We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good clean well located hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marin Dream Hotel

Save Saved
You added Marin Dream Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marin Dream Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Epimenidou 46, Heraklion, Crete 71202, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 63 Hotels in Heraklion
Gesher Haziv
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good clean well located hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

The hotel is clean, with helpful staff, very well placed for walking to the town center, museum, bus station and the harbor area. Breakfast is very good with great views to the harbor.
I would recommend taking an upper floor with a spectacular view of the harbor.

Room Tip: I would recommend taking an upper floor with a spectacular view of the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marindreamhotel, Manager at Marin Dream Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear our guest,

Thank you very much that you wrote comments about your stay at our hotel.
Your reviews help us to become better every day. Believing that we shall
have the opportunity to welcoming you again to the Marin dream Hotel,
I am at your disposal.

Best regards
Manolis Kalaitzakis
Manager
Marin dream Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    133
    50
    10
    4
See reviews for
47
144
20
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The hotel is well placed for walking into the town centre , the bus station and the harbour area. Staff are very helpful and speak good English. Breakfast is splendid as is the breakfast room. Sea views over the harbour spectacular although the sight of aeroplanes just after takeoff roaring past is detracts a wee bit! The double glazing works well, however as does the air conditioning.
I have one ,for me, major criticism. The beds are rock hard so I did find staying comfortable after I woke up during the night quite difficult. My husband slept like a log though so not a problem for everyone! Heraklion is very interesting,and not just the Archaeology Museum. Do visit the History Museum which is really informative with a nice cafe.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room as they have drawers! the middle rooms have no units with drawers which is a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marindreamhotel, Manager at Marin Dream Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear our guest,

Thank you very much that you wrote comments about your stay at our hotel.
Your reviews help us to become better every day. Believing that we shall have
the opportunity to welcoming you again to the Marin dream Hotel, I am at
your disposal.

Best regards
Manolis Kalaitzakis
Manager
Marin dream Hotel
46, Epimenidou str.
712 02 Heraklio, Crete, Greece
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Overlooking the port of Iraklion this hotel is great for backpackers or regular travelers. It overlooks the port and is just a 2 minute walk from the bus station. Also it's close to a number of restaurants, bars, and museums.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marindreamhotel, Manager at Marin Dream Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear our guest,

Thank you very much that you wrote comments about your stay at our hotel.
Your reviews help us to become better every day. Believing that we shall have
the opportunity to welcoming you again to the Marin dream Hotel, I am at
your disposal.

Best regards
Manolis Kalaitzakis
Manager
Marin dream Hotel
46, Epimenidou str.
712 02 Heraklio, Crete, Greece
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights here while travelling around crete.

Staff are friendly, location is excellent, close to the bus station and ferry port, also only 10 mins by taxi from the airport.

Breakfast was fresh and plentiful and the view from the top (resturant) floor is stunning.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marindreamhotel, Manager at Marin Dream Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear our guest,

Thank you very much that you wrote comments about your stay at our hotel.
Your reviews help us to become better every day. Believing that we shall have
the opportunity to welcoming you again to the Marin dream Hotel, I am at
your disposal.

Best regards
Manolis Kalaitzakis
Manager
Marin dream Hotel
46, Epimenidou str.
712 02 Heraklio, Crete, Greece
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Good business style hotel in the city center of Heraklion, not far from the main pedestrian road. Staff very kind, clean rooms, breakfast acceptable.
If you have a car be patient: parking is really difficult

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marindreamhotel, Manager at Marin Dream Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear our guest,

Thank you very much that you wrote comments about your stay at our hotel.
Your reviews help us to become better every day. Believing that we shall have
the opportunity to welcoming you again to the Marin dream Hotel, I am at
your disposal.

Best regards
Manolis Kalaitzakis
Manager
Marin dream Hotel
46, Epimenidou str.
712 02 Heraklio, Crete, Greece
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights. Very good hotel to explore the city and go for sightseeing. Very helpful and friendly staff. Very close to the airport/port, few minutes walking distance to restaurants/bars. Would definitely recommend if you want to explore the city.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The location was good, near the old city and port, but the facilities were worn and the staff tired in comparison to many comparably priced hotels. The decor was drab and somewhat dusty. The breakfast room overlooking the harbor, and the breakfast itself were the high points of our experience. We stayed there for two nights separated by a few days in Chania; our first room caused us to call this place the "Marin Bad Dream", but the second was a little cleaner and had a slightly better view.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a hierher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marin Dream Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marin Dream Hotel

Address: Epimenidou 46, Heraklion, Crete 71202, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Heraklion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Heraklion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marin Dream Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For business and pleasure. Our hotel, fully renovated and refurnished, is ready to welcome and accommodate its guests. Located within short walking distance from the city centre of Heraklion, it is the ideal choice for business travelers as well as for tourists. The superb view to the harbor and to the Venetian fortress (Koule), the elegant though cozy atmosphere, the accessible prices throughout the year make the Marin Dream Hotel truly a dream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Marin Dream Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marin Dream Heraklion
Hotel Marin Dream
Marin Dream Hotel Crete/Heraklion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marin Dream Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.