We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel...Boring City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Galaxy Hotel Iraklio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Galaxy Hotel Iraklio to your Saves list
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   75 Dimokratias Avenue, Heraklion, Crete 71306, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 62 Hotels in Heraklion
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Waldwick, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Hotel...Boring City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

We stayed 3 nights in Heraklion (Iraklio as pronounced in Greek) and found the hotel to be a perfect fit. We chose the hotel originally because we flew into Heraklion and then were ferrying out of the city on to our next trip, so it was a great central point.

The hotel is safe, clean and very modern. There is a wonderful pool, a great restaurant, great concierge, and full delicious breakfast. The only downfall is the actual city of Iraklio. This city Im sure is main business center of Crete, as the city is not very touristy. There is not many sites to see other than the main castle on the waterfront. We found that we could take a short walk to the bus terminal and with a 1-2 hour bus ride we could visit any resort city on the island.

The hotel is great if you need a central area to base yourself for a short stay or if you are on a business trip. I would not reccomend for families or people who are not willing to travel outside of their comfort zone to see things.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    769
    204
    40
    6
    4
See reviews for
145
525
63
132
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sleaford, Lincolnshire
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

I reviewed the Galaxy a year ago and returned with a party of 5 staying in 3 rooms. We used it as an overnight stay having flown into Heraklion late and travelling on to Sitia the next day. Rooms were as good as on my last visit. Service was good and we were advised of a taxi driver's strike and given directions to the correct bus for the airport and sold a ticket. The breakfast lived up to our very high expectations. Great pool which we used after breakfast before we checked out. The hotel will also hold your luggage after check out.

We've stayed before and we'll be back again. As a city centre hotel it is hard to fault. Book via Travel Republic for the best deals and if staying longer seriously consider the half board option.

Room Tip: Ask for a poolside room for a quiter night's sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bou, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

A very good choice of Hotel in Heraklion : clean, modern, with helpful staff and all reasonable amenities. Beautiful bar/restaurant by the pool, well disposed tables and sunbeds, all this near the center of town (at walking distance).

We stayed for one night in August and hope to go back soon.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

This hotel set the bar high for every hotel on my trip. You WILL get the standard creature comforts one takes for granted at home... For ex., the A/C will run constantly. The room was a welcomed respite after the long plane ride. It can be a scavenger hunt if you try to find this place at night. (I recommend getting explicit directions from the hotel. Most locals didn't know where this was located.) Upon arrival, we were immediately situated and moved to a room that was more in line with what my friend booked (two twin beds). The room also had an air filter. The room was modern, clean, stylish and quite comfortable. The mattress was GREAT on the back. No bed bugs.

Breakfast is included at Galaxy. It was the best breakfast at any hotel in our stay. It's a buffet with high quality, well-prepared food. The staff was VERY PROFESSIONAL, WELCOMING and accommodating. Staff was on hand and made sure we were settled. This is a MUST stay if you're arriving into Crete. It could be an effective home base if you rent a car OR a good place to catch your breath after being on a plane.

You get a password to access their WiFi. I didn't test it, so I don't know if it'll work in the room.

CON: The parking was a bit sketchy.

Room Tip: You can request the "allergy friendly" room. I was recovering from a sinus infection, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

The reviews below have said it all - it's a nice, modern, clean hotel with nice amenities - pool, spa, gym, etc.

It's very affordable considering how nice it is - probably because it seems there is little of value to see in Iraklio. But if you're using Iraklio as a base to see Crete, or just staying there on a nite en route to another part of Greece, it's a perfect place to stop.

It's within walking distance of Iraklio's center, but there's not a lot there. There is also parking, which is a plus, but driving - well, rather navigating - in Iraklio is not easy.

Dinner was good, though the service was slow, our only negative in our time there. Other than that, it's a very nice, sleek hotel and worthy of its high TripAdvisor rating.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

The Galaxy is an exceptional hotel, made so by its staff, who are all excellent and cannot do enough for the guests with nothing too much trouble. I would recommend an upgrade to an Executive Room which was very spacious and comfortable and worth the extra. As others have said, the breakfast is very good with an excellent variety. The pool is a good size and was always very welcome after a hard day visiting the wonderful Minoan sites on the Island. We cannot wait for the revamp of the Archaeological Museum to be completed which will signal our return and we shall most certainly stay at the Galaxy. I also hope by that time the pavement repair/reconstruction will have been done!!

Room Tip: Our room was on the 'road' side but was well sound proofed and we were not troubled by traff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

From the moment we walked in, we were immediately treated like celebrities by Antonios. The staff deeply cares about their job and they truly love what they do. Whatever it is- they do their very best trying to accommo
date your needs. They are beyond wonderful. There were small things that maybe some people would find important...like the rooms are a tad small, according to the American standards. But the free breakfast was amazing. The restaurant quickly became my favorite due to its quality and great value. Giorgos was the best waiter we have ever had. I loved the location, too- walking distance to the bus station (should you decide to see Knossos) and not far from the main bus terminal (fairly short ride to one of the beaches). I think the hotel is perfect for those who is looking for some peace and quiet while still would like to be near the airport and main sightseeing. Unfortunately, we were scheduled to depart on the day when a taxi strike took place. Aris and Maria made sure we had our taxi 10 min before the strike was to happen. And Manolis boiled us some water and arranged still a pretty nice breakfast since we were leaving at 4.50 am. They all are a superb team. We enjoyed our time on Crete and 80% of it is thanks to the customer service superstars from Galaxy.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Galaxy Hotel Iraklio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galaxy Hotel Iraklio

Address: 75 Dimokratias Avenue, Heraklion, Crete 71306, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Heraklion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Heraklion
#1 Spa Hotel in Heraklion
#1 Romantic Hotel in Heraklion
#1 Luxury Hotel in Heraklion
#3 Family Hotel in Heraklion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Galaxy Hotel Iraklio 5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Certificate of Excellence 2014 Winner! The 5-star Deluxe Galaxy Hotel Iraklio is Heraklion's premier hotel for business and leisure and the top choice for discerning travelers. Modern facilities fully renovated in 2008, and warm, professional service highlight the hotel's steadfast dedication to the magical combination of aesthetics and functionality. Centrally located in downtown Heraklion, the Galaxy is an oasis of contemporary luxury whose services and amenities are second to none.The Galaxy Hotel Iraklio's 127 rooms and suites exude an air of contemporary elegance within a unique city-resort atmosphere, while the hotel's extensive, upgraded amenities include, among others:• fully independent air conditioning• complimentary WiFi• fine bed and bath linens• premium Simmons mattresses and choice of pillows• Pure allergy friendly rooms for optimal air quality and the best sleep you've ever had• fully equipped complimentary business center• large fresh-water pool• complimentary parking facilities• concierge services• complimentary state-of-the-art gym with wellness center and hammam• superb dining at the all-day Per Se Lounge or poolside Vetri Restaurant• top conference and event facilities No matter what the reason for your stay, the Galaxy Hotel Iraklio will ensure that it is nothing short of spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Galaxy Hotel Iraklio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galaxy Hotel Heraklion
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio Crete/Heraklion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galaxy Hotel Iraklio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.