We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a place to come back to” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Agios Pavlos Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rethymnon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Agios Pavlos Hotel
Save
You added Agios Pavlos Hotel to your Saves list
Agios Pavlos | Saktouria, Rethymnon, Crete 74053, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 41 Rethymnon B&B and Inns
Haifa, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“a place to come back to”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Agios Pavlos was the second stop in our trip after Vamos in the north and it was more than we ever dreamed of. Beautiful clean beaches, especially Trioptera, excellent food in the hotel's restaurant (loved the stuffed zucchini flowers!!!), very kind staff and very clean rooms. Great place to relax and enjoy the most beautiful sunsets in the world.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    15
    5
    3
    5
See reviews for
12
21
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This hotel, Taverna, Bar and cafe is a little off the beaten track, but then again aren't all the best places to be found here?


Amazing views and we ended up staying all day and had dinner in he Taverna with some newly made friends fro Yogaplus nearby, which was cool,

Rally friendly place

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Nico is one of the barmen here and he is great fun,

Very good service,

Very generous with the Raki,

Wonderful location in remote Crete,

Food is exquisite !!!!!!!!!

Service Brilliant!!!!!!!

Everything BRilliant!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I stayed in this small hotel for four nights in July 2013. The rooms and bathrooms are clean and basic. The luxury lies in the position overlooking the bay and the wonderful view. Excellent breakfasts at the bar. Evening meal plain, honest and plentiful. Extremely affordable. Charming family management. Most relaxing atmosphere. Rather tatty deckchairs on the beach (nothing to do with the hotel) but a bar serving excellent light lunches.
A word about getting there: From Agia Galini there are 3 ways to Agios Pavlos: what I will call the high road: take the main road to Rethymno and after 11 km turn off for Agios Pavlos. This is the quickest way. To take the middle road, take the first turn left as you leave the town of Agia Galini (it is actually signposted Agios Pavlos and Melambes). I advise you to avoid this road - it is endless winding its way up up into the hills and round the houses and down the other side. The third is the coast road and the most beautiful scenic route you could wish for. Take the middle road out of Agia Galini and stay on it until just out of town you find a turn off to the left for Agios Giorgios (Nikos beach). Take that road (no sign for Agios Pavlos). At a certain point the road runs out of tarmac for 4 km and then picks up a tarmac surface again. Now and again the tarmac erupts into craters so keep your eyes on the road. There is neither sight nor sign of a white line or any form of road sign so dont take this road at night,. The scenery is magnificent. After Agios Giorgios another 7 km takes you to a main road where you will turn left and downhill all the way to Agios Pavlos. Careful, there is absolutely no warning and you reach this crossroads at the top of a hill. Dangerous but well worth it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heraklion, Greece
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Good food, good service. Ok prices. But a bit disappointed not to get the traditional plate of fresh fruits as dessert ("on the house") with our bill. Free fruits with the bill, and sometimes raki, are a Cretan particularity. Other tables got the free fruits. Nice view on the bay. We did not try the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

I traveled to this property with two friends in September of 2009, and for some reason never got around to writing a review of our wonderful stay there. Our ferry was delayed from Santorini because of rough seas meaning that we arrived in Crete far later than expected. The hotel is certainly out of the way, located on the unspoiled southern coast of Crete. It was at least an hour drive from Heraklion and a little less to Rethymno if I remember correctly. With our ferry delays and the time needed to fill out rental car paperwork, this meant that by the time we arrived to check-in it was after midnight. We had called ahead to let them know we were still on our way, and the hotel staff welcomed us warmly offering something to eat and drink after our long tiring day.

When we awoke the next day we were pleasantly surprised by the beauty or the beach and surrounding mountains near the hotel. The accommodations, while very simple were clean with a private bathroom and easily accessible to the hotel's restaurant. While there are one or two additional small local restaurants within walking distance, we mainly ate at the hotel which had a varied and tasty menu for breakfast lunch and dinner. It was a fantastic value. The adjacent Kavos Melissa hotel offers rooms that are a little nicer if so desired.

In our days at Agios Pavlos we noticed a few groups hiking to the top of the hill accross from the hotel and disappearing over the ridge. As we were feeling lazy, we didn't explore this route ourselves until our final day. What a shame! There lies one of the most spectacular beaches you will ever see! We did do some hiking on the near side of the bay as well, exploring various caves and cliffs....good fun.

We filled another day with a trip to Rethymno, which I also recommend. This former Venetian enclave is picturesque with abundant shopping and dining.

Overall, I would highly recommend Agios Pavlos to singles, couples and families alike. It's the perfect location if you have simple needs and hope to just relax and unwind without spending a fortune.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2010

If you are after peace and quiet in a remote but beautiful setting Agios Pavlos Hotel could be the ideal place. We had two nights there and though the weather went downhill towards the end of our time there we still enjoyed the stay. We had a double room with a balcony with seaview. The room was fine though the toilet smelled a little at times. There is a lovely bar area looking out over the Libyan Sea with the restaurant adjacent. Dinner was fine though nothing startling. The hotel overlooks a small sandy beach but a ten minute walk to the west brings you to two stunning beaches with a very steep descent down a vast sandbank - not for the faint-hearted!. The more southerly of the two has beach brolleys and recliners whilst the one to the north is primarily nudist.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Agios Pavlos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agios Pavlos Hotel

Address: Agios Pavlos | Saktouria, Rethymnon, Crete 74053, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Rethymnon
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Agios Pavlos Hotel Rethymnon, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agios Pavlos Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.