We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very interesting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Knossos Archaeological Site

Knossos Archaeological Site
KNOSOS, Heraklion, Crete, Greece
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$76*
and up
Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch
Ranked #14 of 32 Attractions in Heraklion
Type: Ancient Ruins, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Knosos Archaeological site 12km south of Heraklion
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

If you are someone who enjoys history then this is for you. It's in the era of the Minoan. So much to learn . They conduct organised paid tours if you like or you could just do you own thing and walk around at your own pace. A must when in Crete. There is also a coffee shop outside the site for a nice cold drink or whatever else you may need after you have finished going through the site.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    342
    301
    181
    50
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Hope, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Greek Legends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Knossos was very interesting as far as archaeological finds goes considering the almost unbelievable age of the ruins. There are a few areas that have been recreated giving you a better sense of what the palace looked like. It is surrounded by lovely hills covered in olive groves. We were on a cruise port stop and took the advice of many reviewers to simply take the bus to the top. The bus station was fairly easy to find and since it was Sunday there was no entrance fee to the ruins. We did not want one of the bothersome tour guides begging for our patronage once we got there but afterwards thought we should have paid the small sum and had things explained to us. As this was one of our last stops, we were on information overload! On our way back with the same city bus we guessed where to get off so we could get to the city center. Iraklion street signs are difficult to follow but we managed with the map we had and by asking for directions. We found a wonderful street with a great restaurant and lots of little shops. We then walked to the town square past the Loggia and down to the picturesque harbour. Unfortunately the weather turned nasty and we did not bother to go to the port. fortress. For anyone stopping in Iraklion, Knossos should definitely be on their list of places to see. This is not a large city so there is plenty of time for sightseeing and enjoying some Greek food and beverages as well.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lefkosia, Cyprus
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Historically significant, but unfortunately disorganised attraction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Knossos is a very significant historical and archaeological site, one of the first (if not *the* first) recorded examples of civilisation in Europe, dating back to 1900BC, attached to so many well known legends from mythology.

While the site itself has been kept in a good condition, there are a lot of things that the local authorities would want to correct, if they want to ensure a steady flow of visitors to the site. To begin with, the touristic guides' willingness to assist (for the exchange of money) is overwhelming. One wants to be polite and say "no, thank you very much" but after the 8th time of repeating yourself, it really gets tiring.

In general, the entrance to the site could have been done much better, here's an example: Right before you enter the site, there are some controlled-entry points, like the ones you see in underground stations where you use your ticket to get through. These things were probably placed there over 10 years ago, but nobody bothered to maintain since. There they stand, rusty and useless, year in, year out, and tourists have to go round them to get past. It is strikingly easy to fix this sight for sore eyes: 5 minutes while they're thrown in the skip. But they're still there, and they do spoil the whole image of the site.

It is an irony that sites with such potential are undermanaged to such an extent, particularly at this time of financial crises. Greek authorities must finally tackle these issues, if they want to maintain a steady flow of tourists to their sites. The economic crisis in Greece should underline that maximising the attraction sites' potential is paramount.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“knossos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Situated in a very pretty area. There are excellent guides ( for a small fee) that will take you around the whole site. A very important site and the facts are amasing. A must to visit if in Crete.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Possibly a highlight of any visit to Crete”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Take a bus from the bus station in downtown Heraklion - it costs only a couple of euros and the bus service is quick and regular. You can eat across the road from the bus stop/car park at Knossos and the food is good. Lots of tacky souvenirs but don't be put off.
The site will take you around 3 hours to visit. I recommend you book a guide when you arrive. I think it costs 20 euros each but it's well worth the cost. The interpretation, the sense of amazement and awe that you get with the guided tour are simply essential. There's not a lot of shade on the tour so make sure you have a hat and water. The guides are professional and very entertaining as well as informative. You should not miss this site if you are in Crete for more than a day.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Knossos Archaeological Site also viewed

Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
 
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
 

Been to Knossos Archaeological Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knossos Archaeological Site, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.