We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mon Tyler "Best place for daytime food"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kaaren's

Kaaren's
47 Akti Poseidonos, Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece
2841041709
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 92 Restaurants in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $4 - $19
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, British, Contemporary, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Kaaren's is a new and vibrant snack bar. Situated opposite the main beach, offering traditional English breakfasts, snacks, light lunches & early evening meals, with a unique, bistro style specials board, all home made by us. We also offer a wide selection of coffees, teas, soft drinks, milkshakes, ice cream sodas, cakes and crepes.Our position makes us an ideal meeting place for early evening drinks & cocktails.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Mon Tyler "Best place for daytime food"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

I visited Kaarens several times during my stay, the cool décor is inviting and Kaaren a welcoming host .Tim's cooking is second to none with a wide range of home made top notch food! Open from 9 its a must for breakfast too, situated across the road from the beach, their takeaway option is useful. Its a great place to chill and people watch after lunch. Tim even made me sandwiches for my trip home!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    19
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Really British Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

If you miss typically British breakfast and UK Natives, it is perfect place for you! Karen, who is the owner, is very nice and friendly. Closed in the afternoon.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great for lunch.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

We ate here for lunch a few times during our stay in Elounda when we weren't spending a day by our pool. Kaaren's is situated right across from the beach with light and airy decor. Kaaren is a friendly host without being in your face. I had the greek salad twice and a superb chicken wrap on another visit. One of my daughter's had a chicken and bacon wrap on each visit, as she thought they 'were the best chicken wraps ever'. We also had burgers and omelettes and I mustn't forget to mention Kaaren's hand cut chips with skins on! All the food is freshly prepared and really tasty. Kaaren remembered my other daughter leaving all the tomatoes in her salad and so didn't put them in her burger on a subsequent visit! We were surprised that it didn't get more trade, as it ticks all the boxes for lunch. Hope you have a great remainder of the season. We said hello to Manchester for you!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A family favourite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Kaaren's was our preferred destination for lunch when we were spending the day in Elounda. Located just across the road from the beach, nice decor, mouth watering menu and specials board, we loved it. As a family of four with two picky teenagers, that's quite a challenge, though the free wifi helped! The menu was predominately English, but more posh gastropub than greasy spoon - Kaaren's is not trying to be a Greek taverna. We also got some great restaurant recommendations from Kaaren. She was always friendly, chatty and ready with advice on the local area. Would definitely recommend!!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“FRIENDLY PEOPLE AND GREAT FOOD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Cant praise enough Kaaren and Tim for making our holiday a little special with Wonderful Food (Tim really is a great Talent ) and Warm friendly Kaaren full of local knowledge....Thank you and best of luck for the Season.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaaren's also viewed

Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
 
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
 

Been to Kaaren's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaaren's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.