We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value for money, great fish !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ladokolla

Ladokolla
13, Marineli Str | Agios Dimitrios, Heraklion, Crete 71202, Greece
2810256391
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 237 Restaurants in Heraklion
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Chania, Greece
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“great value for money, great fish !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

i have visited Ladokolla twice in a week with partners and family.
Surprised by its unique decoration,
the GREAT service and the excellent food!!

can't wait to visit again

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    41
    13
    13
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Just delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We discovered the restaurant during a family (3 generations) trip to Crete. It is off the main street but once you see the sign, go down the alleyway to a lovely open plaza and hope that there is space for you and your party.
We ate there first as a family of 6 and then Mrs. K. and I returned 10 days later. The owner's daughter recognised us, albeit without the rest of the family, and gave us the same table.

The food is copious and delicious. The hospitality is Cretean at it's best and the staff gives new significance to the word "delightful".

We will return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Amazing Greek Specialties!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Lodokolla is a small Greek Tavern - Restaurant with delicious plates.
The master chef is a woman and for the recipies she always uses fresh mediterranean cretan products: virgin cretan olive oil, fresh tomatoes and other vegetables, fresh meat, lamp, pork, fresh fishes!!!
Enjoy your meal compine with a Greek Bottle of Wine from famous Greek Wineries on Crete, Santorini and Northern Greece...
I can't remember the name of salad I ate but it was just delicious!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Seafood and meat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Ladokolla is no longer behind Aghios Titos church but close to 25th August street. The service is still very good and the food served excellent. The parents and one daughter are cooking while the fourth member of the family Natasha is taking care of the service always with a smile! It was a while since our last visit, some very tasty new dishes, draught wine was improved. We would definately recommend for lunch or dinner if you visit Heraklio.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebourg, Nord
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“The worse service ever”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

It took one hour and a half to get served, with the restaurant 2/3 full I could not believe it. I was sitting outside and the wind was so strong, it was very chilly to wait that long without any food. Their excuse was that everyone had ordered the same as I did, i.e. the fish spaghetti. The wind blew up my glass of wine that was full and broke it. It spilled all of it on the table. They eventually cleaned it up (that was about one hour before they brought the spaghetti) and said they would replace it but never did and left me the whole meal with nothing to drink, not even water. They even had the nerve to include it in the bill but I reminded them of the incident and they took it off. The food was OK but with only 2 large shrimps on the high end of the price list, the whole bad experience felt like a rip off. I would not go there again as there is much better around.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ladokolla also viewed

Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
 
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
 

Been to Ladokolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ladokolla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.