We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Corali Studios & Portobello Apartments

Save Saved
You added Corali Studios & Portobello Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Corali Studios & Portobello Apartments
Akti Posidonos, Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Just returned a few weeks ago from a one week stay at the Corali where my friend also got married. It was my first time in Elounda but i was amazed by its charm.
I have stayed in Greece many times but can safely say the Corali Studios are by far the nicest and the staff and owners the most pleasant and helpful i have come across. They not only made us very welcome but they made my best friends wedding day perfect in every way.
The pool is lovely the rooms are clean and spacious. I will be going back .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    19
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
35
62
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Derby
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Just returned again from the Corali Studios. There is little to add from my previous reviews other than to say this place & the family are the best!
We love the people & the place so much we have booked 3 weeks next year!
Elounda is also very special with such charm.
The best thing is, go see for yourself!

Room Tip: Many rooms have a fabulous sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

These apartments are run by friendly people although, probably because of our late arrival, we were not told where the aircon control was, nor what the wifi code was, and we had to work out how to turn on the water / hot water ourselves - and it meant that we had two cold showers before we had it sussed!
The mini apartment was large and well-equipped, although it was a bit dark / dowdy in style and there was a cigarette burn on the bedside table, which added to the impression of being past its best in some ways. The beds were board-like, which might be to some people's taste, but they didn't suit my old bones...
Although the apartments are out of Elounda and are across the road from the sea (which is a good view) there was some noise from passing traffic - the occasional mosquito-like whine of motorbikes and the thrum of juddering trucks made it a bit hard to go to sleep.
The breakfast was fine - fresh breads and jam, tea and coffee in the pleasant pool area behind the hotel. I enjoyed swimming in the pool - very relaxing after a day's sight-seeing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed in Elounda for a long weekend, it was off season so not much open, too cold for the sea, no water in the pool, no pool bar,no people! It was still the most beautiful place I have been to, It helped that we stayed at the Corali which by far are the best apartments we have ever stayed in (so far) in Elounda. The position could not be better and the view was just stunning, the apartments are so clean and so well equipped, for Greece anyway, the family are lovely, Maria speaks good english and she is lovely, told us all about her family when they lived in London. the dogs are lovely too Chelsea and Do Da, so funny. We were only there for 5 days but enjoyed every second. Not long to wait till we go again in May, where shall we stay this time??.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

the studios and apartments are outsanding. Yannis and Eleni and the bellos family are very kind and caring and will always make your holiday the best one you will ever experience. Maria the bar lady makes wonderful snacks and lunches and serves them to the best. Despina the clkeaner always makes sure your room is spotless and hygenic. i am only 16 but have been coming here since i was 7 and been to this hotel everyear and i must say i cannot default it! i cant wait for my holiday this year and i am happy to say its booked and paid for next year and i am bringing my best friend to show her how wonderful and amazing it really is! hurry up the 23rd of july 2013! and the 23rd of july 2014!

Room Tip: choose any they are all amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Elounda is considered a beautiful destination for your holiday, but the accommodation here makes your holiday unforgettable!! Beautiful and clean apartments, tasty snacks and cold drinks from the snack bar, the pool fabulous!! But, the most important is the feeling the owners give you, that you stay at a friends' house!! the location?? near shops, restaurants , harbour and the beach across the road. All you need for a perfect accommodation!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CORALIELOUNDA, Front Office Manager at Corali Studios & Portobello Apartments, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
CORALI STUDIOS AND PORTOBELLO APARTMENTS
April 27, 2013

Dear Reviewer,
It has been our pleasure to serve you over the last year.

We want you to know that we truly value your critique and appreciate your suggestions.

Thanks to faithful guests like yourselves we have had a very good year even in these troubled times.

We understand that you have many options in the marketplace and are pleased by your constant support.

Therefore we remain committed to providing you with the highest customer service at the best possible cost.


We look forward serving you in the years to come.


Sincerely,



The Corali and Portobello family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This family run business deserves it's very good reputation. They care about their guests and their property. Winter weather is chilly so hotels open during the season should have consideration, however, of people's interest in having hot water when they wish to have hot water, not when the solar heater is ready or when the manager turns on the hot water for all the units. I like to have the hot water tank in the room, to warm up when I feel like a shower. That is my only complaint with the design of the apartments and this property.

I appreciate the hospitality offered to me this month.

Julia Jones' Flowers of Crete is worth looking at if you are in the Elounda area. She does an amazing trip into the mountains and is very professional.

The sewer lines are being worked on this month in Plaka, the little community beside Elounda village, so there will be noise during the day across the water.

Elounda has alot of expats from the UK.

Room Tip: if you want the sea view then remember the sewer repair will be happening for some weeks/months head...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CORALIELOUNDA, Front Office Manager at Corali Studios & Portobello Apartments, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for your review on our property Sharon,i hope you are having a nice time wherever you are!!......Julia mention you are in Thessalonika.
In your review you have described us as a hotel which is not accurate,as you know we are a small family business and we try the best we can and have no complaints about our hot water because during the day we have the extra help of the solar panels and add the boiler in between.
We accepted your reservation at this time of the year as a courtesy to Julia ,and i did describe what type of accommodation we have ,otherwise i would have reffered you to a hotel .
You will be pleased to know the work for replacing the water pipes on the way to Plaka has finished they are actually at their last patch.
It really isnt that noisy!!! ,thanks for that i have to explain to many guests that read your review that the works are finished and that are we are located 4 kilometers away from that area.
I think noises in general shouldnt be a criteria in your criticism, because of your hearing sensitivity after your accident!!!! We will try to improve on the areas you have described and at the moment we are upgrading our boiler room and adding extra solar panels trying to be greener for the enviroment,Take lots of care
Mary and family!!!xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Corali Studios & Portobello Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corali Studios & Portobello Apartments

Address: Akti Posidonos, Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lassithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 32 Specialty lodging in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Corali Studios & Portobello Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corali Studios & Portobello Apartments Hotel Elounda
Corali Studios And Portobello Apartments
Corali Studios Elounda
Corali Studios Hotel Elounda
Corali Studios & Portobello Apartments Elounda, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corali Studios & Portobello Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.