We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing summer holiday relax...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manos Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Manos Apartments to your Saves list
Manos Apartments
Elounda, 72053, Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing summer holiday relax...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

Thanks to all Manos staff for contributing towards a fantastic holiday, to Steve for keeping an immaculate pool, ace pizza recommend and sightseeing / restaurant ideas, Leo for keeping a well stocked bar, Lorraine & Co. for keeping our apartment immaculate with fresh towel supplies every other day, loo roll well stocked and for sightseeing recommends (and for laughs) and to the owners for a hidden gem of a place, with a great Greek night!! My partner and I felt very relaxed and comfortable staying for 2 weeks, would recommend to all and definitely be visiting again in the future.
Thanks guys, love Andy and Lee xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    49
    20
    7
    2
See reviews for
69
124
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

We have just got back from our very enjoyable, relaxing family holiday to Elounda - staying at the Manos Apartments. I have wanted to visit this area for a few years now, after reading 'The Island'.
The 2 bedroom apartment we had ( ap 1) was lovely and big, with a large balcony over looking the beach and plenty of room, we even had a bath.....a first for us in Greece!! Although basic, with not much in the way of cooking untensils ( we have come to expect this in Greece) it was clean.
Air con was an extra 50 euros a week, which we had to pay as it was so hot.
Elounda is a lovely place to stay for families or couples. The harbour is main focal point of the town and is a great place to stroll during a warm evening. We loved it and will eventually return.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwickshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

Great location next to the sea and only minutes away from bars and restaurants. Pool bar has a good selection of food and drink. Bar staff friendly but don't mention the greeks driving as this causes offence (we hired a car, very scarey!). Our room was adequate and comfortable with two balconies, both had lovely views of surrounding countryside.
Elounda has lots of good restaurants, favourites include Ariadne (In the main street of the square, great Calzone and Stefado) Paradosiako (reasonable price, good fish) Vritomartis (More expensive but excellent seafood and setting by the sea) and Babel bar make excellent coffees which is very hard to find in Greece (the Greeks seem to think British tourists all want Nescafe!).
The Happy Train is a worthwhile excursion into the hills to try out the local Raki. Karen the guide is very helpful she also does great job helping neglated dogs and cats in Crete. If you a bit Greeked out there is a nice family run English pub up from the square called The Peacock all very friendly and cheap prices.
Elounda is a nice resort with lovely walks we were thoroughly relaxed after or holiday.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

Well what a stay at the manos apt we stayed in may 2010 the rooms are great very clean the cleaners larraine and carolynne are the best keeping the apt very clean and tidy also you could ask them for advice on eating out and places to visit nothing was to much trouble well done girls the pool area was very clean and tidy with lots of sun beds the bar staff were very good as was the beer and food they served well done .the Manos is well located just a short walk into town were ther are lots of bars and places to eat we will go back to the Manos again we have just booked up for next year carnt wait to get back. Keith /Silvya Mountford

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

Me and my partner went to Manos apartments from the 8th july for 2 weeks. The location is absolutely brilliant and the beach is only across the road. The food at the bar is reasonable, 2 euros 50 cents for chips, 5 euros for breakfast, and they are good portions. The rooms are very clean, get cleaned at least 3 times a week, with fresh towels and sheets. The air conditioning is a bit expensive at 50 euros a week but you do need it because the rooms get a little stuffy and you can't leave your windows open because there are lizards! Also, if you are going away for a week or a fortnight, i would recommend going a week earlier than we did because it can be a little noisy on a morning!
All in all a great place, even if Crete at the moment is expensive! Good value for money!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

Recently went to manos with friends and loved every minute!
It was cheap, had everything you needed and location was just right.

We were a small group of 7 friends who were celebrating end of A levels and got asked why a young group like us wasn't staying in the drinking resorts of Malia. Well the answer: We don't want that. Were more of the relaxed, sit down at pub/restaurant and talk kind of people.

Apartments: Basic but very clean. Had everything you need and beds were comfy. Shower towels and linen provided but bring an extra towel per apartment to put down on the floor in the shower! Although I'm sure if you ask they'll provide you with an extra one.
Shower is small but manageable.

Pool and Pool Bar: Although Pool is small compared to other hotels its bigger than it looks in pictures. Just right. Coomfy sunbeds and good atmosphere amongst guests.
Pool bar is great and cheap. the food is great and offers everything you need. Didn't try the full english myself but I heard its the best in Elounda!

Entertainment and staff: Excellent. The Pool Bar at night offers great music courtesy of Leo the barman. Good music throughout the day. They put the World cup final on the wide screen for everyone to watch much to the pleasure of fans who didn't have to go far to watch! I'm sure if there was a match that you really wanted to see they would set it up otherwise plenty of other bars show Uk sports. I highly recommend you attend the Greek night! Food was great and the entertainment was fab!
Staff were helpful. Leo was a great bit of fun. The man and woman (Didn't get their names) who tended the bar in the day were very helpful and nice too! Also the cook was lovely too and her food was beautiful! Cleaners who were I believe Irish were very nice and even cleaned dishes we hadn't managed to wash yet! Thank you!

Elounda and Location: Beautiful. Manos is right next to the beach and only a 5 minute walk to the center. Plenty of restaurants and gift shops along the road to the center. Didn't manage to get further than this but I've heard there are even more great bars further up the road to Agios Nikolas. Plenty of Supermarkets around Elounda. We often went to the one to the left of Manos as you leave. The owners were very nice and often gave us free lollies and small bottles of oozo! Bars were perfect for us and there were plenty of restaurants and bars that catered for everyone. Also heard there was a beach party the day after we left! So if your young try and book so you can attend it because it sounds lots of fun!

Thomson: Our Thomson rep Rob was very helpful. He gave a Welcome meeting the morning after we arrived (I recommend you attend this) and also booked our trip to Spinalonga for us via thomson. There was board listing handy details and his visiting times should you need to talk to him. Flights were great and although it was a bit manic finding our coach transer (lots of people) there were plenty of reps to help.

Highly recommend the trip to Spinalonga. We did the trip with Thomson but there are plenty of other boats around the harbour that do trips. The tour guide was very helpful and you could tell he really understood the islands history. The boat trip was good and the bbq they cooked while we swam in the sea was very good. Although they advertise that the boat stops at a small secluded beach, the beach is indeed small but very crowded! We didn't bother going to the beach and just spent the time jumping of the boat into the sea and swimming with the fish!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

We stayed at the Manos in May and liked it so much that we're going back in August. All the staff were very friendly and helpful and went out of their way to help if there was a problem. The appartment was clean and comfortable. Cooking equipment was adequate for our needs and included an electric kettle and toaster. ( we didn't have a bottle opener, so bring your own)
The situation is ideal with lovely sea views from the bar area and a beach opposite. There is a slope up to the appartments but Al managed OK even though he walks with a stick. It is a short walk into town and there are several tavernas and 2 shops a few yards from the appartments. We particularly liked the Anemomylos. Try their rabbit!
All in all we had a great time and are looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manos Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manos Apartments

Address: Elounda, 72053, Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lassithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Elounda
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Manos Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manos Apartments Hotel Elounda
Manos Apartments Elounda, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manos Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.