We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pretty nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aristea

Save Saved
You added Hotel Aristea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Aristea
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Andrea Papandreou, Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 40 hotels in Elounda
Yekaterinburg, Russia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“pretty nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Have just arrived from Aristea 2* Elounda, pretty nice hotel and very friendly staff, room was clean, breakfast - good, price - very good) hotel is not new, but location is perfect, hope 2come back 2 Elounda & Aristea

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    10
    7
    8
    4
See reviews for
7
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vamos, Greece
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We booked ourselves a room for two nights at the end of March using an online service and ended up staying an extra night because we were enjoying ourselves so much.

Our room was clean and comfortable with a small but adequate ensuite shower room and plenty of hot water. Our balcony looked straight out across the bay to Spinalonga.

Maria, the proprietor, could not have been more charming or helpful. She brought us a delicious breakfast every morning which we ate at leisure on our balcony watching small fishing-boats chug gently in and out of the harbour, and on our last morning she made spinach pies and halvas as a farewell gesture.

The hotel represents extraordinary good value, particularly given its prime location on the sea front. There is no internet facility at the Aristea but the Cafe Del Mar a few metres away on the waterside has free wifi. The extremely competitive tariff of the Aristea means that there are no extras - we took our own soap and shampoo, etc.

The personal service we received at the Aristea means we are keen to return to Elounda again sometime, perhaps after the summer, and we will definitely be booking a room at the same hotel.

Room Tip: We would always go for the harbour or seaside view. In high season whether a room is at the front or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Stay period: 2 nights

Unfriendly and depressed staff

Bedroom:
Air conditioning.
Fridge in the room
Room very tired and in need of refurbishment.

Balcony:
Superb view of the sea.
Balcony furniture was tired and needs replacement.
Noisy with the ferries coming in.

Bathroom:
En suite, small.
Hairdryer in the bathroom
Fan did not work very well, bathroom remained wet/moist the whole time.

Meals:
Breakfast was basic, limited and simply awful.
Bad tea, awful coffee, very cheap cornflakes.


Miscellaneous:
TV (CRT) in room, though not too many English-speaking channels

The reception staff was from Serbia and very depressed, she didn't smile once and not welcoming at all.

Would only recommend if you are seriously down on how much you can afford and desperate.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Hotel was very old fashioned room very basic shower awful had balcony over road it was really noisy all the time 24 hours .supposed to be b and b but breakfast was a bit of bread and jam
Not good .elounda its self was lovely would go back to a better hotel that has a swimming pool!!

Room Tip: Ask for sea view we were on the road I have never been in such a noisy hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We came to Elounda, Crete whilst doing an 'island hop' and just wanted somewhere cheap to stay for a few nights- and couldn't believe the value for money at Aristea Hotel! 20 euros a night for each of us and we got an air conditioned room, superb view of the sea, Spinalonga and Elounda itself from the balcony and comfortable individual beds (which we hadn't expected..) The bathroom left a little to be desired and the room itself was quite bare and basic but considering what we were paying, we thought it was an absolute bargain! The only thing we were un-happy with was breakfast. Once foods were gone, they weren't often re-stocked and the choice was very limited indeed. However, it was included in the price of our room and once again, we felt for what we paid, that we really couldn't complain! (Hotel safe was extra- pay by the day service).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Harwood, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

view from balcony great, no shelf in fridge door, bedside cabinet fell off the wall when book was placed on it, shower/toilet awful condition, had to use bleach and anti bacterial wipes on everything but still couldn't get rid of smell. towels so stiff didn't need to exfoliate skin. Cabinet fixed after 12 days.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

This hotel is on the main road, right beside the harbour and there are countless eateries around. Exellent location as the hotel leads out onto the main square in Elounda. Trip boats leave the harbour for Spinalonga Island every 10 minutes or so. Opposite the hotel is a very good Inernet Cafe (as the hotel has NO facilities).
The hotel harks back to the 60's or 70's and decor is very dated. There is no parking anywhere around so if you wish to hire a car, make sure the hirer has their own car park as parking in the harbour/village square beside the hotel is about 6-8 euros per 6 hours. Rooms are very clean, however they are tiny. We had to tie up the shower curtain everytime we went to the 'loo' as the two were on top of each other. Two people could not get in the bathroom together. Our room had 2 electric sockets of which one was for a fridge. The other socket did not work. other guests said they just had one. A very few rooms overlook the seafront, most either face inwards towards a courtyard or overlook the main road into town. On lower floors, these rooms can stink of exhaust fumes on hotter days from the countless trip buses and motor bikes. We were on bread and breakfast basis but only went down 2 days and then gave it a miss as it was very basic- lukewarm tea and coffee, bread, ham, cheese, jam and horrible cheap cornflakes. The dining room is right beside the reception desk. There is no lounge. For evening meals there is a restaurant underneath and to the seaward side of the hotel but we gave it a miss (if you go half-board you will get served in the dining room and NOT in the restaurant). Don't get me wrong - the staff are always busy cleaning, the people in the hotel are lovely and do their best but this place would struggle to be 2 star. I went there in the 1980's and it was much better. This is because this current building has been 2 older hotels combined and I stayed in what was the better one of the 'now' two. We only paid £180 for 2 of us for a week so we can't complain too much. It was cheap, very clean with air-con so fitted our lifestyle. It's fine if you pay very little and want to be in the town centre......Don't go if you want plush dining rooms, good balconies to sit out on, lounges, swimming pools, bars, internet and entertainment cos there aint none! The only facility I saw for kids was a cot left out on a landing !

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Aristea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aristea

Address: Andrea Papandreou, Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lassithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Aristea 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Aristea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aristea Hotel Elounda
Hotel Aristea Elounda, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aristea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.