We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday but more for families” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Louis Creta Princess Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Louis Creta Princess Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Louis Creta Princess Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 9 (Platanias) | Maleme Village, Maleme, Crete 73014, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Maleme
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Holiday but more for families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

We stayed at the Louis Creta Princess Sept 23rd 2014 for 1 week. We are a couple aged 26 and 30.


We enjoyed the buffet restaurant mostly for breakfast and evening meal as used pool bar during day for snacks. We thought there was a wide variety on offer.
I would add that when you walk into the buffet restaurant from reception side there are cocktails to go with the themes we didn't realise this until the end and feel the entrance staff could make it more clear this is on offer and not for a show/display!
We ate at the Asian restaurant one night (you could eat there every night it was open if you wanted but was only open approx 3/4 times in the week) that was lovely.
We stayed in a top floor bungalow with pool view (number 829) the bungalows are on 2 floors and we liked having a top floor as balcony a bit more private but good view of the pool. (If you can get an end one with sea view this would be great as we often went to the pebble beach with a few drinks to watch the waves (they were huge when we were there!)
Not sure what hotel was like but our rooms were cleaned and bed sheets and towels replaced every day. Very pleased with this.
Bars were great, pool bar open from after breakfast until midnight. The disco bar was open approx 8pm til 12 but due to entertainment we only went in there once. The lobby bar was open on evenings too which was a nice relaxed atmosphere and there is a little snack bar on evenings. (We think a piano player or a singer in there on an evening would be a great addition!)
Lager is on serve yourself tap which can look flat however tastes ok. Wine wasn't too nice but never really is abroad in my opinion! Cocktails were nice and lots of flavoured liquors on offer.
Pool was very large and clean and a nice cool break from the sun!
Water slides looked great and there were never any queues for them but we didn't use them ourselves but everyone seemed to be enjoying them!
Great facilities for kids the pirate ship play area and a water version as well as a separate pool for children. Very child/family friendly!
Beach is pebble beach but there are plenty of sun loungers on there.
If you are the sort of people who like to mingle with others whilst on holiday this may not be the place for you as the hotel is about 90% Russian guests. We had no issues with any other guests and found everyone pleasant.
When the weather has been too windy or rainy the indoor seating in restaurant was limited however through summer this wouldn't be an issue.
I can understand the great reviews I've read about the animation team on here however this just was not our cup of tea! If you have kids and like to play the games in the day they may be good. I really enjoyed watching them do the club dance every day (especially Luke I think he was called) but apart from that the evening entertainment was a bit cheesy for us and annoying with the girls constant "woooo"s throughout the performance. Also a lot of it was in Russian.

Before we went we were aware the hotel was family orientated and we were a couple and we were also aware most guest were Russian so we can't complain about the entertainment or guests etc as we knew what to expect.

We did spend 4 of our 7 evenings in another hotel pool bar just down the road as they had the football on for my partner so for us it would of been good to have this on our hotel but obviously we are aware this wouldn't be the case in many hotels anyway!

All in all great holiday! Would recommend mainly for families though.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Louis Creta Princess Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, thank you for choosing to stay at the Louis Creta Princess and for writing such a detailed review.

We are thrilled to see that our beautiful hotel has not failed to impress you with its delicious cuisine along with its incredible facilities. We also thank you for bringing your observations in regards to the greeting cocktail and the evening shows to our attention; we will take your opinion into account in our continuous work for improvement. For your next holiday, we should advise you to visit the Mykonos Theoxenia (Mykonos) or the Louis Imperial Beach (Cyprus) which would better meet your expectations.

We greatly look forward to welcoming you again in one of our Louis Hotels in the nearest future.

Faithfully yours,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    126
    54
    15
    10
See reviews for
237
54
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rushden, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

The hotel has various pools two designed for toddlers and i would say under 5's a section for the older kids and adults with large water slides, and a big pool for swimming. The beach has no sand it is pebbles. Rooms are a good size and on the whole clean. There is a large variety of food throughout the day and good quality my only complaint would be that it could be hotter when it is served. The staff and animation team were very friendly and made us welcome although some bar staff were a little abrupt. Overall a good holiday

Room Tip: We had bungalow rooms they were very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Louis Creta Princess Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2014
Dear guest,

Let us thank you for staying at the Louis Creta Princess and for taking the time to write a few lines about your experience.

We are thrilled to hear that you had a fantastic time with us, and that you favored our great facilities. We are also glad to know that you deeply enjoyed our exemplary cleanliness, our high quality cuisine and our incredible staff. We thank you for sharing your feedback in regards to the food temperature; we will consider your valuable remark for future improvements.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon at the Louis Creta Princess.

Best wishes,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

It's a typical family hotel. We stayed there with our 6-yr old son and he liked it. The swimming pools are big and clean, the water slides are much fun, too, and there are some animations for the kids - although the kids club is only in Russian, so our kid didn't join them.

The rooms are small, but clean, although some renovation would be nice (especially in the bathrooms). We had a bungalow, ground floor room, right at the beach, which seemed much nicer than the crowded main building.

The biggest disapointment was the food - it looked very bad and tasted not better. If you like chips, pasta and greasy meat ALWAYS covered with different kinds of gravy - go for it. Otherwise, don't expect to much. Of course - like many reviews noted - the oriental a'la carte restaurant is delicious. But you don't go to Greece to eat sushi for 2 weeks.

The beach is stony and gets deep really quickly, so not much fun for the kids. Still, it offers free and always available sunbeds and umbrellas.

All in all - not a bad vacation, but we will not come back.

Room Tip: Ask for a bungalow, ground floor, near the beach. You won't have to listen to the Russian disco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Louis Creta Princess Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, let us thank you for staying at the Louis Creta Princess and for taking the time to share your experience online.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our great facilities. However, we are sorry to hear that our food was not to your utmost liking; usually guests give us much praise for our high quality cuisine. Nonetheless, we respect your opinion and will take your valuable remarks into account for future changes. We hope you will give Louis Hotels another chance to provide you with the esteemed service we are known for. We manage many other hotels in Greece and Cyprus, perhaps the Louis Imperial Beach (Cyprus) or the King Jason (Cyprus) will better meet your expectations.

We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in one of our Louis Hotels.

Best wishes,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

Food is the best.
We have small kids (3y and 2y). It was very nice holiday.
Very clean in room and everywhere.
Very friendly staff. All staff greets and a smile. You feel very well there and welcome.
pebble beach

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Louis Creta Princess Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to spend your holiday at the Louis Creta Princess and for writing a few words on TripAdvisor.

It is delightful to hear that our high quality and variety of cuisine did not fail to impress you, and that our professional and efficient service team was to your utmost liking.

We hope to welcome you again at the Louis Creta Princess in the nearest future.

Yours faithfully,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

The room was comfortable and always very clean. Our room was very quiet so we were able to enjoy our sleeping hours without any disturb. The staff were always very kind and helpful and made our staying even more pleasure. We really enjoyed our holidays there and we hope that one day we will be able to go back again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Louis Creta Princess Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2014
Dear guest,

Let us thank you for staying at the Louis Creta Princess and for taking the time to write a few lines about your experience.

It is a great joy to know that our beautiful hotel has not failed to impress you with its well-designed rooms, its supreme cleanliness and its dedicated staff. We dearly thank you for your kind admiration.

We hope to welcome you again very soon at the Louis Creta Princess.

Warm wishes,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

Went on our first family resort trip and must say that we really all enjoyed this hotel. The hotel provides a buffet so you can eat all sorts from a mixture of greek cuisine to western food. Some of the food can get repetitive but you just need to make sure you have a whole complete meal instead of taking bits of everything to avoid it being repetitive. Drinks are non-stop though the alcohol is not as strong as you would find at home though all resorts are supposed to be like this. Our room was ok though the bathroom was a bit grimey and could have done with a good clean around the grout. Apart from this, could not really fault it. Waterslides and childrens pools for the little ones. Hotel runs a free coach to chania 3 times a day which is good. Sunday seems to be a day when everything shuts down, no childrens playroom or childrens film and no coach into town so had to stay on resort. Would have been good if there was one of these to do at least. There is daily comps run by the animation team such as table tennis, water polo etc. Overall, cannot really complain about this hotel. The satff and animation team are great. Childrens disco each night before some entertainment from the animation team. Everyone is very freindly. I would look into staying in another Louis Hotel when i go back to greece or cyprus.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Louis Creta Princess Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying at the Louis Creta Princess and for taking the time to share your experience online.

We are pleased to see that you favored the quality of our tasty cuisine along with the professionalism of our staff. It is also delightful to know that you appreciated our great facilities. We thank you for bringing your observations in regards to the alcoholic drinks to our attention; we will certainly consider your suggestions for future improvements. As you expressed the wish to visit other Louis Hotels, we should advise you to visit the Louis Plagos Beach (Zakynthos) or the Louis Phaethon Beach (Cyprus) on your next holiday.

We hope to have the pleasure of receiving you as a guest once more at the Louis Creta Princess.

Kindest regards,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

10 Night stay in Apartment
AI Food, plenty to choose from at all meal times, and Drink - Zorbas lager, house white and red wine;
Tea, coffee, assorted soft drinks, many self service;
Slides - 5 to choose from, all good fun, between 10am and 6pm
Zorba Asian Fusion restaurant - Need to book in advance, not open every night, good food;
If you like to run you can go from 2 miles (beach front), or a loop of 6 miles (through Gerani and back);
Beach - Stony, footwear needed;
German War Cemetery - 30 min walk away, well worth a visit;
Tomb - Visit on way to the cemetery;
Chania - Hotel courtesy bus 3 times daily;
Gramvousa and Balos - also worth a visit, local bus and ferry service.
Little Fun Train is an excellent way to see some local sights, we want through the gorge.

Room Tip: Bungalow....first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Louis Creta Princess Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Dear guest,

Let us thank you for holidaying at the Louis Creta Princess and for sharing your experience online.

It is wonderful to see that you deeply enjoyed your holiday at our stunning property. We are happy to know that our tasty cuisine and our great facilities were to your utmost liking, and that you enjoyed discovering our beautiful island.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon at the Louis Creta Princess.

Warm regards,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Louis Creta Princess Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Louis Creta Princess Beach Hotel

Address: PO Box 9 (Platanias) | Maleme Village, Maleme, Crete 73014, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Maleme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Maleme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Louis Creta Princess Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover genuine freedom in the warm embrace of this 4 Star Crete Hotel. The Louis Creta Princess is perfectly positioned a step away from the beach with sunny rooms and elegantly designed garden rooms situated around the pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Louis Creta Princess Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Louis Creta Princess Hotel
Hotel Louis Creta Princess
Louis Creta Princess Beach Hotel Maleme, Crete - Chania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Louis Creta Princess Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.