We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located for a one night stay if you are arriving or leaving by ferry” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Athinaikon Hotel

Athinaikon Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Athinaikon Hotel to your Saves list
Athinaikon Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   89 Ethnikis Antistassis Street, Heraklion, Crete 71306, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 61 Hotels in Heraklion
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
179 hotel reviews
Reviews in 179 cities Reviews in 179 cities
233 helpful votes 233 helpful votes
“Well located for a one night stay if you are arriving or leaving by ferry”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The hotel is easy to find and a 10 minute walk from the port. It's also a 10 minute walk from the centre of town. Our room and bathroom were basic and small but adequate. The toilet plumbing was a bit dodgy. Breakfast was quite good and the reception staff reasonably helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    33
    34
    8
    2
See reviews for
13
42
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malta
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel a few days ago on arriving in Crete. We arrived late at night and receptionist on duty welcomed us quickly checked us in.

Rooms are good and foyer area seems to have been recently refurbished - its very nicely done and cosy.

Free wifi is also available in the rooms and buffet breakfast was also good.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed here for the night before catching our ferry to Santorini. I wish I could remember the name of the man that was on duty when we got there because he was awesome. So friendly and helpful and he even helped us order dinner which was delivered to the hotel - amazing! The food was great and the hugest portions. We got two keys for the room which meant we could leave the air-con on,which was much needed in the heat! Yes the rooms might have been on the small side,but we thought they were fine,and there was a fridge in the room which was helpful. The hotel was a short walk down to the port in the morning so this was the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We enjoyed our two night stay at the hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful and the location was good because we could park outside and yet were within walking distance of the centre of town. The plumbing wasn't so good - adequate for us but the shower didn't work properly in one room. Overall I think we had good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back and away from the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Perfect location for a one night stop over in Heraklion before island hopping getting a flight.
Near to airport, near to port.
Hotel staff are super friendly and will answer many questions. Gave us a map showed us where we where and where to go out for food, to collect boat tickets, how to get to the port etc.
Shower was ok but broken off the wall
Bed were very comfortable and plenty of pillows, bedding and towels provided

Room Tip: Perfect location for a one night stop over in Heraklion before getting on a boat to another island o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The hotel is just outside of the area considered the town's center, but an enjoyable walk will take you to the bustling heart of Heraklion. And you can walk to the ferry port, and you can walk to the city bus stop that will take you to the airport, and you can walk to the KTEL bus station that serves all of western Crete. The staff is friendly, attentive to your needs, and full of helpful advice. This is a nice neighborhood but not one with many close by restaurants.

Room Tip: If you like a window open in springtime as I do, best not to have a room overlooking the busy street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed for two nights during Greek Easter. The staff was very helpful and helped us find a restaurant (a lot of places were closed for the holidays!). The hotel is really close to the bus station and the port, making it easy to get around.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Athinaikon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athinaikon Hotel

Address: 89 Ethnikis Antistassis Street, Heraklion, Crete 71306, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Heraklion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 61 Hotels in Heraklion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Athinaikon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“ATHINAIKON” hotel is located in a short distance from the center and the sight seen of the town. Our renovated rooms have central heating, A/C, TV, Fridge, WiFi, Safe Box, telephone, private W/C and balcony with view of the town. Hotel “ATHINAIKON” with the family and hospitality atmosphere guaranties to you for all the year a comfortable and pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Athinaikon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athinaikon Hotel Crete/Heraklion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Athinaikon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.