We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““Fantastic Traditional Restaurant”” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albatross Restaurant

Albatross Restaurant
National Road, Maleme, Crete, Greece
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 12 Restaurants in Maleme
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
LONDON
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
““Fantastic Traditional Restaurant””
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Well reviewed by Tripadvisor and well worth a visit. Traditional and international dishes are served with personal attention by owner & staff. We went back to this restaurant three times during our stay and we always had great food.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    13
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
robtt
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Good not brilliant but ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Big menu ...can it all be fresh ? Poor views and situation. But on the whole ok but you can find far better food at the Black Lantern at the same price

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“The albatross hotel and restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Amazing freshly prepared food, my partner ordered the cheese pie, and Dora's mother made them there and then. Nothing is too much trouble, Dora patiently explained much of the menu and made great suggestions as t o what would go well together. Much of the produce is grown by Dora's brother on his small holding. Even if we were to never stay in Maleme again, we would travel to go here, it is that good

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Worth a visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

We only visited once during our stay, the good reviews tempted us to walk almost the full length of Maleme village to go there and the food was certainly good. The main reason we didn't return was that there were several other equally good restaurants nearer to our apartments!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Östersund, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

We just spent a week in Maleme, Crete and came by this Hotel/Restaurant the Albatross. I was really impressed by the family oriented atmosphere. I judge the food was the best in all of Crete and had we known before the trip we would have stayed at their hotel. (We had booked a package deal unfortunately) The first night we ate there we had a delicious Greek salad, we returned the morning after and ate breakfast which I ordered an omelette. A few days lator we returned (after sightseeing to Elefonissi, Balos, and Knossos which I strongly reccomend seeing, but take the boat to Balos for risk of heat stroke on the walk back) and I ordered some kind of delicious meat cooked in wine and olive oil, my husband had a pizza which he also thought was delicious. we returned a few hours lator after a walk to the beach and had a typical Greek dessert, I think it was fried sheep cheese with honey......very good. The fact that their vegetables are privately grown/fresh, they make their own olive oil, and they make their own cheese made the taste and experience more valuable in my eyes.
The service is 5 stars, the atmosphere is 5 stars I really enjoyed their energy and felt great every time after being there. We will miss them and Crete very much.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Albatross Restaurant also viewed

Maleme, Chania Prefecture
Maleme, Chania Prefecture
 
Maleme, Chania Prefecture
Maleme, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Albatross Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albatross Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.