We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrible place to stay” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Eleni Palace

Save Saved
You added Eleni Palace to your Saves list
Eleni Palace
Eleni Palace
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Eleni Palace
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Milou 12 | Amoudara, Heraklion, Crete 71414, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 63 hotels in Heraklion
San Francisco, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“terrible place to stay”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We spent one night there because we thought it would be nicer to overnight a bit farther from downtown Heraklion. This hotel is extremely depressing. Surrounded by garbage, eerie palatial corridors without a soul, spartan rooms with hard beds, very old and worn blankets, sheets like borrowed from the poorhouse, delapidated pool, neglected garden. Otherwise well appointed with kitchenette, seating area, tiled bathroom. But the cheap furniture and the grime are overpowering. Too bad such a large investment is poorly managed and feels so run down. Hotels downtown Heraklion would have been a much wiser choice. Don't stay here.

Room Tip: avoid all rooms in this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
4
3
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Heraklion
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We arrived in the morning at the port and took a taxi. It was during low season and was it quiet. We were the only guest, pool was closed and front desk was not manned regularly. The room was clean, close to the beach and restaurants close by with car rentals not far away. Overall, it was relaxing

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

On arrival was given a room next to the lift.......the room had a raw sewerage smell inside it and I requested a change. Reception were happy to obllge and relocated me to a room overlooking the pool.
The room was clean, with modern cooking facilities with a balcony, good wifi connection, I couldnt really fault it....Sometimes the front desk is unmanned, just go out and find someone to assist near the pool, the staff are helpful and the place has a nice family feel about it. It is located about 50 metres from the beach, near bars which are lively at night but is far enough away for the noise not to intrude.
Happy to recommend, had no issues after the initial room change and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Dont accept a room next to the lift as if the hotel is full you could be disturbed by noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdansk
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

I have lived and worked in Creete 1,5 years. I had chosen this hotel for my place of living before I started work, when I had come for the job interview and had some additional days for visiting the island. I chose the hotel among others in Ammoudara because of very nice and practically arranged rooms, good conditions, proximity to the sea and the good impression which the landlord son (Antonis) mad on me. And I have never regretted this choice.
In fact, the whole landlord family was very nice, friendly and helpful. One day even the husband of Maria (the daughter of the landlord) helped me with my car!
I had very nice room with a huge terrace and enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rethymnon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

I visited this hotel with a friend during winter, and we had a not so pleasant expirience. The hotel was emplty, as the area around. I suppose it must be better during the summer, but it was almost frightening in the winter. The owners were really polite and helpfull, but I think they should just keep it closed in winter. The room was not really clean.The sheets had stains on them and they had put the upper sheet folded, so the blanket was touching the other sheet.This was really disgusting, as the blankets are used by many people and they are not cleaned often. They did change the dirty sheet, telling us that the stain was made by the washing machine-maybe it was but they should have seen it!!!You pay extra for A/C, but I have to tell that the room was warm enough and heating was not necessary. The room is strange-they have renovated some things and some were old, making it look rather ugly. We stayed in the ground floor, in front of the pool, which must be noizy in the summer, but we had no noise problem. The matresses are old, making a lot of noise and were unconfortableThe price was reasonable, but I think someone can find more clean budget places in the area!

Room Tip: Do not visit this hotel during the winter time Do not stay in room viewing the pool, especially if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2009

Eleni Palace is in an ideal position for the beach, tavernas and the bus. It has a very laid back atmosphere, it is clean and it has its own pool that is open to non-residents. The hot water issue that has been mentioned on other sites has been resolved and we had piping hot water 24x7 on demand. If you are looking for somewhere to chill and relax and enjoy the sunshine then this is the place. The reception is not always manned but someone is always about at the poolside or floating around inside the building. You have your own room key with a double turn lock so we had no problems with security. We would go back here in an instant. Has good wi-fi service at only €2 per day.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2009

This simple little hotel has everything you need. It's clean, welcoming, the rooms are spacious and pleasant. The surrounding is a bit loud during day time, but that also means a million beach bars and tavernes in a minute. There is a pool with a bar where locals hang out, where I ended up dozen away, watching young greek musculous guys playing in the pool, too shy to talk to me..
if you come with the bus, get out at the dark-wood type restaurant with a moulin and take a right towards the beach.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eleni Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eleni Palace

Address: Milou 12 | Amoudara, Heraklion, Crete 71414, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Heraklion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 63 hotels in Heraklion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Eleni Palace 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Eleni Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eleni Palace Crete/Heraklion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eleni Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.