We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kapilio

Kapilio
Xanthoudidou 7, Rethymnon, Crete, Greece
28310-52001
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 239 Restaurants in Rethymnon
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The descriptions are only in english at the moment
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We had a very pleasant meal here the only real fault that the starter we had which although delicious was cooked with cheese a fact which was not stated on the menu. As my wife is alergic to cheese this was a real problem for her. However everything else was fine. The only other problem being that they forgot to charge for the wine which when I pointed it out they were grateful for the gesture. At 40 euros for three courses and wine it was good value, Good atmosphere and attentive staff added to the occasion.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    73
    18
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glos.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Friendly service and good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Had good reviews so we thought we'd try it. Welcoming and friendly staff. Good selection of food. Really enjoyed my seafood dish. Can't fault it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Top Contributor
253 reviews 253 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Imaginative Balkan cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Serbian owned restaurant in one of the small alleys near the centre. Limited indoor seating. Imaginative menu. Excellently cooked fillet steak and pork fillet dishes at a reasonable price. The chalk board shows some good special offers. Good service. We went twice in a week. Deservedly busy in the evening; rather quieter at lunchtime.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterlooville
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Funny little restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Small down a side street with mismatch tables and decor. A warm welcome from the waiter when passing. A nice menu with good options, garlic bread starter was a let down but the gratis bread and tapenade dips were excellent. Mains of chicken kebab was good, pork fillet in onion and red wine sauce turned out to be pork with cheese and ham. Mistake by the waitress, but I still found it delicious so no harm done. House wine pleasant. I was astonished at the bill. By far the cheapest meal we have eaten during our stay... €28 all in. Outstandingly good value therefore! If I had paid €60 for this I may be disgruntled but for €28 I have nothing but Praise.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great food and hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We came at 15:00 midweek and we were the only one in the restaurant, so we had a chance to speak with the Serbian/Greek owner who was very friendly.

The food was great, I took a dish that was recommended by the owner. It was so great that my son ordered another dish after tasting mine. It was Chicken staffed with Feta cheese and ham. Delicious!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kapilio also viewed

Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
 
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
 

Been to Kapilio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kapilio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.