We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“restaurant” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kalypso Hotel Elounda

Save Saved
You added Kalypso Hotel Elounda to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kalypso Hotel Elounda
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Elounda, Crete, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 40 hotels in Elounda
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“restaurant”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Our experience of dining at this restaurant/ hotel was extremely disappointing. We waited over one hour and 15minutes to be served, even thought the restaurant only had about three other tables occupied. We did not have starters but asked for salads and grilled vegetables to be brought with the main course, but that arrived about 40 minutes before the main course. When the main course did arrive, the sea food pasta was terrible and two of out guest opted for the prawns at 15 euros each, but the waiter recommended they would be better to have the crayfish, but unfortunately this was rubbery and extremely expensive, three times the cost of the prawns which the waiter did not mention.
We did complain to the owners and we did agree a small discount, but the waiter was extremely rude

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    5
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
3
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

We stayed here only for 3 days because we suddenly decided to extend our holidays and we could not stay any longer at the hotel we stayed the last week due to no availability. The hotel Calypso was a nice place , very friendly and helpful staff.

Definitely it was not better from the previous we stayed. We can say that we had no problems during our stay, the room was very nice and the view to the harbour was splendid !

Do not expect a royal suite with Leonardo Da Vinci's paintings hanging on golden walls. Rooms are very decent for decent expectations!

Room Tip: Rooms with view to the little harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

The atmoshere and the service was wonderfull....Plus the people there, we fill that we was at home like a big family ! We will never forget the delicius restaurant with all the fish and wine compinations !
We want to thanks everybody and we promise that we will back if we can every summer !!!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bishop auckland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

Lets start with the positives before I move on to the negatives. Yhe location is perfect right on the harbour front with fantasic views,Yep the food in the resraurant is good but very expensive.
Now the negatives.The shower was broke upon arrival and it took 3 days to get it fixed.the same amount of time it took to get the air conditioning switched on after paying 50 euros for it, which meant having to leave the patio doors open to get some air in, which then resulted in extreme moquito bites and a visit to the doctors.
The lift in the building is a accident waiting to happen,theres no guard between the lift and the wall a definate no no for children or the intoxicated.
These apartments were advertised as self catering,yet there was no self catering faccilities,not even a kettle,which meant having to go down to the restaurant in the lift of death and paying a fortune for a cup of cooffee every morning.Admittedly this didn't spoil my holiday cos it was the wife who suffered the mosquito bites,Although didn't dare visit the old leper colony of Spinalonga in case they kept her on the island.
ok back to the start Elounda beauitiful Kalypso should be advertised as room only with no swimming pool.ps room never saw a cleaner in the week we were there.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

Me and my boyfriend stayed there for about 4 days, and we were surprised by the willingness of the staff to help us in our every desicion of our stay, just to let us have a great experience of the amazing place we visited. As we were told, the rooms were renovated recently and everything was very clean and fresh. Don't expect anything similar to the fancy and glamourous hotels of elounda of course, but in the end, what travellers need is a nice and clean place to sleep with nice food and nice people who really see them more as human beings than as ''money carriers''. What is really remarkable to mention is the fine Kalypso restaurant just beyond the hotel, with amazing food, great service and a huge selection of wines. Comparing to the price we paid for our dinner(about 40 euros with wine), it was much much more worth it.There was also another restaurant next to the hotel owned by them which was more like taverna style, worth visiting also. The only thing that almost ruined our holiday was the weather as it was rainy and cloudy most of the days we stayed and didn't let us enjoy the beach as we wanted to. So, check the weather before you go!! And of course, don't miss Spinalonga island, a very interesting and touching place.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELOUNDA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

I havn' t read the reviews before I stayed in Calypso hotel but I surprised because the truth was total different , the was in the centre of port nice view and renew, the stuff very friendly and the restaurant place amazing with delicious food and a lot of wines (about 350),our breakfast was like other hotel with perfect decoration.
We stay for a week and for the good price that we payed the quality was more than exellent

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2008

We recently had the misfortune to spend a week at the Kalypso, it is truly the worst hotel that I have ever experienced.
We did not choose to stay there but were transferred there by the Elounda Residence Hotel who had overbooked. I can only confirm the other reviews, very little seems to have changed other than I think it's probably been re-painted with white emulsion on every surface.

The reception area was very stark and dark and totally unpopulated. We saw nobody on reception for the whole length of our stay. indeed the only person that we did see was the cleaner who dropped her mop and bucket each morning to prepare our breakfast. The breakfast had not improved from earlier reviews either - stale bread, plastic "ham/cheese", jam and a hard boiled egg every morning.

The room was very small with no facilities other than a tiny fridge. Furniture consisted of two beds and two bedside cabinets, the quality of which were very poor (any woodwork class could have knocked the up). The shower room was so small that I could stand in the middle & touch all four walls. Usually there was no hot water. We did request air conditioning but it was not provided. There was a very narrow balcony with no room for chairs (which were not provided) and a view of a concrete wall and the roof of the church.

Overall, I think I am being generous with a terrible rating - By the end of the week we just wanted to get away.

Despite the Kalypso Hotel, I would like to say how nice Elounda is. The resort itself is set in a beautiful location and has many good restaurants and cafes. The beach is nice and there is a good choice of excursions. The boat trip to Spinalonga is recommended.

  • Liked — The location - Elounda
  • Disliked — The Kalypso Hotel - everything
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kalypso Hotel Elounda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalypso Hotel Elounda

Address: Elounda, Crete, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lassithi Prefecture > Elounda
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 40 hotels in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kalypso Hotel Elounda 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Kalypso Hotel Elounda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalypso Hotel Elounda Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kalypso Hotel Elounda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.