We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elounda Garden Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Elounda Garden Suites to your Saves list
Elounda Garden Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Elounda Crete Greece | L. Dimokratias 72053 PO Box: 25, Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Elounda
5.0 of 5 stars 83 Reviews
Netanya, Israel
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We had a great time.
Stayed 3 nights - 5 family people.
,very good location
Five minutes walking from the center of Elounda and from the amazing beaches of Elounda. perfect service and nice people providing service.
Clean room and swimming pool
very quiet and good atmosphere
thank you Alex and good luck.
will defiantly recommend to friends

Room Tip: all rooms are clean and big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    5
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
45
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Did not know what to expect because we had not been to Crete before and had only stayed in hotels before in Corfu. Greece by its own standards do not always match their European counterparts for luxury but what a credit this place is, especially the staff!!! These guys really go out of their way to ensure you settle in and are looked after. We had a free room upgrade for most of our stay and the cleaning is carried out every day!!! Change of towels, bed linen etc. We were provided with free wine, water, fruit on arrival, and had a free bar drink and cake brought to us whilst we were sun bathing - great people! We had a late flight back so they allowed us to keep the room till we left (we did not have to ask - this was offered). This we know they accomodated for all guests where possible because we witnessed this on several occasions during our stay.
They thanked us for the stay and we were given a bottle of wine to take home, as if they had not already done enough.
If you are really expecting top class luxury you may need to try one of the hotels away from town but this place is fab and there is a good feel factor about this resort in regards to how everyone interacts with each other. We even all went on a private boat trip together (highlight of the holiday) which Alex organised. The accomodation is a stones throw from the town but enough to be out of the hustle and bustle - if that's what you can call it because it is lovely and quiet anyway - and what a view!!!!. You cannot see the sea from your balcony (highly recommend the second floor rooms overlooking the pool - 205) but the rooms are really comfortable and spacious and air con is perfect. The rooms are sprayed to help reduce mosquitoes which I had not know before, but how considerate?
If you are planning on making the most of self catering, the kitchenette does not offer all of the amenities required and you are restricted to what you can do (for example no oven or toaster) but if not, this is the place to be. This hotel has not been open that long (refurbished we believe) so Alex and the team were genuinely open to any recommendations mentioned. We noted that someone had asked about a pool side shower and also additional sheltering for the eating area, and within days these were done. We mentioned the toaster and a microwave on departure, and Alex stated that it would be looking at this. It will not surprise me if these have not already been added. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor with a pool view - best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

One of the reviews below sums up the garden suites well, all the benefits of a hotel with the relaxed feel of self catering apartments! It's difficult not to gush to be honest, the whole experience was simply lovely. The staff are a credit to the place, they really care that you have a lovely holiday and the personal touches that were put in I have never experienced from a hotel before!

In terms of the room - brand new, spotlessly clean, fresh fluffy white towels each day, powerful shower, lovely comfy double bed, 2 balconies which caught the sun all day and aircon in the bedroom. We had room 210 which was perfect for us as a couple. Don't expect 5* luxury, but a very high standard indeed. A fridge filled with fruit wine and water was a very nice touch as we arrived so late also.

The pool - again spotlessly clean, quiet, relaxing, areas for shade or just to bake in ('proper' sun beds!) Bar area for drinks or as on many occasions we had a beer served to us on our sun loungers!

In terms of the staff they appear to be one lovely family, there if you need them but not at all obtrusive, and the other reviews are true on a number of occasions we had delicious cake served to us, not for any reason really!

We had a bit of an issue with a late flight on our last day, leaving at 7pm, I went to ask if we could store our bags somewhere etc and we were given a whole new room for the day! Just super good service and a lovely way to end the perfect holiday.

Would not only recommend but wholeheartedly encourage anyone to book a stay here, as a couple we had our own space but there were a mix of families also and activities such as a weekly private boat trip to get involved in etc.

As a person who stays in soulless London hotels most weeks this place was so refreshing, I just hope they keep doing what they are doing! Truely unique!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

What a place and what a great bunch of people. We booked after reading all the reviews but it was even better than we expected. Alex and Katerina were there to meet us even though we arrived after midnight and made us feel extremely welcome. We were shown to apartment 106. This is a great room and we were the first to stay in it. Not one but three balconies! One patio with a table and sofa overlooking the pool. Another with a drying area and view of a small garden. In the fridge were not only the bottle of water I had requested, but also very nice chilled bottle of white wine and some fruit. In the bathroom were lovely white fluffy towels and a large bottles of luxury shampoo and body wash. In the bedroom two new bathrobes and a new hairdryer. The rooms are tastefully decorated and always clean. Some of the rooms have a docking station for the iPod but all have wifi. The TV was large and had a selection of channels, music, sport etc. There is aircon in the bedroom, which is great as it was quite hot during the night. (More aircon and safes were being installed while we were there). The owner, Alex, is a truly great host. You are made to feel like an honored guest and nothing is too much trouble. He is on site 24/7 and is always approachable with lots of advice on where to go and what to see and will organize anything from a trip to Santorni to organizing a boat hire. This turned into 12 of the guests spending the day on our own private boat, with our own Captain and crew, food and drink. The other guests just turned out to be a great bunch people. Everyone we met (there are only 19 apartments) was great. No towels on the sunbed or loud music, this is a rather boutique experience. Extremely relaxing and very friendly. Everything you read about the breakfasts is true. Katherina is wonderful host and superb cook and mixes a great cocktail and nothing is really too much trouble. Alex’s nephew, Philip, is always around if you fancy drink or snack. His knowledge of football is vast and he always welcomes the opportunity to talk about it. Truly wonderful experience and we felt honored to part of their first year. We can’t wait to go back next year. Thank you Alex, Katerina and Philip.

Room Tip: Apartment 106 is very special, lots of room and very quiet. On the ground floor but up some steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I don't even know where to start there are so many positive things about this hotel! We just got back from a 5 day (only:() stay at this amazing hotel and I couldn't wait to write my review.

First, the location: It's only a 40 minute drive from Heraklion airport and near the center of Elounda. Elounda is an amazing little touristy (but not too much) town in the western half of the island. The water is clear as glass and the surroundings are just stunning. The hotel itself is super well-located just a few minute walk from the port and center square of Elounda. There is also a public beach right at the port that is very nice and the only sandy beach we could find. There are only fishing boats so no noise. There are a ton of restaurants and shops just right there within a few minutes walk from the hotel.

The hotel: Well-located but is still a very quiet and peaceful place. A real home away from home. It is recently renovated and they have just done an incredible job. All white and grey and very modern. The apartments themselves are nice. We had an upstairs apt just next to the pool and it was perfect. There was a little living area and kitchette. The bathroom is slightly small but that didn't bother us. There was a separate bedroom. It was perfect for us as our little 4 year old sleep on the sofa bed in the living area and we had our own space. There were several little balconies as well, one with a sofa and table overlooking the pool and the other on the other side for drying clothes etc. They also have there own private, free parking just a 1 minute walk from the rooms which was handy for us as we had rented a car. They also have a beautiful pool where we spent a lot of our time! Also, the bed!! Just perfect! Not too hard like some of the other hotels in the region.

The staff: This was the best service we have ever received! All of them went absolutely out of their way to make sure that we were enjoying ourselves. There were always little surprises in the fridge (a free bottle of wine and fruit upon arrival!) and there were always making us coffees, drinks, fruit plates while we lounged by their pool. We really felt so welcome and almost part of a little family. Unlike another review, we brought our 4 year old girl and they could not have been more welcoming to her and accommodating.
Alex! Thanks to Alex we found the most amazing restaurant in the area! He is a very attentive manager that spoiled us with surprises! He always made plenty of time for us to explain where to visit and make sure that we were alright.
Katerina! A teacher in the off season, so she was so good with our little girl. Her hobby is baking so she makes AMAZING new cakes every day.
Philip! Always with a smile on his face from the first thing in the morning. He was so pleasant to speak with and always quick to get us what we wanted for breakfast (and more!!). Thanks for the coffee making lessons!
Cleaning staff: So discreet, quick and thorough.

Important: For those with reduced mobility, this could be a good hotel. They are not actually 100% handicapped friendly, however there are very few steps in the entire hotel unlike many others! From the parking there is a ramp and there are rooms on the ground floor (no steps!). There are also no steps to the pool area. Someone with a chair could actually get around the hotel and into the beach/center of town with no steps. The only issue might be the bathroom however I think they are looking into making a more reduced mobility friendly bathroom in one of the ground floor rooms for next season!

Overall, and absolutely amazing hotel....great job!! We hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Fantastic stay, friendly staff, good quiet location a couple of minutes walk from the main centre. The pool area was clean and ample sunbeds although it was not fully open due to rooms being refurbished. If you did want the breakfast option you could just turn up and chose what you wanted from a huge list and there was always a little extra surprise at the end which was a lovely touch. Only slight negative was our rooms did not have the safe mentioned on the details (but crime rate very low in Crete) and the rooms were not as large as expected from photographs, but plenty of storage and space for 2 people.
Alex and co could not do enough for you this included getting me a mosquito repellent plug-in and some treatment for my bites!
For us, the policy that they do not have children under 13 here, helped to make our holiday the quiet time to recharge our batteries for a hectic life full of children.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I really dithered about submitting this review as we had such a lovely stay, part of me wants to keep the garden suites a secret ! It's the best of both worlds ...the space and independence of an apartment but with the service elements of a hotel.
The apartment was spotlessly clean , painted in white and dove grey it was just a lovely space; good powerful shower ; fresh (fluffy) towels changed every day; apartment cleaned every day ; free wifi that was fast and reliable.
The breakfast is just a delight ... you select what you want on the tick list and it's all freshly cooked to order. The pool is lovely with plenty sunbeds and sunshades ... always areas of sun or shade no matter the time of day .
A lot of people have referred to how helpful Alex is ...it's more than that ..it's the attention to detail that puts him and his team at the top end of customer service......we would be dangling our feet in the pool and Katerina would appear with a plate of baclava for us ; or you buy some wine and then two minutes later there's a knock at the door and there's someone with a plate of sliced fresh fruit to eat.
As far as location goes ...Elounda Garden itself is quiet but a two minute walk takes you to the harbour area and the bars,restaurants and shops.
We had such a relaxing stay ...exactly what we needed and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Elounda Garden Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elounda Garden Suites

Address: Elounda Crete Greece | L. Dimokratias 72053 PO Box: 25, Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lassithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Elounda Garden Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elounda Garden Suites is located in Elounda, a privileged destination worldwide and certainly among the leading destinations in the Mediterranean. A modern three building complex, in a wonderful garden, a large swimming pool and a bar-restaurant in the heart of the village. Τotally bathed in the warm Cretan sunlight , just 150 meters of the Blue flag sandy beach and the village attractions. Elounda garden Suites will be beyond doubt your preferred vacation option as your base to explore the Eastern part of Crete island, allowing a restful holiday combined with high end services and great value for money. Some distances Elounda center (square and port ): 100 meters Beach: 150 meters Bus station :200 meters Taxi station :200 meters Post office: 200 meters City of Agios Nikolaos: 10km Heraklion airport and port aprox: 70km Facilities Welcome local drink and traditional appetizer Breakfast served from 8 am to 11am. In case of early departure ask for our " Early departure Breakfast " with Coffee or Tea and cake at your room. Concierge desk from 8am to 9pm Bell boy service Bar - Restaurant Laundry service upon request Special events and facilities can be arranged Free wine and fruits for Honeymooners or in case that you celebrate something special for you (upon request at the time of booking). Business Tools Laptop on request Internet access free of charge in all hotel areas Fax delivering Photocopying Room Facilities IPod dock Coffee/ Tea tray Fridge TV Daily maid service Air condition Pool services Free use of sun beds and umbrellas Free use of the swimming pool Pool towels provided at an extra cost Transportation services Transfers upon request Boat & Bus Tours Car - Moto - Bike rental To spoil yourself: (all upon request) Full body massage treatment Hairdresser Manicure/Pedicure ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Elounda Garden Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elounda Garden Suites Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elounda Garden Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.