We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What more can I add!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mike Hotel & Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mike Hotel & Apartments to your Saves list
Mike Hotel & Apartments
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Maleme , Chania, Maleme, Crete 73014, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Maleme
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“What more can I add!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

As soon as I arrived at this wonderful little hotel I chilled out and relaxed. Sophia, manos and mum and dad ensured that we had a fab time. We did go out a few times for dinner but I have to say mums cooking and the service beat all the restaurants hands down. Every night there was a different special which encouraged us to try the full range of Greek dishes. What made it special was knowing most of the veg in the food is grown by dad. On average We ate with a bottle of wine for around 35 euros and after your meal Sophia will bring honeyed raki omg it's amazing. I had to bring some home. Maleme is very quiet but there is good access to buses which go to balos and elefinisi beach as well as chania. We hired a car and really got around the island . Our rep was a sweetheart too and very helpful. There are a number of returning visitors year on year which just shows how lovely this place is....

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    33
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
69
116
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cornwall
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We have just returned from 2 weeks, staying in a studio apartment. We were in 207 and our best friends in 202. It looks like ours may have had a refurb but they were both superb. Both on the first floor, with a balcony overlooking g the sea. Really spacious and well appointed. Ours had a short bath with a shower, the other just a shower. We didn't use the bath, you don't, do you! But it was really handy as there was no danger of the shower overflowing and, as I ran, it made washing my running kit really easy! We had a wall mounted hair dryer in the bathroom. The kitchen had everything we needed and everything looked to be brand new, cable ties still on the leads, etc. the room was cleaned every day except Sunday to a really high standard and towels and sheets changed regularly.

We ate in the hotels restaurant twice and had some of the best food of the holiday. Sofia, the owners daughter, is delightful and looked after us really well. She even tried to give me a lesson in making Dolmades but I don't think we were very successful! Her view was, leave it to her mother! They were the best in the area!
Manos, Sofia's brother, runs the apartments and the bar area. I don't think I saw him stop working, the entire time we were there! He is delightful, friendly, hard working and welcoming. Nothing is too much trouble for him or the girls in the bar, Maria and Katerina were wonderful. Sadly, I didn't get the name of the little one, who worked in the evenings? Just fantastic, all of them.
When they offer you vitamins, just go with it and enjoy. They are medical staff, after all and you always do what the doctor tells you!
This is a gentle, family run, fun, establishment, with quality rooms, quality staff and a real feeling that they want your holiday to be special. It was and we will return. We met people who go back year on year and I can see why. We met some lovely people and hope to see them there again.

Now, one little thing and this is in no way aimed at Manos and his staff!
To the family who arrived, 2 days before we left! They will know who they are and if hey don't, everyone else who was there, will!
Up to your arrival, not one single person felt it necessary to dive off the bridge, shout at the top of their lungs or take bottles of Mythos into the pool! Please, do not get me wrong, I love children, I was one once and children having fun is what holidays should be made of. What you were though, was loud, rude and totally thoughtless to anyone else's views. I say this, in the slim hope you will read it, reflect and maybe change how you behave in future, or, go to Magaluf!

Manos, thank you and to all your staff. Hope to see you next year!

Room Tip: All rooms have sea view. Ground floor balconies quite low down but still lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Just recently come back from Crete and Mikes hotel ,
Where I was made to feel like one of the family, Sophia could not be more welcoming and helpful and so so friendly !
The cooking was done to perfection .
The resort is one of the smaller and quieter ones but this added to relaxing and enjoyable holiday, with such a lot of history that was unknown to myself it opened my eyes .
The Cretan people are one of the friendliest people i have ever meant always a smile.
All in all I highly recommend mikes hotel and Crete.
Also yes chelsey I did beat my wife to the first review,
Thank you for all you did too ( Thompson rep )

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We cannot really add anymore than all the previous reviews, can only agree with all of the positive comments! This is a truly worthy hotel to visit and we will definitely be back. We stayed in the hotel which may be a little dated but cannot fault the cleanliness and friendliness, it was only a very short stroll to the pool, apartments and beach. We looked in an apartment which was very nice and a higher standard, more modern than the hotel and we would prefer to be located there, closer to the pool and beach but the hotel was absolutely fine. We often ate at the hotel, "Mamas" cooking was superb as was the very friendly and helpful Sophia. Manos and Maria also gave superb, friendly service in the bar (how they remembered what everyone had ordered is still a mystery to me!) . Great air con in the rooms and apartments. If you want lively, all singing, all dancing holiday then this is not the place for you but if you want a relaxing, friendly, chillout holiday with a few tavernas and great pool bar then you cannot go wrong with Mikes hotel and apartments! We look forward to our return visit, thank you Manos, Sophia and staff for your wonderful Greek hospitality!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This was our fourth visit to mike's apartments ,what can we say just fantastic each year we wonder how they could top the previous one ,but they do . this year was no exception all the same personel + the addition of Joanna in the evenings helping Manos .Everyone is always helpful & happy & on arrival a great welcome for both new guests & returning this also includes (if you like the behind the scenes ) Cleaners & Manos Dad Mike who looks @ the garden & pool maintenance.
The rooms are always spotless & well maintained throughout your stay .The ambience round the pool each day is great always sun beds available plenty of room for your own personal space as we Brits call it ,then what can I say you have Manos for whom nothing is too much trouble ,it always seems that what ever you ask he will oblige with a smile & a sense of humour .
As well as the apartments there is the hotel which sophie looks @ with her mum providing superb food in the restaurant & again it has a wonderful ambience eating out on the lovely verandah with a marvellous view with a nice gentle breeze passing over you .
As previous reviews state can only reiterate lovely peaceful area plenty of Taverna's all good , very cheap local bus service , some very nice places to visit should you want to venture out & explore .
Small point some comments have been made reference to the loud bar man at the Imperial hotel opposite yes he is a bit loud some times when he greets new arrivals with their welcome drinks but should you take the time to talk to him he really is very nice guy & extremely helpful .
Already booked again for next year .(keep up the good work Dr Manos with the Vitamins )

Room Tip: first or top floor excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

What can we say about mikes hotel that has not already been said.
When we booked this hotel we were not sure about maleme at the time[maybe not enough going on]but we booked the hotel purely on peoples comments on here,and have to say it was spot on.
How its rated 2+ is beyond me,its probarly one of the best places we have stayed,yes the bed is a bit hard,but then unless your paying 5 star then its okay,and the barmen next door is a bit loud[got to be the worse singer around],but minor points.
The family that run this [mama who does the cooking,and bubbly Sophia who runs the restaurant,and manos,maria and katarina who look after the bar and also Joanna who only started the evenings when we arrived,cannot do enough for you.
We spoke to several people who have gone back,and although we mostly don,t revisit places,would make an exception in mikes,think its far better to stay in a smaller hotel than a 5star complex or all inclusive.
We eat out everynight and usually only eat in our favourite restaurant twice,we eat in mikes restaurant 5 times over the 14 days we were there,great food and mamas cooking was really something,this has to be number one in the resort,and we eat there on our first night and rightly or wrongly judged other places by its standard.

We eat in the wave+black lantern+albatross all equally as good in there own way+the maleme+bella pais the italian up a side street .

If you want to get about the local buses are quite easy,normanally we would hire a car[did not this time]also if your planning trips go to the small agents on the main road just before the ledra hotel run by a lovely friendly lady,you will get the excursions half price and they will pick you up at the hotel+the land train is well worth while.

If you get chance visit the german cementry in maleme+the commonwealth cementry in souda bay[its easier by car but you can get a bus to chania+no13 local bus in chania+its a fair walk from souda bay[but its worth while and quite moving]

Been back nearly a week now and so miss it

Room Tip: Stayed in room 308 top corner room with side sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We previously stayed at Mikes in September 2012 and gave it a well deserved review. We are generally ones who return to the same holiday destination, never mind the same hotel, however, due to our previous experience we decided to return here.
I think all previous reviews are spot on. Yes the beds are somewhat harder than we would normally use and yes the barman at the adjacent hotel can be irritating at times, however, they are only minor issues and are far outweighed by the clean spacious accommodation and the friendliness of all staff.
Everyone has mentioned Manos and Sophia and rightly so. They are first class hosts who cannot do enough to ensure everything is perfect for your stay. They are both kind and helpful, with excellent senses of humour. Maria and Katarina during the day and Joanna at night always have a genuine smile on their face and nothing is too much trouble.
Maleme is a quiet location, however, as stated numerous times the buses are very easy to use, being cheap and frequent and there are no issues with the staff understanding English.
Driving is also not a problem through-out Crete and I would recommend hiring a car for a few days as there is so much to see with outstanding beauty and incredible beaches. I would also recommend an incredible day at the Samaria Gorge, utterly outstanding.
Mikes has a high return rate and I know why. They have the perfect recipe for a perfect holiday, location, excellent accommodation, food that cannot be surpassed and a genuine friendliness that is unfortunately not found often enough these days. Will we return? no question about it and soon hopefully.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, however, the apartments are larger, nearer the sea and with good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maleme
0.2 mi away
Louis Creta Princess Beach Hotel
6.3 mi away
Renieris Hotel
Renieris Hotel
#1 of 22 in Stalos
5.0 of 5 stars 397 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ledra Maleme
Ledra Maleme
#6 of 15 in Maleme
4.5 of 5 stars 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Giorgi's Blue Apartments
Giorgi's Blue Apartments
#6 of 120 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 stars 193 reviews
88.4 mi away
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
#1 of 11 in Koutouloufari
5.0 of 5 stars 110 reviews
10.1 mi away
Sunrise Suites
Sunrise Suites
#1 of 5 in Kalyves
5.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mike Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mike Hotel & Apartments

Address: Maleme , Chania, Maleme, Crete 73014, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Maleme
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Maleme
#1 Family Hotel in Maleme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mike Hotel & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mike’s Studios & Apartments are situated on the beach in the village of Maleme, 17 kilometres west of Chania. The self-catering apartments are modern and spacious and are all surrounded by a beautiful tropical gardens. 100 metres away from the apartments is Mike's Hotel and Restaurant. Based on more traditional design the Hotel includes sea view or mountain View rooms. Enjoy Mediterranean specialties in the restaurant terrace gazing the blue horizon of the Aegean sea. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mike Hotel And Apartments
Mike Hotel & Apartments Maleme, Crete - Chania
Mike Hotel máleme

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mike Hotel & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.