We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Haven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mike Hotel & Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mike Hotel & Apartments to your Saves list
Mike Hotel & Apartments
Maleme , Chania, Maleme, Crete 73014, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Maleme
Crawley, West Sussex UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Our Haven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Karen and I first visited the Mike Hotel during June 1996. We stayed in the Hotel because the apartments were not built at that time, although the Swimming Pool and Pool Bar were already then established. Over the years we have returned to the Mike Hotel, on average, every other year since. We always stay in the same room at the Hotel because from Room 13, we can see the sun rising over Akrotiri in the east which is truly magnificent during a quiet time of day and we also enjoy a wonderful view over the Bay of Chania. We do believe that Mike, Helene, Manos, Sophie and all their team, provide the absolute best in 'Customer Service'.

As an aside, on 16th September 2005, Karen and I were married in Gerani Town Hall a few kilometers away from the Hotel but on that day, Mike, Helene and family just provided the most amazing traditional Greek Wedding Lunch.....So thoughtful, that's the way they are.

Room Tip: Just visit and experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    30
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
63
101
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Looking forward to our fourth visit to Mike's.
Excellent accommodation, excellent food, all prepared by the loving hands of the family.
It is without doubt the best holiday accommodation we have ever experienced. I cannot fault the family run hotel and apartments !!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libby73
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

My friend and I had a really lovely week at Mike's Hotel. The family and staff were most welcoming and their hospitality was excellent. The breakfast always had plenty to choose from and evening meals were truly scrumptious! We would definitely come back again and certainly recommend to our friends. Our rooms were very clean and pleasant, and bedding and towels changed regularly!
The hotel is very central for travelling to other places, and car hire is worth getting to many other lovely places not too far away. Also Chania is well worth a visit too! There are a few restaurants, bars and tavernas within walking distance, but excellent home Greek cooking of the Sophia's Mum surpassed all other places!
Thank you to Sophia, Manos, family and staff who certainly made our stay an enjoyable experience!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockport
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

I reviewed Mikes in July and said I might not go back. Having searched for a Greek holiday for next year.... you guessed it we have booked to go back to Mike's. We looked at loads of other Greek holiday destinations and based on price, reviews and personal experience Mike's came out tops. Going for two weeks to completely chill and enjoy the great Greek hospitality that Sophia and Manos offer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Maleme will not be everybody's cup of tea and I would strongly advise anybody holiday-ing to book car hire for most of your stay to enjoy the maginificent delights of western Crete. Mike's Hotel offers perfect accomodation whether you chose the hotel or as we did the appartments. The standard is excellent, they are well maintained and serviced. The family who own and run this accomodation are delightful and will help you enjoy your holiday- nothing is too much trouble for this family. I would advise eating in the hotel on the balcony if it is warm enough as it is a wonderful experience. The food is varied Greek food cooked by the mother. It is tasty and very reasonably priced- large portions too ! Ask to drink their own house wine which tastes like a dry sherry.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor making access easy but many guests elected to have second and third fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Got home today after 2 really happy weeks. Good location and good service. The hotel up the road gave us excellent food, we have been to stay before and Sophia was as lovely as before. Manos was great and so was Friday; they were a brilliant double act; who knows? The only thing which blotted our stay was the hotel across the road, so very noisy at night, sometimes after 2.00 am. Hard to sleep. Not usually a moaner, but so hot and window open, all you could here was this booming voice from the barman; karaoke was a gas!! We will go back there again, because apart from the Imperial the stay was well worth it.

Room Tip: Think higher rooms are better, stayed in one the last time we were there. All are fine, but not sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lydd, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Sophia and Manos you are an absolute credit to your parents, you run this business just perfectly.
We have travelled all over the world on holiday, but have never stayed anywhere as nice as this, or arrived home so completely relaxed and refreshed. All of which is down to your family and brilliant teams intense hard work and commitment to all of your guests. I won't repeat all the details that everyone else has already gone through, but I will say we quite literally cannot wait to return. For us the whole experience was perfect. Thank you all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mike Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mike Hotel & Apartments

Address: Maleme , Chania, Maleme, Crete 73014, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Maleme
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Maleme
#1 Family Hotel in Maleme
#1 Best Value Hotel in Maleme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mike’s Studios & Apartments are situated on the beach in the village of Maleme, 17 kilometres west of Chania. The self-catering apartments are modern and spacious and are all surrounded by a beautiful tropical gardens. 100 metres away from the apartments is Mike's Hotel and Restaurant. Based on more traditional design the Hotel includes sea view or mountain View rooms. Enjoy Mediterranean specialties in the restaurant terrace gazing the blue horizon of the Aegean sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Mike Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mike Hotel And Apartments
Mike Hotel & Apartments Maleme, Crete - Chania
Mike Hotel máleme

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mike Hotel & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.