We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!'” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Myrtios Taverna Restaurant

Myrtios Taverna Restaurant
Old Hersonissos | Old Hersonissos, Heraklion, Crete 70014, Greece
0030 28970 24761
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 237 Restaurants in Heraklion
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $43
Cuisines: Italian, French, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing!'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

I first visited this restaurant in 2005 with my family so when I returned in 2013 I had to visit! The food was yet again fantastic, I had the snails again which were delicious, the vine leaves were out of this world, the main courses were huge and delicious(we had to save the rest for the stray cats & dogs) The atmosphere and setting of the restaurant is beautiful with traditional Greek music from locals been played around you. The staff were lovely, one waitress who was born in the Uk but lived in Crete was so helpful and friendly, as were the rest of the staff. If you want a true Greek evening with delicious food and a fantastic atmosphere then this place is a must!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    28
    10
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Avoid this taverna”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We are a family of 9, and ate here at lunch time. We found a metal staple in one of our starters. (Aubergine with parmesan.) There was no apology, no offer of a new dish and we were expected to pay the full asking price of the meal. Avoid this restaurant. Some of the dishes were acceptable but after the incident with the staple, none of us felt confident in eating our meals. Our waitress didn't ask if we were happy with our meals and after we found the foreign body, our waitress did not even return to offer any apology - that one of our party hadn't finished her starter seemed to pass her by. The fact our 2 year old grandson was sharing his mum's starter and could so easily have swallowed the mouthful containing the staple doesn't bear thinking about- appalling!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Greek experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Great food, great music, great atmosphere... Just a perfect evening, the best place to enjoy crete
Highly recommended ;)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Best Calamari”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This lovely restaurant stood out from the crowd in this charming village. The restaurant was empty when we dined during a wet and windy April (some tourists were still wearing ski wear when we visited!) and we were seduced by a table next to the blazing wood fired stove. The food was delicious, melt in the mouth calamari - dry and crisp as it should be - and a wonderful Artichoke and dill dish, cooked in a little cream and white wine, the stuff holiday dreams are made of! Would go back in a heartbeat, preferably if we could order a side portion of sunshine next time. Look out for a little restaurant - est 1930 - up a side street by the bakery. Sadly we'd eaten but the aromas as we passed were mouthwatering - lots of ladies cooking up a storm in the kitchen, very traditional and homely looking - if you go let me know what we missed!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“A Lovely Tavern But Perhaps TOO sucessful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We timed our meal to coincide with a weekly night of Greek music and dancing and so, it would seem, had many other diners from the neighbouring villages. I had the Beef Stifado which had massive chunks of meat slow cooked in the traditional oven in a vessel which looked like a very large tagine. There were several tagines with varieties of local dishes, although I realised these were not particularlt hot when the chef was simply removing and replacing the lids with a bare hand. So - lovely food, and a great setting in the main square plus the bonus of free entertainment but I feel they may have fallen victim to their own sucess. The waiters didn't seem familiar with the table numbers (and there are MANY.) They seemed to wander round, Wetherspoon style, calling out the numbers to each other. Several diners, including ourselves, were given dishes that we had not ordered. One thing that really vexes me is people bumping into the back of my chair when I'm eating. It happen here half a dozen times, mostly by waiters, until I finally moved. There's a fine line between cosy and crowded guys !

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Myrtios Taverna Restaurant also viewed

 
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
 

Been to Myrtios Taverna Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Myrtios Taverna Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.