We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful traditional Cretan taverna” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Erganos

Erganos
Georgiadi 5 Oasi, Heraklion, Crete, Greece
302810 285629
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 221 Restaurants in Heraklion
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Oxford
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful traditional Cretan taverna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

For our last night we wanted to eat traditional Cretan food, having enjoyed some of the wonderful dishes already on our holiday. Finding Erganos was perfect! We had a selection of hot & cold mezze plates, sampling cheese, stunning sausages, a meat pie (that according to my partner was the best he'd eaten!), and salads. All washed down with a lovely bottle of red wine from a vineyard we'd visited earlier that day - a true coincidence!

I would highly recommend walking up to Erganos - it feels a little bit out of town but is only 10 minutes from the top end of the Odos 1866 market street.

The staff are really helpful, and though English isn't their strong point, the service and food really is. Apparently 90% of their customers are locals - always a good sign of good food!

Enjoy!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    14
    11
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Food, truly traditional. ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Food was great and staff was super friendly. A couple things to warn about is that they don't speak much English so questions about them menu were hard to get an answer. Also there is no seafood. We finished out dinner with complimentary desert.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greece
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“AMAZING FOOD!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

I had lunch today at Erganos and I was just blown away but the amazing food!
Not to miss : boiled horta (greens), fava beans, delicious cretan hand-made pasta with cheese and little yummy cheese pies with honey!
Definitely one of the best places in Heraklion to taste the REAL traditional food

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Erganos --- good restaurant but not near where Tripadvisor maps it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We are staying at the Galaxy Hotel ---- a great place to stay. After looking at the reviews on TA we decided to eat at Erganos Restaurant. After we walked to where it is located on the TA map we walked back to the Galaxy and took a cab. It is about 1 mile or so in the opposite direction and towards the central city area.
The food here was very authentic and good. We enjoyed our experience and would probably suggest this place to friends looking for a local restaurant with foods representing the area. Our only disappointment was the snail dish. Some were excellent and some of the snails were chewy and not flavorful. The house wine was not our favorite but our style is more CA full bodied. The syrah he suggested was perfectly O.K. and the wait staff (probably the owner) was great. A good experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Very traditional Cretan food. I had the veal chop which was so good I could have eaten the bone. For appetizers we shared the marrow and stuffed grape leaves which were also very good. The waiter was wonderful and tried very hard to explain in English what the various dishes were. The only thing I didn't like - which is not the fault of the restaurant, but cultural - was all the cigarette smoking around us, which we've found almost everywhere but given the tight seating here was even more obvious. The prices were also very reasonable.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Erganos also viewed

Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
 
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
 

Been to Erganos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Erganos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.