We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good room, perfect dinner on the roof” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lato Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Lato Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Lato Boutique Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Epimenidou Street, Heraklion, Crete 71202, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 61 Hotels in Heraklion
Warsaw, Poland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good room, perfect dinner on the roof”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Perfect location very close to main street and to the ferry, helpful staff (they took care of parking the car on the street), tasty warm welcome snack, and the best - roof restaurant with great lamb and close enough to keep the connection via electronic nanny with our baby in the room. Plus small balcony with a table and the view into the sea for a desert.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    306
    90
    20
    10
See reviews for
134
492
54
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The hotel is very central and close from the best restaurants in Heraklion. Do not miss the rooftop restaurant of the hotel (Herb's Garden). It is very good and ver affordable, though more expensive than the average greek restaurant.
As for the hotel, be aware that there are 2 blocks. The old one, where the reception desk is located, and a new one across the street. This last one, though more recent, looks more like furnished studios. I preferred the main one.
When we first arrived at the hotel, we were given a very dark room, almost grounfloor. After complaining, we got another one where the AC was not cold enough. finally we got a much better room with a balcony. Though the rooms are not the best in town, the staff were helpful and very reactive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Korinna_Alexandry, General Manager at Lato Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear TheSaint17, thank you for your contribution and for your kind feedback concerning our restaurant and our staff’s efficiency. We are very happy from your overall satisfaction and we hope to grand us the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.
Regarding the 2 blocks fact please kindly note, as it is clearly stated in our official site, that our hotel complex is constituted by two neighbouring buildings on Epimenidou street in the centre of the old town. In the main building, guests are welcome to find all the common areas (i.e. the reception, the lobby, restaurants, the bar, few multifunctional halls, a small wellness centre), as well as refurbished rooms and suites. Right across the main building our newly acquired room complex is situated. Both buildings are functionally united and fully refurbished during 2012-13, where guests enjoy common facilities, services and accommodation comforts.
We always strive to suit all our guests’ request and fulfil expectation and needs.
Dear guest, we are grateful for choosing our property for your accommodation while in Heraklion and we are all looking forward to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterville, Maine
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

My husband and I ended a 3 week trip to Greece in Sept at Lato Hotel in Heraklion for 2 nights. We chose it for proximity to ferry port and airport, both a short cab ride away. The ample and diversified breakfast was excellent. The front desk personnel were most helpful. We had dinner at the stunning roof top restaurant and were treated to a lovely dessert honoring our 55th anniversary. How special is that? We loved the location and enjoyed the balcony view of the harbor. Hope to stay again on a future trip.

Room Tip: We did ask for a sea view with balcony which was honored.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed here for only one night during our stay in Heraklion, but we had a very pleasant stay. The hotel was conveniently located near the harbor and the bus station which made getting to Knosos and later Chania very easy. We stayed in the newly renovated portion of the hotel, across the street from the main lobby. Our room was clean, a little on the small side, but the bathroom was adequate. We hoped to eat at the roof top restaurant, Herb's Garden, because we got in late and heard it had good reviews. Since it was raining, that was, unfortunately, impossible. We ordered room service, it came pretty quickly, was very reasonably priced and we ate on our covered balcony overlooking the sea and the harbor. It actually was one of the best meals we had in Greece! Breakfast the next day had a good selection of items. Only complaint was that we requested a wake up call in order to catch the first bus to Knosos, but we never received a call. There might have been some miscommunication with the front desk and we did not miss our bus so no harm was done. Overall- I would recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zevenaar, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Lato offers an excellent place to stay for a couple of days in iraklion. Great design in the bar, restaurant and lobby. Free wifi with excellent speed. Good abundant breakfast with sufficient choice of quality ingredients. Sometimes restocking of buffet is inadequate during peak hours.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkesdale
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This hotel is situated in a great location. It is close to the Old Town, the Bus Station and the Harbour. Reception was very professional, helpful, kind and extremely efficient. We were placed in the new section with a great views overlooking the harbour and sea. The room was clean, nicely decorated with a balcony and a surprise plate of Greek treats to greet us.
It was a 3 minute walk to the Bus Station and quite easy to catch a bus from there to see the ancient palace of Knossos. We were able to get car parking for our hired car but did not need the car once there as everything else was within easy walking distance. Shops and restaurants surround the hotel with some wonderful Greek food to be eaten! My daughter and her family were with us and they had a 2 bedroom apartment which worked well for them too. The hotel was very family friendly and the buffet breakfast had a reasonable selection of foods.

Room Tip: Rooms with the sea views are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nailsea, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed 5 nights in the Annexe opposite the main hotel on the 1st floor above street level. Could have been noisy but with the double-glazing it was OK. We found the facilities very good, as advertised, and the staff friendly and helpful. We endorse all the comments in the other good reviews of this hotel. It is ideally situated, overlooking the port and with the (East) bus station just 100m away. Odos 25 Avgostou (the main pedestrianized thoroughfare) is only 5 mins walk away, meaning that a wide selection of tavernas and restaurants is readily available. The Historical Museum of Crete is just a 10 min walk along the sea front and the Archaeological Museum is just a 15 min walk up Odos 25 Avgostou to Elefterias Square. If you make the walk, make sure you grab a frozen yoghourt from Chillbox in Liontaria Square - it's delicious! Don't bother with the other brands nearby, they don't compete.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lato Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lato Boutique Hotel

Address: 15 Epimenidou Street, Heraklion, Crete 71202, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Heraklion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Heraklion
#4 Romantic Hotel in Heraklion
#4 Business Hotel in Heraklion
#5 Family Hotel in Heraklion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lato Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The dramatic views of the Venetian fortress at the old city harbor of Heraklion, and the wonder-filled waves of the Cretan Sea, are among the most photographed tourist attractions on Crete island. Not many visitors can enjoy the full panoramic grandeur of these contemplative landscapes, the way our guests at Lato Boutique Hotel can.Standing for more than 35 years above the marina, our hotel operates 365 days a year without interruptions. Famous for authentic Cretan hospitality, Lato Boutique Hotel is the most welcoming establishment in this part of the city, a magnet for romantic couples, but also for families, and business travelers.Being at the center of the old Heraklion town, the peaceful and colorful central market is only a few steps away. The museums, the Venetian harbor with the fishing boats and the yacht marina, the parks, the gardens, the city cafes and all ancient Heraklion lays at the foot of our front doorstep, your front doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Lato Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lato Boutique Heraklion
Hotel Lato Boutique
Lato Boutique Hotel Crete/Heraklion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lato Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.