We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My only regret coming to Crete is I didn't spend more time here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elounda Heights Apartments and Studios

Save Saved
You added Elounda Heights Apartments and Studios to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Elounda Heights Apartments and Studios
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Street, Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5 nights/1 free meal
Ranked #1 of 39 hotels in Elounda
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“My only regret coming to Crete is I didn't spend more time here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

My lady and I had three nights, three days to spend in Crete. We did one day in Heraklion, one the road out to Chania (stopping through Rethymnon), and the last was undecided. First two spots nice for sure, but wouldn't keep me from going somewhere else next time.

On a whim, I checked out a few suggestions and called up Elounda Heights and spoke with Ann, making a spur of the moment decision to stay the evening, flying back out to Germany the next day.

Upon arriving, I knew I should have spent more time there. The grounds are amazing, you are surrounded by olive trees and grape vines though out the space, on top of a hill overlooking the gulf. Epic! The couple who owns and runs Elounda Heights are the kind of people that still give you faith in humanity by being genuinely friendly, generous, and happy.

The value is incredible, I feel almost guilty. This is the kind of place hat brings visitors back year after year-

Room Tip: Specify sleeping arrangements in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    206
    29
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
45
148
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed at Elounda Heights the last week in July and the first week in August, apologies to Ann and Vangelis for just getting round to writing this review now! We had a fab holiday and can only agree with all the comments made by other guests. The atmosphere is so relaxing and you are really made to feel welcome. We did the bbq and meze nights, and also the boat trip and they were all so enjoyable.Our 2 teenagers rated this as one of their best holidays, Vangelis manages to connect with all age groups and our son says he is, in his own words, a "legend". Our apartment was spotless and we had a large terrace with beautiful views. Vangelis, Ann and of course Deborah all work very hard to make sure everyone has a great holiday. We will definitely be back.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We moved from a well-known five star hotel in Elounda to the Heights for the second week of our holiday. The two hotels have proven to be incomparable in terms of standards, completely turning the hotel starring system on it's head.

I could make this review incredibly long, just listing all the things that made this week and this hotel special. The moments of humour, welcome, great food (and drink!), views, trips, and some of the loveliest people we have shared a hotel with. All the ingredients were perfect. Ann (and her little train of three dogs and a cat!), Vangelis, and the rest of the hard working team all contribute to creating a quiet haven up above the town.

From a practical point of view, the rooms were large, clean and in good repair with spectacular balcony views. The rest of the hotel was spotless, with good wi-fi throughout all rooms and communal areas. The prices in the hotel for rooms and food are extremely reasonable. The food is fresh and home-made to better than restaurant standard, Vangelis is constantly experimenting and offering samples of delicious new concoctions. As hosts, Vangelis, Ann and Deborah could do nothing more for us, and nothing was any trouble.

It is important to understand that this hotel is perfect for a certain type of guest. The pool area is generally quiet, and the overall environment respectful of people's privacy and space, with no ball games or splashing around. There are also no tv's in the rooms if this is important to you, although this was a good thing for us. You can get as involved with other guests and the staff as you like, but the focus is on unwinding and relaxing. We would recommend it for independent couples looking for a base to immerse yourselves in books, or to explore the nearby towns and scenery, the consensus here is everything in moderation. It won't suit people looking for a place that has an organised entertainment program or that want to party and drink excessively. Other than, food, drink and conversation, you need to provide everything else yourself, which for us and the other guests we shared the hotel with, was perfect.

We have some trepidation about reviewing this hotel as we don't want people to book it simply because it is number one ranked in Elounda, without really understanding what the hotel offers and the type of traveller it is suited to. However for us personally, it was the most relaxing and fun week we have ever spent, anywhere. We were very sad to leave. One example that sums the hotel up was when we were waiting for our taxi to leave, and saying goodbye to all the other guests, prior to them having dinner in the evening. Vangelis overheard us saying that our flight was going to be delayed, and knowing we could have a long and hungry wait at the airport, and without breaking stride in his dinner service preparations, he promptly provided us with two delicious, home-made, heart shaped burgers to help us on our way. This is one of a number of small things that add up to make this place amazing.

We are already arranging our return visit in April/May and have booked to have our wedding there next September, we simply cannot wait to go back.

Room Tip: We had Artemis. All rooms are good, and are designed with care and forethought, with each room havi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Without doubts this is the most chilled out location for a visit to Crete. Vangelis does whatever is necessary to make your stay perfect, and that includes his cooking! The boat trip is amuse, as is the BBQ and the Meze evening, but always beware the Raki!

Room Tip: All rooms are good, and once you have been once then you can choose your room for next time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
russia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Vangelis said that we are first russians here,-but we fell like a part of the family.Vangelis is everything-a chief ,an owner,barmen ,and tomorrow we are going to the boattrip with him.But mainly-he is a very positive and openheart person who love his job very much!Our room is big,clean, welldesigned and have a breathtaking view to the Mirabello Bay.The food is really delisious and the atmosfear in the restran is romantik.This is our best trip ever!

Room Tip: ask for the seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We arrived in the evening later than we anticipated. Nevertheless even though it was 11pm and the mountain was on fire blazing away not so far away, Vangelis offered us dinner and drinks which were so welcome. Next morning the views from the patio were wonderful overlooking the pool and over the bays of Elounda. Breakfast cooked to order and such a friendly welcome was all we needed to get straight into our holiday. The pool is perfectly clean, the hotel run so smoothly by Anne, Vangelis and their team and yet everything is so relaxed.
On first meeting the other guests we thought it might be a bit British 'ex-pat' as there seems to be a bit of a competition as to who has stayed the most times! But really everyone was friendly without being too much and we had a real laugh on the boat trip that Vangelis organises. Average age of guests probably around 50 with pool lovely and quiet, so probably not suitable for children or for those not quite so fit because of drag up the steep hill. There are so many places to go around the world, but for once I think we may break our golden rule and return.

Room Tip: Studio room has single and 3/4 bed so not suitable for 3 really.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Tranquil, intimate location. Cosy Cretian studios - spotless. Well-stocked. Great food in the restaurant, particularly the weekly tapas night. We ate nearly every night! Best of all, the owners and staff. We felt like Part of the family within hours.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Elounda Heights Apartments and Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elounda Heights Apartments and Studios

Address: Main Street, Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Lassithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
#2 Family Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Elounda Heights Apartments and Studios 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elounda Heights, owned by Vangelis and his English wife Ann, is a small boutique aparthotel with beautiful gardens complimented by Greek statues as this is the theme of the complex. All the apartments and studios are named after Greek gods and goddesses. It is truly an oasis and if you want to relax then this is the place for you. Great for honeymooners and couples just wanting a quiet restful holiday. Ideal for families wanting to unwind by the people while enjoying a fantastic view over the bay of Elounda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Elounda Heights Apartments and Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elounda Heights Apartments And Studios Hotel Elounda
Elounda Heights Apartments And Studios Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elounda Heights Apartments and Studios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.