We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Herb's Garden

Herb's Garden
15 Epimenidou St, Heraklion, Crete 71202, Greece
+30 281 033 4971
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 220 Restaurants in Heraklion
Price range: $14 - $27
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean, Seafood, Organic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Here's the finest "balcony" in the city embraced by the soft breeze of the Cretan Sea, offering the most beautiful panoramic views of the old city harbor and the Venetian fortress you'll ever see. The inspired menu primes your palate for fresh fish and seafood cooked to perfection, tender meats, refreshing vegetables and season salads, fine appetizers accompanied by ouzo or raki, and a variety of fine wines.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Really a great place for dinner. The food is great with a large choice of traditional Greek recipes and some creative Greek-style propositions.
The service is also really great and the view over the pier is quite nice. We had 7 plates for 4 people (mixing huge starters and main dishes) 2 glasses of wine and 1 water for 74€. It was a lot of food and we couldn't finish.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    51
    17
    8
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
amoudara
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“nice experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

had diner at this restaurant. Amazing view on the port and mediterrean sea. Food was excellent.
Nice service, excellent wine. Had the arabic pita with roasted chicken in capperssauce, mussels and the steak with mushrooms in a special sauce. Fantastic presentation on the plate and a lot of food!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great View, Great Service & Yummy Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We definitely over ordered and over ate at this restaurant. The food was reasonably priced and the standard of the dishes exceeded our expectations. We would definitely go back and it was our best meal in Heraklion.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great food and big helpings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

A very nice restaurant with very tasty food selection. Try the goat stew it is delicious, the other dishes we chose were also good. The staff are very nice and friendly and the views are great. The only negative is that it is surrounded by a high glass with awnings covering he top and unfortunately there was a lady sitting at a table near by chain smoking and the smoke lingered which made the latter part of our meal quite unpleasant. If if wasn't for his the experience would have been a 5.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varese, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice view and nice people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We had a great evening at Herb's Garden. We arrived at around 21.30 without a reservation and asked for a table in front of the castle of Heraklion. They didn't have one so we got another table on the other side of the restaurant. 5 min later we could seat at the table we asked for earlier and had a great time there.
The staff was really nice and efficient and the food was great: good and sophisticated.
So we had great view, great food, nice people and a fantastic atmosphere.
The prices are not high: we had starters, dishes with fish and meet and a glass of wine and we payed about 25 Euros each one.
We recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Herb's Garden also viewed

Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
 
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
 

Been to Herb's Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Herb's Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.