We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexpensive and close to the Ferry/Knossos Bus” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Athinaikon Hotel

Athinaikon Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Athinaikon Hotel to your Saves list
Athinaikon Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   89 Ethnikis Antistassis Street, Heraklion, Crete 71306, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 61 Hotels in Heraklion
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Inexpensive and close to the Ferry/Knossos Bus”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We selected this hotel because of its proximity to the ferry and the bus for Knossos. Unfortunately they did not have a room that could accommodate our family of 5 so we had to obtain two rooms but were graciously given two side-by-side rooms at the end of the hallway. The rooms were clean but in need of renovation. One of the bathroom doors did not close and bathrooms are small. The breakfast was nothing special. It is about a 10 minute walk to get the bus to Knossos (don't forget to buy a large bottle of water in town as it is much cheaper!). Overall we got value for money for the one night's lodging.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    33
    34
    8
    2
See reviews for
13
42
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed here for five nights in early July 2012. We found the staff to be very friendly and hospitable. We adored Nico, a very friendly chap who was at the reception during the evenings. He always offered to make us a drink at the bar, or put on the TV - very sweet!

The hotel itself doesn't have too many outstanding facilities, but we wanted to explore Heraklion so this wasn't an issue at all. Rooms were cleaned every day. It's a few minutes away from McDonalds, a cash machine, and a leisure centre (including a bowling alley and gaming arcade - this is just across the road from McDonalds). Next to McDonalds was also a bus stop - buses to the airport leave from here and are fairly regular. If you think you might have trouble carrying your bags up a fairly steep road, it'd be best to get a taxi TO the hotel. Further down, on the way to the town centre, is a supermarket. It took us about 15-20 minutes to walk to the town centre.

The shower in our room was a little bit of a downer, very low water pressure. We asked them to fix it and they did try, but it broke again soon after. We didn't mind too much as it was still possible to shower, so we didn't bother asking again.

All in all, we had no real qualms with the place - it suited our purposes (to explore) just fine and was great value for money.

P.S., there are tons of stray dogs in Heraklion. Although they seemed harmless, if you're scared of them (as we sort of were).. don't be around the bus terminal at night time. It's just you and the dogs then. We were petrified.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Stay period: 1 night

We had a late flight in, and on arrival at the hotel, the staff we not so welcoming.
the chap behind the reception desk did not speak any English. and seemed pout out we arrived late. We were lucky to have our Greek friend with us.


Bedroom:
We had a room near the top.
Very basic
Too hot and the air conditioning was available at a cost
Room overlooked the main noisy road.

Balcony:
Very small which overlooked the main road.

Bathroom:
En suite, toiletries provided at the start of our stay.

Miscellaneous:
TV (CRT) in room.

Lobby:
Nicely decorated

Would recommend for all travellers as a value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This hotel suited most of our basic needs. The location is ok, at a walking distance from the centre, but definitely a bit on the outside.

Wi-fi worked great in the lobby but did not work on the 4th floor where our room was located. Some computers are free of charge to use in the lobby as well.

The room (two twin beds) was clean and so was our private ensuite. The noise from the main street did not bother us much but this hotel needs to find a way to block the sound coming from the hallways. I am a very deep sleeper and was still awoken more than once by other patrons talking in the hall (it's very echoe) and doors slamming shut.

I would probably try to find a spot a little more central next time but I would still keep this hotel as an option. It was decent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chania Greece
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Althought staff was very helpfull and polite, and the lobby was renovated, the room was very-very small and not in good condition. Too hot (was on the top floor), with noisy air-condition and we found the beds rather unconfortable for a relaxinf sleep. Breakfast was very basic. wi-fi was working but in low speed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Washington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

This hotel is a great place to spend a night between connections or when visiting the Palace of Knossos. The lobby and common areas were charming, and the staff was really very helpful. The rooms were not terribly charming but they were clean and comfortable and had everything we needed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

well run hotel about 800 metres up a very ugly difficult street. The hotel has a LIFT which is not so usual in small greek hotels. The room I had 301 was clean and modern BUT the view was of the familly in the apart opposit. I followed every move they made and saw what they eat- I found the breakfast normal even a little boring as I stayed here on 2 occasions over a 3 week period. No real orange juice, and every day the same thing as I spent a total of 3 nights here.
They remembered me on my return from Island hopping and welcomed me like a long lost friend.
The problem is with the area as the foot paths are either parked on by bikes or cars or don't exsist anymore. There is only one restaurant which is about 700metres from the hotel and not very funky as they speak little english and no french and didn't have any red wine "only white"!
I had back pain so I wasn't too happy when the Taxis striked and I had to drag my bag back down to the port.

Room Tip: maybe on the right hand side of the hotel at the back,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Athinaikon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athinaikon Hotel

Address: 89 Ethnikis Antistassis Street, Heraklion, Crete 71306, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Heraklion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 61 Hotels in Heraklion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Athinaikon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“ATHINAIKON” hotel is located in a short distance from the center and the sight seen of the town. Our renovated rooms have central heating, A/C, TV, Fridge, WiFi, Safe Box, telephone, private W/C and balcony with view of the town. Hotel “ATHINAIKON” with the family and hospitality atmosphere guaranties to you for all the year a comfortable and pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Athinaikon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athinaikon Hotel Crete/Heraklion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Athinaikon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.