We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Manos Apartments - Loved every minute” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manos Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Manos Apartments to your Saves list
Manos Apartments
Elounda, 72053, Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hertfordshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Manos Apartments - Loved every minute”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2007

We booked our 2007 holiday at the last minute and and had never been to Crete before, so had no idea what Elounda was like.
I will not bore people with the journey from the UK, but it was horrific.
The transfer from the airport to Elounda was longer than we had hoped, and after dropping other guests off at their hotels/apartments it was great to actually arrive at ours.
It was 6.30 in the morning and the sun was just appearing over the mountains, after finding our apartment we slept soundly till our alarm went of to remind one of us to see our Rep at Midday.
The Rep was helpful and as we neither want any excursions or hire cars, I took our reception pack back to the apartment.
We had with us our Youngest 2 children 17 and 15yrs.
We first found the local shop, which luckily was just within walking distance, so water and other necessary items were purchased.
The Day bar staff we found not only helpful but polite and eager to assist us.
We spent all our days by the pool as the local beach - just over the road was not up to much.
Our evenings were spent trying out new tavernas every night, ending up back at our Pool bar, run by Ian, again we found him helpful with local information.
The Apartment had two bedrooms and a very small cooking area.
We found this to be more than adequate as we didn't want to spend our time inside.
Lorraine and Caroline were more than helpful, especially with the Aircon and extended booking time to change before we came home. They were also the apartment cleaners - bed linen etc.
Could not fault them in any repsect.
The pool area I note has been described as small, well if it was any bigger on that site you would have nowhere to sit.
The pool was great and was cleaned every night, and we witnessed the power washing of the whole area including all the sun beds - well done.
Would we becoming again - yes in fact my wife booked for two weeks the day we arrived back in the UK
Complaints about children - I've read some on this site and well it was August and bang slap in the middle of the School summer holidays, and if you don't like children then find a holiday hotel/apartment that has adults only ( obviously making sure you don't go to the wrong type of adult hotel/apartment!!!!!!!)
Yes child dive and dive bomb in the water, but they are on holiday just as every one else is, we had to speak to some of them and once that had been done they understood our holiday ideas as well as theirs.
Would I recommend the Manos apartments.....Yes and as I had taken some calling cards I've been handing them out to people I know would enjoy this most beautifuly located set of apartments.

  • Liked — The ability to do what we wanted to do, and get geneorous help from the satff
  • Disliked — The length of time it took to get there from the airport
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    50
    20
    7
    2
See reviews for
69
125
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2007

We have just returned from the Manos Apartments and they were in a perfect location, nice swimming pool and just across the road from the beach and a short walk into the town. They were not too busy and there was always space to sit on a lounger by the pool and relax. The pool is all one depth which was not a problem and it is large enough to cool down in.

The bar staff were always pleasant and helpful. However, the manageress was not always helpful and was quite abrasive at times and be prepared to buy your own toilet rolls as they were not replenished and the toilet bins were not emptied every day which is not very hygienic in such a hot climate - where we have stayed elsewhere in Greece the bins have been emptied daily and sometimes twice daily. The apartments were not cleaned every day either which is not really acceptable. Bedlinen was only changed once when we were there and I do feel it should have been changed at least one more time due to the fact that when we were there the daily temperatures were quite high and eveywhere else I have stayed in the Med the bedlinen has been changed at least three times weekly as a minimum requirement. Otherwise the apartments were basic but comfortable.

Elounda is a pleasant town with a nice atmosphere with a good choice of restaurants. The local bus service is very good and efficient and we went into Agios Nikolas which only cost 2euros60cents return and the bus also goes to Plaka which we went to as well which is worth a visit. It is also worthwhile taking a boat trip to Spinalonga which we all enjoyed. We also went for a walk up into the hills to the village above Elounda and further on to Pinos which was very interesting and beautiful views from that high up - bit of a climb and on a hot day need lots of water to drink but worthwhile as well.

Overall we had a good time but one gripe is the airport on departure, must be one of the worst airports I have have ever left from - be prepared to wait ouside for ages on the tarmac and then only be let into the departure hall in dribs and drabs and once in there it is chaos and a mad rush to get to board the plane - no time at all to go to the duty free or have refreshments but luckily we had been forewarned and had taken plenty of bottles of water. I believe they are building a new airport which is desperately needed. Luckily we were on a night flight as it must be unbearable to have to wait outside in queues in the hot sun.

  • Liked — Proximity to beach and town
  • Disliked — The fact that it was not cleaned and bins emptied daily
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2007

Have just come back from Manos Apartments, Crete, and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

However, a couple of things should be noted if you want to go there:

The pool is wonderful. It is the same depth from one end to the other but it is not large enough. You are allowed to take inflatables into the pool so if you just like to swim, be prepared to be knocked about by the lilo beds and rings, not to mention an odd inflatable dinghy!!

The steps to the toilets leading opposite the bar area are VERY slippery. Polished marble, no grips and no banister to hold onto. I made the fatal mistake of popping to the loo with nothing on my feet after a dip in the pool and landed on my rear end and was hobbling painfully for the remainder of my holiday. Unsure of your footing? Always wear your shoes. However the toilet was immaculate and well maintained.

Also, the rooms are cleaned five times a week and you have to endure the Greek system of not flushing loo paper away but once you have run out of paper you have to buy your own. Change the sheets and towels but they don't replenish the loo roll!!

The rooms were clean but air conditioning is quite expensive. We tried to do without but given the heat that Greece experiences these days, you might want to take lots of extra euros. I have never paid for air conditioning before.

If you are unfortunate to be collected very late on your last day, checkout is still at 11am but you can keep your room for an extra few hours - but this again can be expensive.

Apart from all that the outlook to the sea from the apartments is amazing. You are practically right on the beach and to watch the beautiful white boats sail past to Spinalonga was a joy. I will really miss it.

The people who work in Manos apartments are very friendly and accommodating. The barman will stay up as late as you do!

I would go there again. The apartments are not far from the town, tavernas and the harbour so lots to do. Go and enjoy!

  • Liked — The setting
  • Disliked — Pool a bit small, inflatables a nuisance
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2007

I have just stayed at Manos aparments and they were great. Very clean and next to the beach. The 2 Scotttish girls who do the cleaning are friendly and very helpful.
The pool area can be noisy with children and as this was August the school holidays are on and this is only to be expected. We were told that during the months of May June Sept and Oct its mostly couples. We have already booked for next year.

  • Liked — clean
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2007

This was our second visit to Elounda, but our first stay at the Manos. We had previously stayed in a smaller, traditional complex which we loved but was unfortunately fully booked. We had walked past the Manos and noted that they looked nice enough and therefore booked our two week stay there.
To summarise, we were very disappointed, not by the location/cleanliness which were fine but these appartments lack any sort of charm or friendliness. We actually found the English staff quite abrasive, there was no "can do" approach, not that we wanted much, maybe just a friendly good morning or similar!! The pool area was packed with kids making a nuisance by diving in the water, screamimg etc..I'm not against children having fun but this was reminiscent of a mini Butlins.
The night barman Ian, seemed to go out of his way to prevent catching your eye, as a result we resented putting our money behind his bar so went next door to have a drink and friendly banter with the locals.
On the whole if you want a tacky, chavvy, home from home holiday choose the Manos - if you want some charm and authenticity go elsewhere.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The English Staff
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOLLAND/SCOTLAND
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2007

This is the complex you will always want to come back to if you love Elounda,, perfectly clean, & with a location close to the Village.
We have stayed here now for more than 6 years & are always made more than welcome by the staff,, in particular Larraine the Manager,, & Michaeles the Owner,,, they sure have worked hard over the years to make this one of the Best Accomodations in Elounda, with a superb Pool Bar & Good/ Food Snack Area,, We can never fault this place & thats why we come back every year,, The Weekly BBQ is superb & Greek Dancers appear from knowhere(be prepared to stay up a long time!) but well worth it indeed!! A stroll away from the main centre with excellent Tavernas & shops ( MAKRIS RESTAURANT/TAVERNA IS A MUST-SUPERB FOOD AT A GREAT PRICE)..
If you choose to stay here you will not be disappointed,,
We Love It!

Stayed May 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2007

We stayed at the Manos apartments the first week of July and had a fantastic time both at the apartments and the resort. Manos apartment were great value for money and gave us a very relaxing happy holiday.

The apartments
The apartments are split in to 3 separate blocks. The newest block which looked brand new is at the front of the property facing the pool bar and the road. This new block seems to block the majority of the “sea views “from the older blocks with only room no 2 appearing to have a true sea view.

We stayed in the block furthest away from the pool area. Our room (21) was very clean and much nicer and bigger than we had expected with a huge ground floor balcony / private patio area. It was very quite with views over the olive grows and surrounding hills.
The kitchen area had all the cutlery and crockery, glassware required with a small hot plate area a clean cold fridge.
The shower room was large and clean with a shower curtain and plenty of hot water always available.

The rooms were serviced each day during the week but not on the weekend. This meant that the toilet bin was not emptied for nearly 3 days. Which could cause a bit of “over flow” of paper if any more than 2 people are staying in the room. The two Scottish ladies’ which did the room cleaning were nice and polite but seemed to be a little over stressed.

All the blocks seem to have been recently decorated and to a good standard. All have aircon and safes available at an extra cost of 40E for the aircon and 10E for safe.

Pool and bar
The pool and pool area looked new and always very clean with plenty of sun beds and parasols available. The pool is great for cooling dip but can get busy due to its size. The pool is one depth with no shallow end.

The staff at the bar were very nice and friendly and genuinely pleased to see and serve you each day.
The bar snacks were of a good standard and price.

Location
Location was great with a pleasant 5 minute walk along the beech to the centre of the resort. The beech is right across the road from the apartments.

Tips
Go to Plaka on bus (2.4E return) lovely village and get boat to Spingalonga form Plaka. Less busy and leaves every 30 minutes.
Taxi to and from air port 60E each way but cuts down travel time by at least an hour.

  • Liked — the relaxing pool area
  • Disliked — no weekend room servicing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manos Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manos Apartments

Address: Elounda, 72053, Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Elounda
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Manos Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manos Apartments Hotel Elounda
Manos Apartments Elounda, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manos Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.