We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This lemon left a sour taste!!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lemonokipos

Lemonokipos
Ethnikis Antistaseos 100 & Mikrasiaton Sq | Old Town, Rethymnon, Crete, Greece
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 203 restaurants in Rethymnon
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“This lemon left a sour taste!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

This taverna is located in the heart of the old town of Rethymnon. On fist impression I was taken aback by the lovely gardens, fountains and lovely lemon trees that surround you. It looks great!!! You could literally reach up and pick the lemons that are hanging above your head!!! All that glitters ain't gold!!!
The menu is quite inviting, but a little on the pricey side!
My wife and I were shown to a seat towards the back of the gardens. This table seemed ok, but then we realised that it faced out towards the local square/kids play area. This was not really conducive to a quiet meal for 2. It also seemed to be a local cats community centre. I counted 7 of them around our table!!! We were glad of them when the food came.
This would have not been a big issue had the food been nice and the service acceptable. Neither was the case sadly.
The lady serving us had a little difficulty understanding me (Northern Irish accent threw her) and when I tried to make light of this she just tutted and stormed off. Still trying to figure that out. Still would have put it down to crossed wires until the food arrived.
The food - SHOCKING!!!!!
I had asked for pork fillet and my wife ordered the cod. The pork fillet was nicely presented and served with vegetables and potatoes. I have never attempted to eat such a tough cut of meat in all my life!!! It was also full of fat. That got worse as I discovered the middle part was raw!!!! Red raw. I was nearly sick. Cats!!!
That was bad but my wife's cod was awful. It looked like something that had been caught in 1975, frozen, then microwaved that night. It was a wrinkled up, pathetic mess. Credit to her for even trying it. One taste was enough.
Back to our friends the cats. They were well fed that night!! However even these skinny little cats left part of the cod! They couldn't even face it. It's probably still there!!!!!
After our altercation with the waitress we decided just to pay our bill and run. One of the worst experiences ever. Look, it may have been a bad night as I have read many great reviews here, but I would not risk it.
Bitter fruit!!!!!!!!!!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    47
    47
    11
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seaton Delaval, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Two evening meals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Good food, service, atmosphere and live music, all at the going rate for the area. The waiters took great care in explaining what each dish was.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Lovely Setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We chose to eat here on our last night in Rethymnon having read good reviews. The setting was really lovely in amongst the lemon trees. The food was of a very good quality and was reasonable. I had the Greek Plate which was a selection of various Greek dishes and was great for tasting different options. My boyfriend had the lamb which was delicious. We also had wine which was very nice. The food was all pretty good value for money. It was a really lovely setting and we really enjoyed our evening there. The only one small comment I would make is that the service was quite slow. We asked for our bill 4 times before receiving it almost an hour after we first asked. Normally this would be fine but we were just very tired that night and had an early start so perhaps I wouldn't complain as much about it another time! I would definitely go back though if I was in Crete again!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Under the lemon trees”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We ate there twice, delicious food very friendly staff the waiter was helpful.There was a quartet playing,Complimentary breads,olives,and dips.Lemon sorbet,and a panacotta each,Just great.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Excellent - best restaurant we found”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We drove around Crete and ate at many different restaurants but I have to say we both found this to be the best. We went there for dinner as it looked so inviting from the outside and we could see the garden in the back. First of all the atmosphere was wonderful. There was a Greek quartet playing and singing for the entire duration of our meal. The fruit trees were full and the lighting was wonderful. I wish I had asked her name but a lovely lady served us and recommended some great dishes one being gardeners lamb which was delicious. We shared a garden salad to start which was plenty for the two of us. There seemed to be no rush to feed you and get you away from the table and we sat there for 3 1/2 hours enjoying the experience. As in usual in Crete, when we had finished our main meals and sat a while, a bowl of grapes (huge) was brought out to us followed by a lemon sorbet which were both complimentary as were the breads, olives and dips as we sat down at the table. I was expecting this restaurant to be higher on the rankings list and would recommend it to all.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lemonokipos also viewed

Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
 
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
 

Been to Lemonokipos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lemonokipos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.