We just returned from an 8 day holiday at Elounda Peninsula. After 8 days, I think we know the place pretty well. Great location, pleasant architecture, large well equipped rooms, sandy beach (as opposed to rocks), decent quality food throughout (including the buffet dinners, which is not easy to pull off), and plenty of friendly staff members.
However, the place has a serious management deficiency. We had several issues during our stay. The worst was ants in our master bedroom AND IN THE BED. We complained and of course they could not move us to another room unless we took a smaller, lesser quality accommodation. ("We're fully booked") Instead, the exterminator sprayed the room the next day.
We complained that the private pool was not well maintained. (rusty, ugly grout that should have been fixed before the season started) We complained that the property web site photos showed cool relaxing hammocks above the private pools. ("sorry, we don't use them anymore") We complained that adults were not allowed to be in the children's pool to catch or reassure their kids who were coming down the water slide. ("sorry, new policy") Minor complaints included the fact that gym equipment did not function and water coolers and gym towels were allowed to run out without notice. You would think that after all this (and 6,000 euros later) the manager or General Manager would approach you and say "I am sorry you had some issues, is there something I could do to make this better"? Some token would have gone a very long way. Hotel management 101. However, Greece and Crete must be so desperate for every euro that the attitude is more like "we have you captive, we need every last euro, sure our web site is inaccurate, but we know you will never come back and we don't care"
I have heard people say that you shouldn't expect a 5 star hotel in Crete to be like a 5 star hotel elsewhere. I don't accept that and find it a cultural insult. 5 star is 5 star no matter where it is.
To the General Manager of Elounda Peninsula, you need to earn your 5 stars. Right now, you are not and you are not being true to your guests. Correct the web site, be honest and transparent. Some people only get a few days a year holiday and need to know that you are not
prepared to meet their expectations. Right now, Elounda Peninsula is not worth the money.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Report response as inappropriate
On behalf of the entire staff of the Elounda Peninsula All Suite Hotel I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our property. I would also like to thank you for your very positive comments regarding the location, the architecture, the suites, the private sandy beach, the service and the food of the hotel. All the above have established the Elounda Peninsula as one of the best hotels in Greece with a huge number of repeat clients and awards.
Regarding your three main remarks please note the following: On Monday the 26th of July you communicated to us that there were ants in your bedroom. The general manager of the hotel contacted you and within 30 minutes, and not the following day as you state, the exterminator sprayed the room. As housekeeping explained, since you had left uncovered food in your bedroom it was inevitable that ants would be attracted to it. Taking the opportunity we would like to point out that food should not be left uncovered as we are located in a natural environment.
Regarding your comment about the water slides, as the Elounda Peninsula manager explained this additional measure was taken in response to the safety hazard being caused by too many adults mixing with kids in the water slide pool, making it impossible to ensure a safe environment.
Finally we were very much surprised by your comment that the images of the hammocks at our official website are not accurate! As we explained the suite you were staying at could not have a hammock because of the layout of the pool but we did show you another suite with a hammock, exactly as the image on our website, and you declined to move.
We would like to thank you once again for your very positive comments and for giving us the chance to clear the air regarding your remarks.
Elias S. Kokotos
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.