We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Galaxy Hotel Iraklio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Galaxy Hotel Iraklio to your Saves list
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   75 Dimokratias Avenue, Heraklion, Crete 71306, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 61 Hotels in Heraklion
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Top Contributor
611 reviews 611 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 202 cities Reviews in 202 cities
511 helpful votes 511 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This hotel is lovely, with nice reception and dining areas and a good bar with a great diversity of drinks and good entertainment. The food for breakfast is of great diversity and very healthy. The coffee is served efficiently and quickly as it should be for breakfast.

The room has a nice arrangement, good lighting, lots of surface area for packing and unpacking, a good bath, a bathrobe, a safe and wifi that works well. There is no pot for heating water for tea or coffee but there are some snacks in the room for sale. The duvet is too warm but so many hotels seem to have that so one can remove the duvet and sleep under the two layers of "sheets". Room doors are not necessarily engineered to close without your attending to them so pull your door closed as you enter or leave.

Room Tip: We had no problems so cannot suggest an improvement but we always prefer rooms on higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    744
    200
    39
    6
    4
See reviews for
139
521
61
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This hotel is not on the main tourist drag near the Venetian port but a 20 minute or so walk away. it is near a bus stop to catch the bus to Knossos and on the way to the airport.
The service is excellent, with free wi if in the rooms and even after checkout if waiting until ready to go to the airport.

Even though we arrived after midnight, reception was smiling and welcoming - and did not burden us with tourist information until the following day! Just perfect attention!

The breakfast dishes were delicious and the setting around the pool very pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We have stayed at Galaxy hotel while we were on our honeymoon in 2011 and it was perfect for us!The staff were very friendly, they make us feel special and it is one of those hotels you really enjoy staying at, even though you are not doing anything much different. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Within walking distance to the center of Heraklion. Quiet room with a view to the swimming pool. Very clean with fitness and spa area. Excellent breakfast buffet (fresh and with local specialities). Excellent service. Bed linen were lent to me when I moved into my apartment. I appreciated it very much!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tetbury
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Yiannis Economou and his team starring Maria on reception and Aris the restaurant manager ensured we had a wonderful, comfortable stay in Iraklion. A haven from the bustling city outside.
The food was exceptional focussing on local fresh produce. Our executive room was spacious and very comfortable. The only place to stay in town!

Room Tip: executive room has more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southsea
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Having been stranded on Crete for a couple of days (adverse weather conditions in Rhodes) we were pleasantly surprised to find this lovely hotel in Heraklion. Arriving there somewhat harassed we could not have been met with more helpfulness and civility. whilst waiting for an extra bed to be made up for my granddaughter we were given much needed complimentary refreshments.
The food and service in the hotel were excellent and although i would say this is as much a business hotel as leisure hotel it was still a great place to stay; it has a lovely pool area enclosed in the centre of the hotel which my granddaughter fully enjoyed after visiting the wonderful Knossos.
We have promised ourself another visit!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stayed here for 3 days as part of a group on business trip, this is a clean, modern, quality hotel with good amenities, swimming pool etc.
We got great rates as part of a group.
The staff were attentive and helpfull although the desk staff seemed somewhat overwhelmed at times with too many tasks.
Breakfast was really excellent with a wide range of food.
Its about 15-20 mins walk into central Heraklion

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Galaxy Hotel Iraklio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galaxy Hotel Iraklio

Address: 75 Dimokratias Avenue, Heraklion, Crete 71306, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Heraklion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Heraklion
#1 Luxury Hotel in Heraklion
#1 Spa Hotel in Heraklion
#2 Business Hotel in Heraklion
#3 Family Hotel in Heraklion
#6 Best Value Hotel in Heraklion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Galaxy Hotel Iraklio 5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Certificate of Excellence 2014 Winner! The 5-star Deluxe Galaxy Hotel Iraklio is Heraklion's premier hotel for business and leisure and the top choice for discerning travelers. Modern facilities fully renovated in 2008, and warm, professional service highlight the hotel's steadfast dedication to the magical combination of aesthetics and functionality. Centrally located in downtown Heraklion, the Galaxy is an oasis of contemporary luxury whose services and amenities are second to none.The Galaxy Hotel Iraklio's 127 rooms and suites exude an air of contemporary elegance within a unique city-resort atmosphere, while the hotel's extensive, upgraded amenities include, among others:• fully independent air conditioning• complimentary WiFi• fine bed and bath linens• premium Simmons mattresses and choice of pillows• Pure allergy friendly rooms for optimal air quality and the best sleep you've ever had• fully equipped complimentary business center• large fresh-water pool• complimentary parking facilities• concierge services• complimentary state-of-the-art gym with wellness center and hammam• superb dining at the all-day Per Se Lounge or poolside Vetri Restaurant• top conference and event facilities No matter what the reason for your stay, the Galaxy Hotel Iraklio will ensure that it is nothing short of spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Galaxy Hotel Iraklio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galaxy Hotel Heraklion
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio Crete/Heraklion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galaxy Hotel Iraklio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.