We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kaaren's

Kaaren's
47 Akti Poseidonos, Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece
2841041709
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 91 Restaurants in Elounda
Price range: $4 - $19
Cuisines: Contemporary, British, Café, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Delivery
Description: Kaaren's is a new and vibrant snack bar. Situated opposite the main beach, offering traditional English breakfasts, snacks, light lunches & early evening meals, with a unique, bistro style specials board, all home made by us. We also offer a wide selection of coffees, teas, soft drinks, milkshakes, ice cream sodas, cakes and crepes.Our position makes us an ideal meeting place for early evening drinks & cocktails.
newcastle
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A must visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014

We have been to Elounda on numerous occasions but have only recently found the delights of this lovely place.
Kaaren and Tim are the perfect hosts and will ensure that all of your food requests are catered for in a friendly, professional and timely manner.
Well-positioned beside the municipal beach in Elounda, Kaarens offers everything the hungry holidaymaker may require. All excellently cooked by the talented Tim!!
Special mention must be made of the delicious choices that are available on the "Specials Board".
Next time you visit this beautiful village you must pay this place a visit. I can assure you that you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    19
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
1 review
“Kaaren's Bar Elounda”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

A late review - we have visited Kaaren's for the past couple of years just wanted to say how much we enjoyed our meals at Kaarens. Kaaren herself was warm & welcoming, the decor is fresh & eclectic. The food was delicious & the menu had some modern with british and greek classics with twists. Nothing is too much for Kaaren. She even made us a take away for our flight home saving us pennies and buying junk food. See you next year guys xx

  • Visited September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle and Gateshead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Kaarens Bar Elounda”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

I happened upon this little gem of a place whilst visiting friends in Elounda.
Out for a walk and feeling a bit hungry I wandered in here for some food. I ordered a local lemon drink and one of Tim's homemade burgers. Fantastic, huge burget with a large pile of homemade chips. I decided to stay a whilst and sample a bottle of mythos, this would soon be known as "mythos o clock". Kaaren the owner, along with her husband Tim, kindly came over to chat with us and gave us a sample of her homemade Limoncello Raki to try. She proceeded to tell us about their home made sausages and yorkshire puddings, more on those in a bit. She mentioned they had a Thai Mezze night coming up the following week so myself and my friend decided to book in. As it was out out of the season and most of the village was on winter hours, I found this a great place to hang out and meet some of the local ex-pats.
We decided after seeing Tims Extraordinary yorkshire puddings to book in for the Sunday lunch. Best Sunday Lunch ive ever sampled by far! Chicken,stuffing,Tims Extraordinary yorkie, did I say they do the most massive yorkshire puddings (you can buy these to take home), a big bowl of crunchy yorkies, and some delicious cauliflower cheese and a bowl of garlicky,bacony red cabbage. Afterwards Kaaren tempted me into trying her plum crumble. It was divine. As mentioned earlier we went to their Thai Mezze night, they run these for a few weeks out of the sason, so if you can catch one they are well worth it. 7 courses for 8 euros was a bargain. We had a great night with some locals we know eating and drinking and of course this involved mythos time. Kaaren and Tim are splendid hosts and nothing is an effort for them. Thanks for your great hospitality and cant wait until I return for Mythos Time!

  • Visited November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
megeve
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Smiles, sumptuous surroundings & sun at Kaarens!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014 via mobile

A late review - but having had a fun week recently in Elounda I wanted to say how much we enjoyed our meals at Kaarens.
Kaaren herself was warm & welcoming, the decor is fresh & eclectic. The food was delicious & the menu had some modern twists on classic dishes.

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Good coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014 via mobile

Stopped off for coffee twice. Offered either instant or filter. Good filter coffee on both occasions. My son had freshly squeezed orange juice. Nice beach style restaurant slightly off the main drag in Elounda. British feel without football - playing BBC Radio 2 in the background. People having English style breakfast near us.

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaaren's also viewed

Elounda, Lassithi Prefecture
Elounda, Lassithi Prefecture
 
Elounda, Lassithi Prefecture
Elounda, Lassithi Prefecture
 

Been to Kaaren's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaaren's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.