We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Agapi Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Agapi Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Agapi Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO BOX 2007, N.Stadion, Heraklion, Crete 710 02, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 61 Hotels in Heraklion
North East UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Lovely Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We were there end of May beginning of June. The accommodation was well maintained and beautiful. Service was good to outstanding, food was outstanding. Entertainment was usual hotel level but these people worked their socks off, just that as it was beginning of season they were just getting used to the routines. Hotel had a disco after the show with plenty of boom boom music for the under 25s. As for the rest of us ..................nothing. They have the perfect area for a piano bar dance each evening but don't use it and their pianist was very good but did not play dance music so not much to do on the evening unless you play cards. Also you were charged if you wanted to use the jacuzzi or sauna err what happened to ALL in all inclusive??

Room Tip: our upstairs suite in the detached accommodations was perfect for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    124
    26
    8
    2
See reviews for
105
95
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We were in Agapi Beach for 1 week all inclusive, at the end of May, in a double room with sea view. We are a couple, around 40.

Positive:

The Hotel is very well located (20 min from Airport, 20 min and 1.5€ bus from Heraklion).
Our room was very clean and the service in general was really good. All the staff was kind and helpful. They spoke English, German and other languages.
The hotel has a very nice garden, 1 big pool, 2 smaller ones and a clean beach.
We found a variety of good food from breakfast to dinner. All drinks were free, all the day. Also the ice-cream. We could not ask for more. :-)
The animation team was great. They offered a lot of activities in the day and even theater shows in the evening.
However, if you just want to relax and lay down on the beach they will not bother you at all.
Just to tell you how good the service was, on the last day we had the room until 12 and the bus to the airport at 15:40. The receptionists checked and, as there were no guests expected in our room until 17, we could use it until 15:00 and even have lunch (all inclusive until the end). We were positively surprised.
The weather was sunny, but in this time of the year a little windy.

Not really positive:

Few words.
At the end of May, the average age of people was about 60, we would say, mainly Germans and Russians; this had the consequence that if you wanted a place near the big pool you had to be there to lay your towel not later than 9:00.... For the beach, no problem at any time.
For night-life, you have to go to Heraklion or maybe come in a higher season.
WLAN: 3€ for 30 min, 4€ for 1h, 8€ for 3h, 30€ for 1 week. Quite expensive but worked very well (no problem with Skype). In our room (3rd floor) signal was between poor and good, in the ground floor was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

The suite accommodation and surroundings were excellent. Having never experienced an all inclusive holiday before, I found the whole package superb. The cuisine during all dining hours were of the finest quality, numerous choices, delicious recipes and freshly prepared/served (no evidence of frozen or microwave use!) The bars and restaurant drink variety and service are to be commended. The Animation Team worked hard, always with a smile, and provided a variety of entertainment. Although myself and friend appeared to be the only English during our stay, the atmosphere and friendliness throughout was very good. My friend who was wheelchair bound was treated with the utmost respect by both guests and staff which helped to make her feel so comfortable. The receptionists went the extra mile for us and were so very helpful. So impressed, I'm considering returning in September.

Room Tip: Ground floor deluxe suites have 2 patio areas - one from bedroom and one from living area. Surround...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

We stayed at the hotel and absoloutely loved it. The hotel staff are friendly and pleasant. It was my 24th b/day and the hotel manager and the staff went out of there way, arranged through my family who couldn't be with me to make it very special. We are looking to go back again next year, this time with my family. The views from our hotel were lovely, the rooms clean. Food was great every night. They have different themes and some meals are still catered for those who like there pasta's, chips, and aren't looking to try out anything else. The Tzatsiki was our favourite. So was the Greek evening. Our Barman though absoloutely made our entire trip his name was Kostas. The animation team are friendly are do a great job trying to involve everyone with shows and fun throughout the day and evening. I would highely recommend this hotel to any one.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

I and my 16 months old daughetr just returned from one week holiday in Agapi Beach hotel and I must admit that I was very satisfied with the comfort we had during our stay there. The resort itself is very nice, located very close to a beach, with a beautiful garden, few pools located in different parts of the resort, several bars and restaurants. The quality of food was very good, there was also food prepared for children. Service was also good although sometimes waitresses were so quick with cleaning our dishes that we had to ask for new ones. The room was spacious with nice view on pool. The only bad thing was the matrace. In case you do travel with small kids, it is definitelly recommended to stay in this hotel. I would maybe recommend to the hotel to be bit more prepared for families with small kids - less stairs and plastic dishes.

Room Tip: Bungalows with view to the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

We´ve just returned from our holiday at Agapi Beach. It´s was our first beach holiday with our children (2 and 5 years old) and we had a lovely time.
Our two-room family room in the main building was spacious enough to accommodate the four of us. The restaurant, beach, kids club and swimming pools were nearby. The premises were well taken care of.
Food was tasteful. Especially considering the amount that has to be prepared.
Staff is very friendly and helpful. We surely recommend this hotel for a relaxed holiday at the beach.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

I maybe should first say that i do not see myself as a "voyage critic" (at it annoys me to see other people playing with their oppinions sometimes.
Rooms: clean, cosy, big enough!
Beach: clean, sandy, enough umbrellas and beds
Food: we realize there is better food on earth, but while there, we enjoyed it!
Personnel: there are hidden gems there!!! People that would do anything to please you! And i do mean anything - from cocktails to room service, we nearly adopted a beach dog with the help of the manager!
Outside: shops, restaurants, bus station, everything you need to change from the hotel. (15 min from Heraklion), many renting facilities
The only down side of this hotel: the pool is small; but with the sea 30 meters away.. we only went in for curiosity once.

Once more, the bartenders are absolutly wonderful human beings!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Agapi Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agapi Beach Hotel

Address: PO BOX 2007, N.Stadion, Heraklion, Crete 710 02, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Heraklion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Heraklion
#6 Family Hotel in Heraklion
#9 Romantic Hotel in Heraklion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Agapi Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 308
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Agapi Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Agapi Beach
Agapi Beach Heraklion
Agapi Beach Hotel Crete/Heraklion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agapi Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.