We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent food, nice location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paralia Seaside Restaurant

Paralia Seaside Restaurant
Sofokli Venizelou 5 | Venetian Harbor, Heraklion, Crete 712 02, Greece
+30 2810282475
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 221 Restaurants in Heraklion
Price range: $13 - $18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Decent food, nice location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Fast service, good prices and tasty food.

Good cuttle fish and squid, cold beers.


Only mediocre taramasalata stops it being a 5*.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    122
    35
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Long wait”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The 'head waiter' is very busy getting peple in his place, but as soon after you have ordered they tend to forget you. We had to order our drinks 3 times and waited for 1.5 hour for our mixed grill fish dinner, which was at best mediocre. The only reason they have good ratings, must be because people are so starved by the time they get their food, they will eat and appreciate anything.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vminop, Owner at Paralia Seaside Restaurant, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear TA reviewer,
First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience at "Paralia".
Even though I read your review very carefully, I am not familiar with the situation you are describing. I had a discussion with my staff and nobody seems to remember the above incident. Being in charge of customer service I always pay extra attention to our customers satisfaction.
Is there a possibility that you are confusing us with another restaurant? "Paralia" happens to be located in the middle of two other restaurants and they all look so familiar that sometimes its easy to get disoriented.

Sincerely,

Vasilis Minopoulos
Head of Paralia Seasise Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great food & friendly service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We pre-booked this popular restaurant on the internet prior to our stay in Heraklion on the recommendation of a friend.
The restaurant is situated on the busy seafront road & we chose to sit "over the road" from the restaurant in it's shielded, seaview section & apart from the wonderful sunset views, we got great amusement from watching the waiters dodging the traffic to bring us our food!
Staff were extremely friendly & helpful in explaining the menu & making recommendations.
We ordered beers & a good local red wine with water to go with our food & the starters & main courses were delicious.
We were pondering whether to order dessert when the waiter arrived with the restaurant's gift to us of beautiful hot doughnut "balls" covered with melted honey & accompanying delicious, home-made ice cream!
We all looked at this "gift" & wondered how on earth we could do it justice?
The fact is though that the dessert was so light & delicious in every way that between us, we ate the lot!
Our meal was rounded off with the customary & complimentary raki drink & the bill came to 50 euros for the 4 of us which we all felt was wonderful value for a memorable meal.
We all would thoroughly recommend this restaurant provided that the heavy traffic, albeit shielded by plastic panels,does not put you off. The views & food more than compensate.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good food and good view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We ate on the restaurant on a Saturday afternoon.. We sat outside with the view of sea. The serving size of the starter (mushrooms) would be sufficient for 2 people. I had octopus for the main meal and the size is just right. It was also delicious and quite cheap. The dessert has been so nice as well! Got my tummy so full and happy =). They also offered us free "Raki" (water of Crete as they say), it has also been nice but only for the ones who drinks alcoholic beverages as it is 40% alcohol. The location has been lovely but it is right beside the busy and noisy street of Heraklion. Another thing is that they are allowed to smoke almost everywhere, so better be ready when dining as somebody might be smoking right next to you =).

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Terrible service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Today it was clean monday. We all expected to be a busy day. And we were correct. We also expected for some kind of delay for all the dishes. The thing is that we waited for one and a half hour to be served the main dishes and we finally decided to cancel our order. We also waited for about 20 minutes for the bill. I would not recommend paralia to anyone. At least whenever is expected to be crowdy. The food that we managed to taste was good. It cost us around 12.5€ per person. A bit pricy if you consider the fact that we didnt try the main dishes. to taste was good. It cost us around 12.5€ per person. A bit pricy if you consider the fact that we didnt try the main dishes. The waiter was polite.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paralia Seaside Restaurant also viewed

Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
 
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
 

Been to Paralia Seaside Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paralia Seaside Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.