We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exciting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Knossos Archaeological Site

Knossos Archaeological Site
KNOSOS, Heraklion, Crete, Greece
Improve this listing
Visit Knossos Archaeological Site like an insider
Top Rated
$54*
and up
Ancient Palace of Knossos Tour
Ranked #13 of 63 things to do in Heraklion
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Knosos Archaeological site 12km south of Heraklion
Bergen, Hordaland, Norway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Exciting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Great place with LOTS of history! It's definetively worth the visit. The only downside was the looong que in front of the throne-room. Also I would reccomend getting a tour guide so you really can understand the history of the place.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    368
    324
    189
    51
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“busy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

we visited this site in august it is an enjoyable trip with lots to see we went early and was suprised to see how busy it was so it did mean abit of queing and waiting but as we went early it wasnt to hot saying that it was ok not the best ancient greek attraction we've been to but knossos is worth avisit but i would'nt go in the afternoon definatly to hot

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yiwu, China
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Arthur Evans on the honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

This place is great. What's really kinda cool is that you can see ancient pottery on the ground. Crete Heraklion was the the highlight of my amazing honeymoon and Knossos was a big part of it. Ignore the criticism of Knossos. It is awesome and we would not love history as much if it was not for guys like Evans. Have fun and enjoy

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Make sure you go around with the guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Really enjoyed visiting Knossos. The guide made it much more enjoyeable and learnt loads. I think visiting the Palace without the tour guide would be nowhere near as good. Even the kids enjoyed it which came as a surprise. One tip - go to the restaurants on the side of the street - much better value than food and drink inside the Palace.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heraklion, Greece
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Do visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

If you never been to Knossos then you should. It is a unique archeological ground and one of the most important of the Mediterranean region. Surely it has its problems (overcrowded sometimes - guiding etc) but it remains a sight not to be missed. Especially under a blue summer sky.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Knossos Archaeological Site also viewed

Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
 
Gournes Pediados, Heraklion Prefecture
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
 

Been to Knossos Archaeological Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knossos Archaeological Site, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.