We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lato Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Lato Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Lato Boutique Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Epimenidou Street, Heraklion, Crete 71202, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 61 Hotels in Heraklion
Certificate of Excellence
Knutsford, United Kingdom
1 review
“A perfect Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

From the welcome at the airport and then the warm welcome at reception, throughout our stay we were treated with courtesy and efficiency. The breakfasts were excellent, the room was well equipped and we loved the view. The manager of the Herbs Garden restaurant was very helpful and our meals there were tastefully presented The staff were friendly at all times. We look forward to another stay in the future. The proximity to the bus station was particularly useful and we visited Rethymon, Amnisos and Archanes by local bus.

Room Tip: We chose a superior room with sea view. It was on the top floor and worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    618
    354
    103
    24
    10
See reviews for
182
587
62
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed at the Lato for two nights to visit the Palace of Knossos and The Museum.We also did some shopping. This hotel was perfect for all of the above.We were located in the building across the street from reception and our room had a lovely view of the harbor with a small balcony.Our room was chocolate brown with one wall painted dark red and with dark brown flooring it seemed dark and dismal.Our bed was placed at an angle which felt odd. No doubt this was to give us more room.The bathroom in the same color did it no favors even though everything worked well and was of good quality,also it had a glass door which was not comfortable.Reception looks tatty and needs an upgrade.
We did appreciate the tea coffey making facility and the air conditioning .Breakfast was average and in the main part of the hotel.Reception staff were very pleasant and helpful.Dinner in the rooftop restaurant was enjoyable with a panoramic view of the harbor. We had stayed at another hotel two weeks previously just 10 minutes away that had no view of the harbor and was considerably less expensive.It was every bit as good so bare in mind that you are choosing to pay a premium for harbor views.Location of the Lato hotel is perfect for shopping, ferry and the airport.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Korinna_Alexandry, General Manager at Lato Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Weekender R, Thank you for your valuable feedback and remarks that contribute the most in our efforts for constant improvement. Please rest assured that your points have been noted and all adequate actions will be promptly employed.
We are also thankful for your expressed satisfaction concerning our services and facilities.
Although subjective, we strive to meet guests’ aesthetics criteria and also maintain and evolve our property’s “personality & character”.
Indeed our location is privileged which adds to best-value along with the personalized services and facilities offered.
Dear guest, once more, I thank you for your input and look forward to have you as our guest again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Perfect location very close to main street and to the ferry, helpful staff (they took care of parking the car on the street), tasty warm welcome snack, and the best - roof restaurant with great lamb and close enough to keep the connection via electronic nanny with our baby in the room. Plus small balcony with a table and the view into the sea for a desert.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The hotel is very central and close from the best restaurants in Heraklion. Do not miss the rooftop restaurant of the hotel (Herb's Garden). It is very good and ver affordable, though more expensive than the average greek restaurant.
As for the hotel, be aware that there are 2 blocks. The old one, where the reception desk is located, and a new one across the street. This last one, though more recent, looks more like furnished studios. I preferred the main one.
When we first arrived at the hotel, we were given a very dark room, almost grounfloor. After complaining, we got another one where the AC was not cold enough. finally we got a much better room with a balcony. Though the rooms are not the best in town, the staff were helpful and very reactive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Korinna_Alexandry, General Manager at Lato Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear TheSaint17, thank you for your contribution and for your kind feedback concerning our restaurant and our staff’s efficiency. We are very happy from your overall satisfaction and we hope to grand us the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.
Regarding the 2 blocks fact please kindly note, as it is clearly stated in our official site, that our hotel complex is constituted by two neighbouring buildings on Epimenidou street in the centre of the old town. In the main building, guests are welcome to find all the common areas (i.e. the reception, the lobby, restaurants, the bar, few multifunctional halls, a small wellness centre), as well as refurbished rooms and suites. Right across the main building our newly acquired room complex is situated. Both buildings are functionally united and fully refurbished during 2012-13, where guests enjoy common facilities, services and accommodation comforts.
We always strive to suit all our guests’ request and fulfil expectation and needs.
Dear guest, we are grateful for choosing our property for your accommodation while in Heraklion and we are all looking forward to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterville, Maine
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

My husband and I ended a 3 week trip to Greece in Sept at Lato Hotel in Heraklion for 2 nights. We chose it for proximity to ferry port and airport, both a short cab ride away. The ample and diversified breakfast was excellent. The front desk personnel were most helpful. We had dinner at the stunning roof top restaurant and were treated to a lovely dessert honoring our 55th anniversary. How special is that? We loved the location and enjoyed the balcony view of the harbor. Hope to stay again on a future trip.

Room Tip: We did ask for a sea view with balcony which was honored.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed here for only one night during our stay in Heraklion, but we had a very pleasant stay. The hotel was conveniently located near the harbor and the bus station which made getting to Knosos and later Chania very easy. We stayed in the newly renovated portion of the hotel, across the street from the main lobby. Our room was clean, a little on the small side, but the bathroom was adequate. We hoped to eat at the roof top restaurant, Herb's Garden, because we got in late and heard it had good reviews. Since it was raining, that was, unfortunately, impossible. We ordered room service, it came pretty quickly, was very reasonably priced and we ate on our covered balcony overlooking the sea and the harbor. It actually was one of the best meals we had in Greece! Breakfast the next day had a good selection of items. Only complaint was that we requested a wake up call in order to catch the first bus to Knosos, but we never received a call. There might have been some miscommunication with the front desk and we did not miss our bus so no harm was done. Overall- I would recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zevenaar, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Lato offers an excellent place to stay for a couple of days in iraklion. Great design in the bar, restaurant and lobby. Free wifi with excellent speed. Good abundant breakfast with sufficient choice of quality ingredients. Sometimes restocking of buffet is inadequate during peak hours.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heraklion
1.4 mi away
Sofia Hotel
Sofia Hotel
#14 of 61 in Heraklion
4.0 of 5 stars 228 reviews
0.8 mi away
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
#2 of 61 in Heraklion
4.5 of 5 stars 1,131 reviews
0.1 mi away
GDM Megaron Hotel
GDM Megaron Hotel
#1 of 61 in Heraklion
4.5 of 5 stars 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Agapi Beach Hotel
Agapi Beach Hotel
#8 of 61 in Heraklion
4.0 of 5 stars 303 reviews
37.4 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#2 of 171 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 stars 360 reviews
0.8 mi away
Eleni Palace
Eleni Palace
#27 of 61 in Heraklion
4.0 of 5 stars 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lato Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lato Boutique Hotel

Address: 15 Epimenidou Street, Heraklion, Crete 71202, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Heraklion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Heraklion
#4 Romantic Hotel in Heraklion
#4 Business Hotel in Heraklion
#4 Family Hotel in Heraklion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lato Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The dramatic views of the Venetian fortress at the old city harbor of Heraklion, and the wonder-filled waves of the Cretan Sea, are among the most photographed tourist attractions on Crete island. Not many visitors can enjoy the full panoramic grandeur of these contemplative landscapes, the way our guests at Lato Boutique Hotel can.Standing for more than 35 years above the marina, our hotel operates 365 days a year without interruptions. Famous for authentic Cretan hospitality, Lato Boutique Hotel is the most welcoming establishment in this part of the city, a magnet for romantic couples, but also for families, and business travelers.Being at the center of the old Heraklion town, the peaceful and colorful central market is only a few steps away. The museums, the Venetian harbor with the fishing boats and the yacht marina, the parks, the gardens, the city cafes and all ancient Heraklion lays at the foot of our front doorstep, your front doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere, Otel and EasyToBook so you can book your Lato Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lato Boutique Heraklion
Hotel Lato Boutique
Lato Boutique Hotel Crete/Heraklion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lato Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.