We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food for an excellent price...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Despina Taverna

Despina Taverna
Mavrikiano | Akti Poseidonos, Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece
+30 2841 041350
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 92 Restaurants in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $28
Cuisines: Seafood, Barbecue, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: On road to plaka, 100metres from main beach
Nantes, France
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent food for an excellent price...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We found this restaurant en route to Plaka and decided to try it out. The location is just off of the main port of Elounda so the atmosphere was a lot more relaxed.
We ordered the fried 'saganaki' for starter, the portion was enough for two to share combined with the usual free bread and in this case garlic butter too. Main meals were both delicious and full of flavour.
Although this is obviously a tourist town, the restaurant had very much a family feel about it.
Our dinner of saganaki, bread, chicken and rice, prawns in feta and tomato with half a carafe of rose (and our free dessert of chocolate cake) came to an extremely reasonable price of 29€....an absolute bargain for the quality of food!
Would recommend this place to anyone visiting Elounda!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    29
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We have been visiting Elounda for 10 years. When Despina re opened we had to visit as we had heard such great reviews. We have never been disappointed. The food is fabulous, traditional Greek cuisine and very reasonable prices. You may have to wait for your food, but this is fine. It is usually really busy and the locals eat there also, this speaks volumes. The views from the restaurant are outstanding, so you don't mind waiting over a drink and complementary bread and dips. Grilled food is usually cooked outside on the open grill, you can see the kitchens and it is spotless. I have been told that these are original grills from when they opened over 20 years ago and they kept on top of them and cleaned even when it was closed. I have no recommendations as all the food is great. We have now eaten there many times. Its great watching your grilled food being prepared on the open grills outside. A personal message to Doni and Penelope. (Owners parents) Manos and George are a credit to you. They are lovely lads and I'm so glad they are doing so well at the restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Some nights it's great, other times it's poor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I used to go to the Despina a long time ago before it originally closed down. That's why when I saw it was back open again we gave it a try.
The first night's meal we had a mixed grill for 2. You get complimentary grilled warm bread as well as a range of dips to choose from. The first problem was the waiting time. We were waiting at least 45 mins before our food arrived but we thought it was ok as the restaurant was very busy. That tasted delicious and I cannot fault that.
The second meal we had two chicken souvlaki's. Once again we got free bread and a selection of dips including potato salad. The portion for the souvlaki it'self was small as there was only one chicken kebab and a handful of potatoes.
The third (and last time) we went I had the spaghetti Bolognese and my partner had chicken souvlaki again. I was highly disappointed with the waiting times again as we waited at least 45 mins again for our food and the restaurant wasn't even busy. The thing that upset me the most about the food this time was that I only had about a spoonful of mince on my spaghetti and I really am not joking. The table next to us ordered 3 lots of spaghetti so it was like I just got the remains of sauce which was left over from their meal. We asked for the bill 3 times and didn't receive it so in the end we just had to get up from our table and say "look, we've asked 3 times for the bill can't we have it?" to which they just looked blankly at us!
The food is mostly good but the service is terrible!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Amazing views and good traditional food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

We stay just down the road, but for some reason always tend to head into town. Someone recommended this restaurant to us so we gave it a try and are glad we did.

Firstly, the views are fabulous since they are set up in the hillside, so get there whilst it's still light to make the most of it.

The service was quick and pleasant and the food was lovely. The lamb kleftiko was big chunks of tender lamb that fell of the bone and was very tasty. We had a selection of starters too and these were all around 4 euro, so I think this would be a great place to come for meze and just pick out lots of traditional Greek flavours.

We will definitely visit again - great food, great views and excellent value for money!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottinghamshire
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Lovely fresh food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

We have eaten here twice as food is lovely always very fresh and tasty. The fried zuchinnis are lovely and crispy and the lamb chops with salad were fab. Lets not forget the home made chips. Keep up the good work you all do a fab job.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Despina Taverna also viewed

Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
 
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
 

Been to Despina Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Despina Taverna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.