolitan style waterfront promenade where you will be swept away by the array of activities. Your personal concierge can accommodate you with dinner reservations, sports activities, renting a car, just name it! And if you are on the extraordinary side, we can accommodate you with many adventures or just set a perfect romantic gateway or a fun family time for you. This little jewel is situated across from the beach and is the point where ancient civilization meets modern world with its design and furnishing along its high- tech amenities. Do you like to mix a martini and enjoy it after the beach? Be your own mixologist and combine your drinks from the Big Bar. Why is it called Big Bar? Cause size matters and there is nothing small in your bar, which includes a martini shaker set as well as cool recipes for your enjoyment. Location ??? City of Rethymno: Civitas Rethymnae is located in the hart of the historic town on the waterfront district along the sand beach. ??? 80 kmtr from N. Kazantzakis airport ( Iraklion ) ??? 60 klmtr from I. Daskalogiannis airport ( Hania) ??? 100 meter from Port/ Marina of Rethymno Accommodations ??? 8 Exclusive loft residences and suites, each approximately 35 sqr meters of indoor space. ??? 3 different types of residences and suites provide accommodation in loft or flat type some with Balconies. Views are available with direct water view, Historic monument, or the Atrium. Guest Room Amenities ??? 3 flat 15??????-20??????-32??????screen HDTV TVs located in bedroom, bathroom and living room.. ??? European ??? Style kitchen with microwave / grill oven, refrigerator, wet bar, dishwasher, ceramic top burners. ( big bar spirits, refreshments, snacks) ??? Marble encased bathrooms with island-style Jacuzzi tubs. Hermes amenities are a standard (bath menu is also provided). ??? Plush bedding, Egyptian cotton / satin bedding material, goose down and micro fiber pillows, feather bed, duvet. Prestige Mediastrom mattress. (pillow menu) ??? Daily maid service with turn down service. ??? In room safes ??? 24 hour in room dining ??? In room Butler Style Service. Dinning Enjoy regional inspired menu in our waterfront restaurant, get cosy in the indoor intimate lounge setting offering a variety of cocktails created by our mixologist. Endeavour a light menu on the beach after splashing in the crystal clear turquoise Mediterranean Sea. Hotel amenities: Our concierge services are 24 hours at your service. Our transportation services can pick you up from a location of your desire. Pamper yourself, with an In-house massage and beauty treatments. Unwind on the beach. Contact us for your business service needs. Events: 115 square meters outdoor event space to host your exclusive parties, 11 meters long stage ideal for fashion shows. hy the Civitas Rethymnae Completed reconstructed historic building, luxurious setting for ultimate comfort, on a prime waterfront location in the hart of the town, state of the art accessories and amenities. Miles long sand beach. Stimulating night life. Remarkable monuments and ancient sites, exciting excursions. Cosmopolitan prominent location . Special hotel rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Civitas Rethymnae reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Civitas Rethymnae Hotel Rethymnon
Civitas Rethymnae Rethymnon, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Civitas Rethymnae, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.