We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Herb's Garden

Herb's Garden
15 Epimenidou St, Heraklion, Crete 71202, Greece
+30 281 033 4971
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 221 Restaurants in Heraklion
Price range: $13 - $27
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean, Seafood, Organic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Here's the finest "balcony" in the city embraced by the soft breeze of the Cretan Sea, offering the most beautiful panoramic views of the old city harbor and the Venetian fortress you'll ever see. The inspired menu primes your palate for fresh fish and seafood cooked to perfection, tender meats, refreshing vegetables and season salads, fine appetizers accompanied by ouzo or raki, and a variety of fine wines.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Top Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Literally! On top of the Lato hotel - which we stayed in and also reviewed. Great food - based on local classics but with a twist - well presented and served in a spectacular setting.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    51
    17
    8
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Schweich, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lovely views, inspiring dishes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We went to Herbs' Garden because we stayed at Lato, but also because heard about its beautiful views. The place exceeded my expectations: we had a lovely experience, and the food was delicious too. I had a lovely salad with graviera, and the lamb with mizithra. Beautiful dishes.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Great hotel restaurant with view over harbor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We were staying at the Lato Hotel and as we had arrived fairly late decided to eat at the terrace restaurant. We were so impressed that we ate there for the following two evenings.
The service is not fast, but we had all evening on all three occasions and so that was fine. We are European so a slow relaxing meal is ideal for us, provided the food and wine is good. And Herb's Garden was more than good.
Over the three nights we sampled many of the items on the menu. All were Cretan in style and the wine was local as well. The most memorable was a starter - potato soufflé. For mains we ate the pork lion with caramelized honey, raki and garlic glaze over wild mushrooms, chicken fillet with local cream cheese and marjoram sauce, lamb with a soft Cretan cheese, mango and rosemary sauce, sea bass sauteed with thyme. All were wonderfully presented and so tasty. The mains were in the range 11 - 19 euros so represented great value as well as great food

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erlenbach über Schweich, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Creative Cretan Cuisine "We'll Be Back" 4”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We were at Lato Boutique Hotel in early Spring and are headed back next month, in large part due to the fabulous Cretan cuisine to be found in the villages and towns dotting the landscape there. Interestingly, Herbs' Garden's terrace, besides having a thrilling view, is also one of the few harbor-front restaurants that serve authentic Cretan. The chef here is passionately artistic, a perfectionist too, apparently.

This can been seen and tasted in everything from the fresh salads and starters, to simple, yet elegant starter dishes like the phyllo rolls here (a kind of bread/pastry stuffed with “mizithra” cheese), For a main try the marinated salmon, or the Rabbit “tsigaristo”, which my wife proclaimed "out of this world" ...

For atmosphere, superlative service, and creative Cretan cuisine you never experienced before, this is by far the best for the combination on Crete. We'll be back, as Arnold would say.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I recommend it (You have to book a table with views at the port!)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

The only bad thing about this restaurant was the time they spent to bring us the bill. We waited for 45 minutes! The rest was excellent: the food, the service (at the start, when there was few people), and it's not very expensive.

The views over the port at night were nice, but there are few tables. I recommend to book a table with views at the port. If you don't have a table, probably there will not be any available.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Herb's Garden also viewed

Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
 
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
 

Been to Herb's Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Herb's Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.