We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel and staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Civitas Rethymnae

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Civitas Rethymnae to your Saves list
Civitas Rethymnae
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   E.Venizelou 20, Rethymnon, Crete 74100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #104 of 159 Hotels in Rethymnon
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel and staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

A well appointed boutique hotel with a lovely situation . Local facilities very good , but restaurant staff too pushy for me ! ie They see you leave one restaurant having just eaten then pounce on you !! . We had a lovely week and would return .

Room Tip: No lift , and try not to arrive in the middle of the night as they didn't meet us from the trans...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspa20, Manager at Civitas Rethymnae, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Hamish.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the hotel. We appreciate all feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back again if you decide to visit Rethymno.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    20
    8
    12
    17
See reviews for
9
77
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston upon Hull, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

what a lovely place rethymnon is the hotel is situated on the sea front in the old town handy for everything our room was lovely but on two levels the bedroom being upstairs the bathroom kitchen etc down stairs and I had torn a tendon in my knee just before we went so the stairs were a bit awkward especially if you needed the loo in the night otherwise great. If you like a hearty breakfast then this hotel is not for you but it suited me fine and you can always rustle something up in your room overall we had a great time.

Room Tip: if not too good on your feet make sure you request a room all on one level
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspa20, Manager at Civitas Rethymnae, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Susan.

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review about our hotel. We are pleased that you had a lovely holiday and enjoyed your stay here. We look forward to welcoming you back to Civitas hotel if you decide to return to Rethymno.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidcup, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Beautifully decorated and very very clean. Staff all very helpful however woefully understaffed. Quality of food ok but choice very poor. Breakfast a waste of time. Couldn't even get a slice of toast. No where to sit and relax when back from beach. Sun terrace had workmen on it, no parasol or sun beds. No reception area or bar area. Food not included in package and drinks very expensive. Such a let down considering how much money this holiday cost.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspa20, Manager at Civitas Rethymnae, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guests,

We thank you for taking the time to write a review on your holiday here at Civitas Hotel. We value all of your comments and thank you for the positive feedback. We accept all comments and use them constructively in our continuous effort to improve the service of our hotel. We apologise for any disturbance caused by routine maintenance. Being a boutique hotel we prefer to greet our guests in the luxury of our hotel lobby for a more relaxed atmosphere.
We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back at Civitas sometime in the future and that we will be able to offer you more distinguished services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 07.07.13-14.07.13 in a wonderful luxurious room on the top floor. Perfectly clean and especially the bed - very comfortable. The pictures on the hotel's website are nice, but the hotel and our room turned out to be even much better in reality))) I'm a regular traveller but here I was surprised in a good way))) Also good location to the beach, parking (we rented a car) and the city centre. Very friendly and helpful staff. Enjoyed every single moment really)))

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspa20, Manager at Civitas Rethymnae, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Svetlana.

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to write a lovely review about the hotel. We are so pleased that you had a "perfect" stay here. We are very glad to have been at your service. We look forward to welcoming you back to Civitas in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I just dropped in for a night at the last minute so had no expectations...
My suite was great value, dinner and breakfast included which was a bonus.

The bed was deliciously comfortable and large, and air conditioning kept the room fresh.
Unfortunately while the decor was charming and elegant, there were no windows and the satellite tv only worked in the bathroom! The bathroom had an amazing spa bath too, but was on a different level to the bed.

Alexis was very helpful and breakfast was fresh.

This is an unusual room, but I enjoyed the position and rethymno.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspa20, Manager at Civitas Rethymnae, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Ruth

Thank you for taking the time to write the lovely review about our hotel. We very much appreciate it. However I would like to take this opportunity to rectify something in your review to save any confusion with future guests. You state that there are "no windows". There are no windows in the bathroom/jacuzzi area but there are windows in all suites in the hotel.
Once again we appreciate your feedback and hope you would choose us again if you ever decide to visit Rethymno again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This hotel was beautiful in its design and decor and every thing was kept very clean the location was superb and the staff were excellent in making the most of a bad job (especially Alexzandra & Renaldo) That unfortunately is where the praise ends , breakfast was ok but dinner was basic and not good, for the price charged the boss is serving up cheap menus which does not reflect the ambiance portrayed by the hotel. At most 8 people ate at night and they ran out of chicken ,bread no local beer at all for the second week and same menu every other day .I could go on such as chicken breast that I had with no chicken on it just carcas & gentleman next to me had the same ! Food was stone cold when we got it and most times main course arrived as you had just started the starter!If you were inclined you could have got rather angry as these stories are just a snippet but it became a joke between ourselves and 2 other couples and if it wasn't for the staff especially Alex our holiday would have been ruined .Its a great pity as this place could have it all but the boss lady needs to up her game !

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspa20, General Manager at Civitas Rethymnae, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Nicola D.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay at Civitas Hotel. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your evening meal. I have personally taken care of this matter and I would like to thank you for your constructive feedback as we strive continuously to improve the level of service for our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back at the Civitas Hotel should you choose to return to Rethymno.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

...an outstanding hotel but it is not. The rooms are very good and the look of the hotel from outside and in is excellent so it should be great. The staff are friendly with the exception of the owner who was fine until we had a problem with our room key and then turned (she is infamous in the town with the locals) so with the location and keen staff (Alexandria, Ronaldo and Alexis) it cold be great and the hotel would be great if a bit more attention to detail was paid. No soap in rooms, ran out of local brand of beer, food quality poor and just a general lack of common sense. The problem appears to be the owner thinks this is a 5star + hotel and that it is a privilege to stay there. That is just not the case. Falwty Towers has been used as a term on other reviews and it was a term we and others staying at the same time did use. Our stay does deserve a rating of 4 because of the rooms, location and resort but we all expect a lot more bangs for our bucks these days and this hotel is behind the times.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspa20, General Manager at Civitas Rethymnae, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Michael G.

Thank you for your positive comments and I am very pleased that you enjoyed the luxury surroundings of our hotel and it's fantastic location. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed but I would like to assure you that your constructive feedback is greatly appreciated in that it may aid us in improving the quality of our service to our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Civitas Hotel if you decide to return to Rethymno, Crete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Civitas Rethymnae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Civitas Rethymnae

Address: E.Venizelou 20, Rethymnon, Crete 74100, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Civitas Rethymnae 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have developed a luxurious Boutique Hotel & Residences in a premier waterfront location between well-known historic town of Rethymno and miles long sand beach . The design is inspired by Architect/ Painter Nikos Mourelos who brings out the true character of the historic building while the new construction combines state of the art technology in a luxurious and comfortable environment. Outstanding Services tailored to each of our guest preferences will create memorable experience. The ambiance is luxurious, yet warm and inviting. The lobby is a showcase providing entertainment for memorable occasions. Special butler-style dinning will invite our culinary regional creations to embrace your pallet. The evenings will be inspired by a cosmopolitan style waterfront promenade where you will be swept away by the array of activities. Your personal concierge can accommodate you with dinner reservations, sports activities, renting a car, just name it! And if you are on the extraordinary side, we can accommodate you with many adventures or just set a perfect romantic gateway or a fun family time for you. This little jewel is situated across from the beach and is the point where ancient civilization meets modern world with its design and furnishing along its high- tech amenities. Do you like to mix a martini and enjoy it after the beach? Be your own mixologist and combine your drinks from the Big Bar. Why is it called Big Bar? Cause size matters and there is nothing small in your bar, which includes a martini shaker set as well as cool recipes for your enjoyment. Location ??? City of Rethymno: Civitas Rethymnae is located in the hart of the historic town on the waterfront district along the sand beach. ??? 80 kmtr from N. Kazantzakis airport ( Iraklion ) ??? 60 klmtr from I. Daskalogiannis airport ( Hania) ??? 100 meter from Port/ Marina of Rethymno Accommodations ??? 8 Exclusive loft residences and suites, each approximately 35 sqr meters of indoor space. ??? 3 different types of residences and suites provide accommodation in loft or flat type some with Balconies. Views are available with direct water view, Historic monument, or the Atrium. Guest Room Amenities ??? 3 flat 15??????-20??????-32??????screen HDTV TVs located in bedroom, bathroom and living room.. ??? European ??? Style kitchen with microwave / grill oven, refrigerator, wet bar, dishwasher, ceramic top burners. ( big bar spirits, refreshments, snacks) ??? Marble encased bathrooms with island-style Jacuzzi tubs. Hermes amenities are a standard (bath menu is also provided). ??? Plush bedding, Egyptian cotton / satin bedding material, goose down and micro fiber pillows, feather bed, duvet. Prestige Mediastrom mattress. (pillow menu) ??? Daily maid service with turn down service. ??? In room safes ??? 24 hour in room dining ??? In room Butler Style Service. Dinning Enjoy regional inspired menu in our waterfront restaurant, get cosy in the indoor intimate lounge setting offering a variety of cocktails created by our mixologist. Endeavour a light menu on the beach after splashing in the crystal clear turquoise Mediterranean Sea. Hotel amenities: Our concierge services are 24 hours at your service. Our transportation services can pick you up from a location of your desire. Pamper yourself, with an In-house massage and beauty treatments. Unwind on the beach. Contact us for your business service needs. Events: 115 square meters outdoor event space to host your exclusive parties, 11 meters long stage ideal for fashion shows. hy the Civitas Rethymnae Completed reconstructed historic building, luxurious setting for ultimate comfort, on a prime waterfront location in the hart of the town, state of the art accessories and amenities. Miles long sand beach. Stimulating night life. Remarkable monuments and ancient sites, exciting excursions. Cosmopolitan prominent location . Special hotel rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Civitas Rethymnae reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Civitas Rethymnae Hotel Rethymnon
Civitas Rethymnae Rethymnon, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Civitas Rethymnae, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.