We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed at the annex” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lato Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Lato Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Lato Boutique Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Epimenidou Street, Heraklion, Crete 71202, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 61 Hotels in Heraklion
Gibraltar
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Stayed at the annex”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

This is a great hotel. The annex is really new and the berooms are very nice and clean and new. You have to cross the road to get to the main building for brekfast but altough it is in the own centre the road is very quiet so this was never a problem. WiFi connection was really good in all three rooms. This hotel has a lovely restaurant caalled Herb Garden (see other review). The only thing that lets it down is that it does not have a pool.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    306
    90
    20
    10
See reviews for
134
492
54
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

So, after using TA for the last 3 weeks to plan my trip I decided to sign up so I could help others. Lato is perfectly located by the Limani and is in walking distance to everything in Hraklio. Ate at "ligo krasi ligo thalassa" because we wanted to eat by the sea. Lato has a rooftop restaurant but wanted to roam around :). Overall good room. Big shower. AC and tv work perfectly. Perfect location. Just don't expect a HUGE room. Nor do you need one because your out and about all the time anyway. Great value/clean/location. Santorini next!!! :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed in the Annex, so maybe the main hotel is better, but we were immediately put off by the dimly lit room and horrible WiFi reception, and other little things such as there being no soap or towel in the extra powder room. By bedtime we learned that the walls are extremely thin, when a group of people decided to have a heated discussion in the lobby a few feet from our room. They may as well have been in our room. We called to complain and the receptionist (on the other side of the street, meaning you are really all alone in the annex) promised to send someone. When no one had resolved the issue 10 minutes later, my husband had to go ask them to keep things down himself. Breakfast was OK, but the coffee was among the vilest I've ever had in all of Europe. All this is too bad because the hotel's location is very good--about a 5 minute walk to the ferry terminal.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Korinna_Alexandry, General Manager at Lato Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear GingersMom66,
Thank you for your contribution. Your feedback has been taken under great consideration and all proper procedures have been already employed towards preventing any similar cause of disappointment in future residencies.
Dear Madam, I am really sorry for the unfortunate and very rare incident of weak wifi. We have gained excellent reviews concerning our strong and fast wifi free connection service. That was probably due to a sudden-temporary technical issue. We apologize for that. I am also very sorry for the isolated occasion of disturbance due to others guests’ laud conversations in the lobby area.
Concerning our hotel’s accommodation and facilities options, I would kindly like to mention that our hotel offers 71 rooms, in various types, as well as 8 suites. Fully refurbished during 2012-2013, all our rooms offer functional comforts, identical facilities, equipment and amenities, as well as ergonomics and aesthetics. In the main hotel building guests may find 46 fully refurbished rooms and 8 luxury suites, whereas in our new building, located right across the main one, guests may find a modern and fully refurbished complex of 25 rooms. Both buildings are functionally united where guests enjoy common facilities, services as well as accommodation comforts. Most of our room types found in both buildings describe the location of the room in terms of its view. We ensure that this is cogent in the accommodation descriptions at our official website as well as in all online directories.
Our sea view rooms offer unrestricted views to the Cretan sea and the Venetian harbour. We also offer executive rooms, as well as junior and executive suites acquiring further space, few extra equipment, as well as unique views to the Venetian fortress found in the city harbour.
Dear GingersMom66, we really hope to grand us the opportunity to offer you again our services in the future and try to exceed your expectations and needs this time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed here last night and I must say the place is fantastic , service was excellent friendly helpful staff , rooms very clean proper showers plenty of room nice view of the port . Very quiet rooms had a really good nights sleep .Breakfast was the best we have had in Greece so far , so much variety all fresh clean . Would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: We stayed in a superior sea view on the fourth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The breakfast buffet was included in the room rate and very good. The outdoor restaurant on the roof was superior and had beautiful scenic views of the sea, the fort, and amazing sunsets, Reserve table with a view, they are limited. We stayed across street from the main hotel and had a nice balcony with a sea view. Ask for an upper floor. Beds are very comfortable and the decor is chic.

We went to the Knossos palace and took the private tour, which was worthwhile. Bring sunscreen and a hat. We traveled there on the local bus. The bus station just a couple of blocks below the hotel and one can buy tickets at the kiosks outside.

There is a great museum not far from the hotel and on the same block as the another archaeological museum which is free and has many reproductions from Knossos and many statues. The Venetian fort, itself, was nice but closed to the public. The harbor sea wall adjacent to it was a nice walk and a place from which to view the amazing sunsets.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irakleio, Greece
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Room service food excellent, herb's garden restaurant equally good, room spacious and clean. Service from all the personnel was top quality. For its category, if not the best in town, then one of the top 5. Overall great value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Wonderful view of harbor and good service. Helpful reception staff ( Our plane was late at night and they let us use the room till late in the evening) . Hotel was very close to the main attractions in town. The breakfast buffet was rich enough and the food was tasty.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lato Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lato Boutique Hotel

Address: 15 Epimenidou Street, Heraklion, Crete 71202, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Heraklion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Heraklion
#4 Business Hotel in Heraklion
#4 Romantic Hotel in Heraklion
#5 Family Hotel in Heraklion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lato Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The dramatic views of the Venetian fortress at the old city harbor of Heraklion, and the wonder-filled waves of the Cretan Sea, are among the most photographed tourist attractions on Crete island. Not many visitors can enjoy the full panoramic grandeur of these contemplative landscapes, the way our guests at Lato Boutique Hotel can.Standing for more than 35 years above the marina, our hotel operates 365 days a year without interruptions. Famous for authentic Cretan hospitality, Lato Boutique Hotel is the most welcoming establishment in this part of the city, a magnet for romantic couples, but also for families, and business travelers.Being at the center of the old Heraklion town, the peaceful and colorful central market is only a few steps away. The museums, the Venetian harbor with the fishing boats and the yacht marina, the parks, the gardens, the city cafes and all ancient Heraklion lays at the foot of our front doorstep, your front doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Lato Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lato Boutique Heraklion
Hotel Lato Boutique
Lato Boutique Hotel Crete/Heraklion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lato Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.