We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing place amazing people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elounda Heights Apartments and Studios

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Elounda Heights Apartments and Studios to your Saves list
Elounda Heights Apartments and Studios
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Street, Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hexham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“amazing place amazing people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

just returned from week of rest and relaxation, we went with family and met up with friends
We were so well looked after nothing was to much to trouble.
Already planning our return next year

Anyone planning on going will not be disappointed

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    35
    2
    4
    0
See reviews for
50
195
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I'm not going to write a long review. There's really no need. Elounda Heights is rated number 1 in the area, above all the 5 star complexes, and 99% of reviews rate it as excellent. Those facts speak for themselves and there really is nothing to say other than to echo the praise of previous guests. It was our 1st time at the property, yet we were treated like regulars. The care and attention that Vangelis and his team provide is probably better than you'll find at the most luxurious and expensive hotels around the world. They simply cannot do enough to make your stay enjoyable without being over the top or in your face. The weekly BBQ/Meze Nights are excellent and a great way to mingle with other guests. His Sunday boat trip is possibly the best excursion I have ever had the pleasure to be on. Add to this the cosy, clean and well kept studios, the beautiful pool area and the stunning views in every direction you look and it's easy to see why Elounda Heights is #1. The only negative... the hill! Yes, it's steep and yes it's hard work but there would be no amazing views across the bay without it! You can get a taxi from Elounda Square back up for 5 euros but my advice is to get your head down, think of an ice cold beer and a dip in the pool waiting for you and you'll have made it to the top in no time!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I always thought that if I found a gold mine I would keep it to myself and reap the rewards. Hence I have not reviewed this gem before. Conversely if I see bad comment I leap to it's defence. Therefore some general points. Beds? In the apartments they are wooden slated base with a firm matress. Studios have a concrete base with a similar mattress. Hard? I only know I have an excellent night's sleep and NO backache. 'Older English chatty people'.
I thought xenophobia was the preserve of the British but obviously not. Confusing friendliness perhaps? Where it is obvious that some guests prefer their privacy, at Elounda Heights this is always respected. The Meze night? Yes it can be noisy with the sound of laughter, which is always in abundance here. The music stops at around midnight, but as it clearly states on the website, the bar is open until 1am. Some lasting friendships have been made here with people from all over the world. In short - a great place to spend your holiday. Whoops! I've given my secret away!! - Dave W.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

It can be tricky revisiting somewhere that you have really enjoyed but we were not disappointed. Everything was as good as we had remembered and our grown up daughter visiting for the first time agreed. The apartment is comfortable even with an extra bed set up in the lounge. the views are stunning, well worth the struggle up the hill! Vangelis' food as always was fantastic. Our daughter went on the boat trip ( not for me - don't like boats!) and she had a wonderful time, if she had another weekend she would have gone again! Everyone works very hard to make your stay enjoyable. Thank you so much Vangelis, Ann, Natalie, Deborah and Christina.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Vangelis & Natalie are fabulous hosts - you will be made very welcome at Elounda Heights. The apartment was spacious, clean & well equipped. The beds are hard - but you'd hardly expect sprung mattresses in a self catering complex! The setting is tranquil with stunning views - from apartments, pool & restaurant. Great food is available on site - tasty, good value & well presented. Guests are mainly mature couples - a high proportion have visited on previous occasions. The approach is via a very steep hill & there are a number of steps on the complex - the less mobile would struggle. I travelled with very young children - it's very hard work to get around with a pushchair here. A car would be of use if you wish to visit sandy beaches - as Elounda's beaches are shingle. The 75 Euro airport taxi transfer - each way - makes hiring a car a good alternative option. Plenty of parking on complex. Air Conditioning is noisy BUT it is free. If you are a family with children in pushchairs then another property might be more suited - unless you are travelling without them! In which case, Elounda Heights would make a lovely child free (your own children of course) escape!?! The complex grounds are very well maintained - the setting is pretty. I spent some time at Elounda Residence too - the staff at this complex are friendly but it is a little frayed around the edges. Guests were a happy, international bunch which made for a nice atmosphere. Food & general maintenance of the complex isn't tip top but this may not be important to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I booked a last minute solo trip to Elounda Heights and am very glad that I did. The boutique aparthotel has a special atmosphere and a wonderful poolside garden with panoramic views over the Mirabello Bay....combined with Vangelis' cooking and a glass (or three) of vino there is really no need to leave your sunbed! I felt completely chilled out after 6 days. The location is perfect and only 5-10 minutes walk down the hill are the lively restaurants and bars in the village and Plaka is just a few miles walk/taxi. I had a great time and met some lovely people. The hospitality of Vangelis, Ann, Deborah and Natalia sets them apart and they, including the family rescue dogs and Toffee the cat, made me feel very welcome and completely at home. A real gem. I don't really want to share it ;-) Adell, Sevenoaks in Kent

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This was not a nice stay for us. The beds were hard, the airco noisy. The location is wonderfull and the appartement is nice. But is was so noisy. It was filled chatty english people. It is never quiet only early in the morning. Mezze night was awfull. Loud music and screaming people untill at least one. We slept with everything closed and the airco on. If you like to socialize with the other guests then this is the place for you. If you are looking for silence avoid this place.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elounda Heights Apartments and Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elounda Heights Apartments and Studios

Address: Main Street, Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
#2 Family Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Elounda Heights Apartments and Studios 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elounda Heights, owned by Vangelis and his English wife Ann, is a small boutique aparthotel with beautiful gardens complimented by Greek statues as this is the theme of the complex. All the apartments and studios are named after Greek gods and goddesses. It is truly an oasis and if you want to relax then this is the place for you. Great for honeymooners and couples just wanting a quiet restful holiday. Ideal for families wanting to unwind by the people while enjoying a fantastic view over the bay of Elounda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Elounda Heights Apartments and Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elounda Heights Apartments And Studios Hotel Elounda
Elounda Heights Apartments And Studios Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elounda Heights Apartments and Studios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.