We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for a short stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pasiphae Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pasiphae Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pasiphae Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Posidonos St | Poros, Heraklion, Crete 713 07, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 63 Hotels in Heraklion
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fine for a short stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

WE arrived at the Ferry Terminal at around nine thirty at night with nowhere booked to stay. On the advice of a Taxi Driver stood on the rank we went to this hotel not expecting or wanting too much as we only intended staying one night.

The Hotel itself and the room was clean and functional if a little outdated but quite adequate for our needs. Located just a few hundred metres from the Ferry Port and very close to the main Bus Station it is a very convenient place for the independent traveller for a short stay but I wouldn't want a week or two here as part of a holiday.

Both members of staff we met were extremely polite and helpful and even provided me with a free map of the Island on which she marked places of interest.

Overall, I was quite satisfied for the Fifty Euro's paid. The only problem I could comment on, which is not regarding the Hotel, is that it is located in a fairly quite part of the town and I had to walk a considerable distance to find anywhere open to get a meal. We eventually settled for a Pizza place which was all that seemed available.

In short, nice people who will make you feel welcome, ideal for a one night stopover.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the Hotel have a Balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    23
    10
    10
    6
See reviews for
4
23
13
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We only spent a few hours in this hotel, waiting to catch a late flight from Heraklion airport. But I would definitely not go back or pay to stay the night there.

The floor was dirty and there was hair on the bathroom floor and sink. The towels and sheets had holes in them and smelled bad, while the pillows smelled foostie, almost of old occupants. Since the hotel is relatively close to the airport, the constant sound of planes taking off was very loud and irritating - which can be a real problem for anyone staying the night there trying to get some sleep. And to top it all off, the headboard behind the bed was marked with previous guests' names from years ago. Because it's always nice to know how many hundreds of people have slept in the bed you're sleeping in. Unacceptable.

Overall, the hotel is old, in relatively bad condition, rather unclean and very unpleasant. And at a price of €55 per night for a double room, a complete rip off. They should be charging about a third of that price for their offering, especially in low/mid-season.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed in the hotel in September for 2 days. It was very clean, confortable rooms, very good breakfast and very friendly people the reseptionists and the owner. It is easy to find it, and very close to the port and city center. It is located to a very quite and pleasant area. It is important that there is a safe parking space for your car. If I visit Irakleio again, I will certainly stay in Pasiphae hotel. I recommend it with no doubt.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was of moderate quality. Good enough for a budget alternative.

Location wise, the hotel was a little out of the way - about a 15 minute walk to the centre of town. At night, the walk didn't feel terribly safe.

The biggest problem with the hotel is that a nail salon is run right in the foyer, the fumes from which waft up the stairs and into the rooms. I'd return home each evening to find the smell of nail polish lingering in my room. The only choice was to open the windows and air it out each day.

The (presumably well-intentioned) cleaners also threw away some of my belongings, likely mistaking them for rubbish...

If you're on a budget, this may be an option. Although, I'd recommend shelling out a few extra euros for a nicer hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

(Sorry for my English, as I'm French) It took us 1h30 to find the hotel at night and as there are no names on the street, it's very hard to find it. Make sure you print a Google map, because if you haven't and you rely on people in the street, no one knows where/what this hotel is. Once you find it, you realize that the location is actually very convenient as it's very close to the ferry. The terrace for breakfast is quite nice, but the breakfast itself is very basic. The room is small and very old. Not the best, but ok for 1 night. The girl at the reception seemed bored and never smiled. She was not very talkative.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Attiki, Greece
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Excellent choise,very friendly stuff,near to the Port of Heraklion city and to the airport.
Near to the City Centre. Just a little family good hotel for a holidays in Crete.i am very pleased as i said with the stuff and the owner of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I booked this based on other trip advisor reviews for its proximity to the port. We stayed one night before catching a ferry to Santorini. I had hoped there would be a restaurant or two closer to the hotel but we did not find one.
Our first room was only okay... The bathroom was really tiny and door did not close. The "free" wifi" didn't work for me. Then the doorknob came off when we were leaving the room.
We moved to another room. Much better but still no wifi but it gave me a chance to catch up on my travelogue.
I also didn't realize it was under the airport flight path. Oh we'll, it was only one night...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pasiphae Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pasiphae Hotel

Address: 34 Posidonos St | Poros, Heraklion, Crete 713 07, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Heraklion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Heraklion
#7 Business Hotel in Heraklion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pasiphae Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Pasiphae Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pasiphae Hotel Crete/Heraklion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pasiphae Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.