We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very special” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palio Kantouni

Palio Kantouni
N. Foka 0 | Mavrikiano - Elounda, Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece
+30 2841 042206
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 92 Restaurants in Elounda
Price range: $7 - $17
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Unique and very special. We were welcomed as very dear friends would be. We were privileged to join Marinos and his family for dinner. Lovely food, amazing view, fantastic ambience and terrific hostmanship. Overall the best meal experience we had in 9 day holiday in Crete; so good we went twice.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    6
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We had 3 fantastic meals here during our stay in Elounda. Marinos is a fantastic host and Maria's food is fabulous and so inexpensive. It is like dining at a friends house! The food is fresh and home cooked. The views are stunning. The steep climb is well worth it and makes you feel less guilty about over indulging as you have earned it. Booking is advised as he gets very busy.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Kantouni. Now. Palio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Take the road up to Mavrikiano from the Despina end. And this fantastic little restaurant is just up the hill on the right hand side.
Family run again this is a delightful place. Small but perfectly balanced menu that you don't get to see until you have tasted four free Meze !
The Saganaki and Spicy Feta starters were perfect followed by a spicy/Herby pork dish that proved to be the best meal we had in Elounda this visit ( we have been coming for 16 years)
The house wine was delicious and surprisingly strong !
Then the Free sweet arrived along with a carafe of Raki....
I was in heaven !
The entertainment was made by the aerial display put on by the local Bats :)
All in all .... Simply the Best evening we had this visit to Elounda
We will definitely go back
But get there by 8pm. Or you may struggle to get a table...

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“beautiful view, amazing food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

Booked to eat here last Saturday (12/7/14) after walking past the day before. From the minute we walked in we were made to feel so special and were treated to the nicest greek food we have yet had. The evening was made even more special by the spectacular view of the moon rising from the mountains. We spent a wonderful evening in the company of this lovely family (and copious amounts of raki) and hope so much that we can return again one day.
In summary, if you want fast food go and get a gyros in town. If you want the true experience of traditional local hospitality then this is a must!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth Devon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Absolutely Brilliant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This Taverna is an absolute gem, although you have to walk up a very steep hill to get to it, its worth it, there are only a few tables, so booking is really essential, as its becoming very popular.
The menu is not huge, but what you get is fabulous freshly cooked food, with grilled meats, fish and vegetables, i loved the fried courgettes, and the pork was delicious. you are offered bread and small meze dishes to eat while you are waiting for your meal.
The only downside is that its not somewhere to go if you are in a hurry, as the service can take quite a while, but if you come to Elounda and Kantouni, you are here to relax and enjoy the wonderful food and surroundings.
Roll on next years holiday!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palio Kantouni also viewed

Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
 
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
 

Been to Palio Kantouni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palio Kantouni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.