We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Week Away at This Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Louis Creta Princess Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Louis Creta Princess Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Louis Creta Princess Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 9 (Platanias) | Maleme Village, Maleme, Crete 73014, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Maleme
Southend-on-Sea, Essex, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic Week Away at This Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one week in mid-July during peak season just before the kids went on their summer hols and it was great! This was our first ever holiday away together as a couple and my first package holiday in about 4 years as I prefer travelling holidays, but I enjoyed this place.
We found the choice of food was very good, the rooms suitable for our purposes as we didn't spend much time in there. The free shuttle bus to Chania Town is convenient but does only run 3x a day though except Sun but the staff will provide a packed lunch which was very nice for everyone, this must be booked the day before though. The staff were always friendly and just a pleasant atmosphere. If you like heat then Crete is a place for you. Overall me and my girlfriend were pleased with everything and we said 7.5 out of 10 in total :) we did say that we would return maybe at one point in a few years time :)

Room Tip: Rooms down either of the side blocks of the pool area are quieter, away from the main block - its le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Louis Creta Princess Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for visiting the Louis Creta Princess and for taking the time to write a charming comment online.

We are very pleased to read that you truly enjoyed your holidays here on Crete and that you found the choice of food on offer very good, the rooms suitable for your purposes, and are happy that you appreciated the packed lunch that was given to you by our amazing employees, making sure that you will not go hungry when going on a trip. It is nice seeing that you admired the friendliness of our staff and the overall pleasant atmosphere.

It gives us great satisfaction knowing that you would most probably return to the Louis Creta Princess in the future, the sooner the better!

Yours faithfully

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    126
    54
    15
    10
See reviews for
237
54
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed in this hotel at the end of July which is peak holiday period and there were plenty of sunbeds around the pool which means you don't have to get up early if you don't want to. There were also allot of umbrellas which you do need in the heat of the day, I think there was an umbrella to every 4 sunbeds. The pool area was very spacious and it was imprinted concrete and not at all slippery.
There was a mix of nationalities in the hotel although more English families than in the hotel we stayed in in Rhodes.
The food was excellent with allot of choice, and we always found something to eat. There are daily choice's of cocktails at the pool bar and a different one at the main hotel bar which was great. Their was food and/or snacks available throughout the day, which meant that if you missed a meal you didn't have to worry as you knew you could eat later.
The staff were all very helpful and the hotel and rooms were spotlessly clean, which is one of the basic things we look for. We only had one issues which was when the drain in the floor in the bathroom flooded one evening and when I told reception they sent a cleaner to our room immediately and replaced all the towels and beach towels that we had used to mop up the water. The next morning we also received soft drinks for the children, a bottle of champagne (fizzy wine) and a fruit platter which was lovely and we didn't expect this as we were happy they cleaned the room and sorted the problem. There are also a few tavernas and shops just a stroll along from the hotel and when people say there is nothing around I wonder where they looked.
The entertainment team all worked very hard although we only watched a few shows as we just enjoyed sitting having a drink and talking. The hotel offers excellent value for money although the rooms are basic they have everything you need and having two interconnecting rooms in the bungalows was great as we had some space from our children and they had some from us.There wasn't allot for our teenager to do although there was internet in the hotel which kept her happy.
I would happily recommend this hotel, and would return.

Room Tip: We stayed in a bungalow which was a room in a block was fine don't know how it compared to the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Louis Creta Princess Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear guest,

On behalf of the Louis Creta Princess, we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel as your holiday accommodation and for a review online.

Your comments are very helpful and we are glad to see that you had a nice time at our hotel, enjoying the spacious pool area, the excellent food on offer with its great choice, the daily cocktails that kept you refreshed, as well as the food/snacks available to you throughout the day. Additionally, we are happy that you found our staff very helpful and the hotel and rooms spotlessly clean. We would like to apologize for the drain in your room, but are happy that you appreciated the prompt reaction as well as the soft drinks, champagne and the platter of fruits. Also, many thanks for your praise to our hardworking entertainment team and for considering the Louis Creta Princess excellent value for money.

It is nice seeing that you would happily recommend our hotel and return in the future. We are already looking forward to that day!

Kindly yours

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We went there on August and it was very nice. The staff was very helpful, kind and hard working and there service was never late or of poor quality. The pools were big and clean and the food was incredible. There was always a variety of things to eat and they were delicious, making the worst thing about staying there being the extra weight that you can gain. The animation team had some good ideas and kept us entertained and there were buses that could get you to Chania and to the popular attractions of the island. Perfect place to stay for a family in an enjoyable atmosphere with a staff that will never let you be dissatisfied .

Room Tip: The rooms not in the main building were bigger and thus more comfortable. Almost every room has a vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Louis Creta Princess Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear guest,

Let us express our gratitude by thanking you for staying at the Louis Creta Princess and for sharing your nice experience with us.

We are glad that you much appreciated the helpfulness and kindness of our exceptional staff members, whose service was never late or of poor quality. Also, it pleases us seeing that you admired the big and clean pools, as well as the incredible food on offer. We are delighted that our animation team kept you entertained with their numerous good ideas and are grateful to you for recommending the Louis Creta Princess to everyone by describing our hotel as the perfect place to stay for a family in an enjoyable atmosphere with a staff that will never let you be unhappy.

Thank you once again and we hope that you will gratify us or one of our other beautiful Louis Hotels with a return visit in the near future!

Yours faithfully

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

Resort is very big and the pools are great for kids. The food selection and service is very good throughout the day. The staff are all very nice and helpful and on overall reflection we would go again BUT!

The animation team - for us there was only one member who really stood out and made an effort with adults and kids. A big thank you to Jimmy. You are not as appreciated as you should be. The kids and adult entertainment lacked thought, management, organisation, direction and purpose. It needs a huge re-think.

Moaning aside the overall experience was a good one and as I said earlier we would go again

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Louis Creta Princess Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for visiting the Louis Creta Princess and for taking the time to write a charming comment online.

We are very pleased to read that you found our resort very big with great pools for children, and that the food selection and service offered to you met your expectations and satisfied your needs accordingly. Further, we are glad to hear that you truly admired our very nice and helpful staff members who were able to help you with everything you needed. We assure you that your special mention to Jimmy will be forwarded. We will also consider your suggestion regarding the kids and adults entertainment for our improvement.

It is nice to see that your overall experience was very good and that you would return to the Louis Creta Princess in the future; we are already looking forward to it!

Kind regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I have spent the second week of August at this resort with my husband and my 3 years old twins.

The best of this hotel are the pools, clean, warm and suitable for small children.
Since our main aim was to relax in safety and in the good weather (and we had a car! to get away!) we had overall a good week, even if we are dissatisfied with the points that follow.
Lunch was lovely, repetitive really but that's what meanly what people seem to eat in Greece so fair enough on that.
In the evening there were different themes, the Greek food again was lovely, but as soon as there was food not local (Asian, Arabic or Italian) the result was not really appealing. The quality of the children food was really poor, read spaghetti, wuster and sausages completely inedible.

The hotel itself is pleasant and clean, the big pirate ship for childrem was great but the rooms where somehow small and the cleaners, on top of waking us up every single morning chattering at 7 am, did not really go the extra mike with the cleaning, if there was a piece of item on the floor it would stay there and possibly just cleaning around it. I found sand in the 'clean' sheets.

The quality of the drinks of the all inclusive was ok, no better or worst than other places we have been.

What really we were not happy with is the entertainement (a part from the aquagym classes, they were great!)
Most of the clients appear to be Russian and entertainment directed at them. I could not use the miniclub - which was one of the reasons why we chose this hotel! - because the staff and the program were Russian! Same thing in the evening, performances quite poor and really out of place, dances on Mdonna or Michael Jackson soundtrack for far too long. We missed the Greek night, but thought it was better to actually go to Chania and live the real Greece.

You do need a car to get out of the hotel as it is quite isolated. The prices in the shop are ridicoulus - you can get anything you need half price from the shop crossed the road.

In summary, we did not have a bad experience, but it was not what we expected from the hotel website. If you are just interested in using the pool, eat and sleep that's fine.
If you want more of your holiday, such as entertainement that is related with the country you are visiting and finding an environment which could be international but not where you feel out of place not being able to speak Russian, than I would not recommend it.
We will not be back, but we may go back to Crete

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Louis Creta Princess Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear guest,

On behalf of the Louis Creta Princess, we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are very pleased to read that you overall had a good week and that you found our pools and the cleanliness within our hotel excellent. Furthermore, we are glad to hear that you liked our lunch-offer, the different themes every evening, especially the tasty Greek selection, and that you found our hotel itself pleasant and clean with a great big pirate ship for children. Additionally, it pleases us hearing that the quality of our drinks was to your likings and that you enjoyed taking part in the aqua gym classes. Nevertheless, we highly regret reading that you found the quality of the children food poor and would like to inform you that future ideas and changes are already being discussed. Also, regarding repetitive lunch, we would like to say that we have a seven-days circulating menu plus an Asian corner and a fresh pizza station available on alternate days. As far as dinner is concerned, we were quite surprised when reading your comment, as the vast majority of our clientele rate it from delicious to superb. Further, we are saddened to hear that the cleaning by our usually highly praised housekeepers did not satisfy your needs. We were rather surprised when hearing this, as we have just recently retrained all our employees within the housekeeping department and have thus reached a very high level in cleanliness. This is not only what we say, but also the results from our other guests show great satisfaction. Nevertheless, we will still address your comment and remind everyone of the detailed cleaning process we have implemented. Be informed that we have already addressed the housekeepers in order to instruct the chambermaids to be quieter during early hours. As for your remark regarding the entertainment, we apologize for your disappointment and would like to assure you that we do not only favor one nationality at our hotel and that we have two teams, one for our Russian guests and a second one (mostly English speaking) for the rest. The same for the mini clubs. Still, we will follow up this matter and ensure that the standards are being kept. Moreover, we would like to inform you that the shop in our hotel does not actually belong to us; we are just renting it and have therefore no influence on setting the rates. Nevertheless, we will let them know about your opinion. We are distraught hearing that we were not able to meet your expectations and for this we would like to apologize. Hopefully the happenings will not prevent you from coming back to us or to any other of our beautiful Louis Hotels.

Thank you for sharing your opinion and we hope that we will get another chance to prove to you that we can turn your stay at our hotels into one of the best you have had in your life, just like we were able to do for the majority of our other guests. Hope to see you again soon!

Best regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed for only one night instead of 14.

Staff is friendly, and the food was ok.

Room; Very, very small rooms with an very old air condition that almost didnt work at all. The beds are like rocks, and we didnt sleep much!

Bathroom was also very small and old....

The balcony was 1*1 meter. We swiched room twice and it was the same. Not a hotel for people with kids, their rooms are not made for so many people.

The beach was also terrible and nothing for children. Big rocks everywhere!!! Looked really really bad, and very few people was there.

This might be a better hotel for couples, not families.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Louis Creta Princess Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for having chosen to stay at the Louis Creta Princess and for taking the time to leave a comment online.

We are glad that you found our hardworking staff very friendly and the food on offer good. Nevertheless, we truly regret hearing your disappointment about the room and our hotel's general facilities. As you can see on this website, our hotel is rated with 4 stars by customers so perhaps it was not suited to your general liking. This does not mean that we disregard your comments; on the contrary, we will be reviewing them seriously for our improvement.

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion and we hope that you will give us another chance to prove to you that staying at one of our Louis Hotels can promptly turn into the best holiday ever! If you are looking for a hotel, which has more facilities and activities for children, please have a look at our Louis Phaethon Beach hotel in Paphos, Cyprus, or the Louis Colossos Beach in Rhodes. The beach in Rhodes is far better than Paphos though.

Best regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

My family (2 teenage boys, my wife and I) visited Louis Creta for one week in August 2012 and had a v.pleasant holiday. We had a v.small family room which left little room as a living space but was fine to sleep in. Generally we found the food to be good although perhaps more variety would have been nice in the snack bars but the boys never went hungry. Drinks were a big disappointment, soft drinks were fine but the inclusive cocktails served in small plastic cups were barely drinkable and local spirits and lager were poor. By the end of the holiday we were buying labelled wine and beer in the evenings. That said, what made the holiday for us was the enthusiasm and efforts of the animation team who did not appear to sleep throughout our visit. Pool music was a little loud at times but the games and shows were great fun particularly Jimmy who made a point of talking to us and the boys everytime he saw us. Another family we met were returning for their second visit and said the animation team were entirely a new team so guess this could be hit or miss year on year but the boys are already asking if they can go visit Jimmy again next year!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Louis Creta Princess Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying at the Louis Creta Princess and for taking the time to write a comment online.

We are happy to read that you all had a very pleasant holiday and that you found the food and soft drinks to be good. Furthermore, we are grateful to you for praising our enthusiastic animation team who put in so much effort to ensure that each and every single guest is being entertained well. Rest assured that your lovely feedback will be shared with the ones concerned. Additionally, we are glad that you found the games and shows great fun and that the boys really liked Jimmy. Regarding your remarks, we are sorry to hear your disappointment in the drinks; we will definitely address this matter straightaway. We are thinking of also implementing a Premium All Inclusive package for drinks, whereby guests will be allowed to consume unlimited branded drinks and fresh fruit juices for a supplement, as of next year. Regarding the Louis Quick Bites, we do not disagree that the variety needs to improve and we are already in the process of testing new products for next year.

Thank you again for taking your time to write a comment and we hope to see you again soon at one of our Louis Hotels!

Kind regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Louis Creta Princess Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Louis Creta Princess Beach Hotel

Address: PO Box 9 (Platanias) | Maleme Village, Maleme, Crete 73014, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Maleme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Maleme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Louis Creta Princess Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover genuine freedom in the warm embrace of this 4 Star Crete Hotel. The Louis Creta Princess is perfectly positioned a step away from the beach with sunny rooms and elegantly designed garden rooms situated around the pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Louis Creta Princess Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Louis Creta Princess Hotel
Hotel Louis Creta Princess
Louis Creta Princess Beach Hotel Maleme, Crete - Chania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Louis Creta Princess Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.