We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantica!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Despina Taverna

Despina Taverna
Mavrikiano | Akti Poseidonos, Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece
+30 2841 041350
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 87 restaurants in Elounda
Price range: $10 - $34
Cuisines: Barbecue, Greek, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: On road to plaka, 100metres from main beach
Burton on Trent
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Romantica!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We love this restuarant and looked forward to visiting it on our last trip to Elounda.

The restaurant is located on the Plaka road by the Marikavo turn sign, a little out of town but well worth the walk.

Unfortunately, as we had not booked, all the front seats were taken and we sat at the back to order. The staff here are always very friendly and efficient and although we had already ordered, a cheeky request when a couple left ment that we had a prime view of the full moon over the bay, fantastic and thank you.

The food here is primarily Greek but is of an excellent standard with generous portions representing good value for money. We love the charcoal cooked mixed grills and the wonderful garlic toasted bread especially.

Nice clean toilets.

Strongly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    77
    14
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great food, great service and great view.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Our friends from London recommended this restaurant and so we invited them to join us. It was our last night in Elounda. It was an exceptional evening. The view, the food and the service was exceptional. We started withe fried liver, fried bait fish and fried sardines. All of which were tasty. We shared ordered main courses and shared each dish. It was a good ending to our stay in Crete. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding food & location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We had dinner there and it was delicious. Unbelievable view, very romantic. 5 of us chose a variety of starters and main dishes. Had fried white bait fish and grilled sardines, yummy! Lamb chops were great cooked on grill. Would not hesitate to go back again. Everything was fresh.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“superb food and views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Ate here twice in our weeks stay in Elounda. Lovely restaurant just outside of the harbour square and slightly cheaper too. We were waited on hand and foot, we were given complementary starters and deserts on both evening and also a birthday desert as I was celebrating my birthday. All the meals we had were delicious and very reasonable about 8-9 euros and only 4 euros for half a carafe of wine. The restaurant overlooks the pretty harbour so we had stunning views. A big thank you to George and all the other staff for lovely meals and service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Fabulous food with stunning scenery.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Fabulous freshly cooked local dishes cooked to perfection. Very friendly & attentative staff perfect in every way.
The stunning scenery was the icing on the cake. Will definitely return and recommend.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Despina Taverna also viewed

Elounda, Lassithi Prefecture
Elounda, Lassithi Prefecture
 
Elounda, Lassithi Prefecture
Elounda, Lassithi Prefecture
 

Been to Despina Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Despina Taverna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.