We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would go baack every year if poss” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alikes Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Alikes Apartments to your Saves list
Alikes Apartments
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Akti Oloundas, Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Elounda B&B and Inns
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Would go baack every year if poss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We just got back yesterday and i would love to recomend this to anyone

Poppy's breakfast - fab
Maria will do anything to help you
Jenny's welcoming and she never stops even with the little legs
Barbara and the other cleaners are in everyday to keep the standad high
They Gym was quiet with airco and well equipped
The pool is saltwater but very refreshing when its warm. There is a shower near the pool to rinse off.
Friendly Staff, great food and a great view!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    65
    25
    9
    1
See reviews for
54
194
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The Alikes is perfectly located slightly out of the town but close enough to be within easy walking distance of the town square and the few local shops.
The sea is only a few steps away (across the small seafront road)
The pool is not to everybodys taste as it is salt water (pumped in from across the road) but it is lovely and clean and obviously filtered as you would never know until you get in.
Maria, Poppy and Jenny are first class and always helpful and as others have said before nothing is too much trouble.
It was our first visit here but will certainly not be our last as it is so clean, tidy, well kept and well located.
Elounda is also such a lovely resort with many lovely restaurants so close by - we found it difficult to eat in a bad one over our two weeks !

Tip for budgeting - if you want A/C it's 50Euro a week per room, safe box is 35Euro, and if you need a late checkout this is doable till 1800 and is charged at 30Euro. - we knew in advance so had budgeted these costs into our holiday so no complaint.

Another tip to those who normally do a bit of self catering - We all know that you cannot cook on a self catering holiday but be advised you do not get a chopping board nor decent kitchen knife, so either pack them, by them or --- go next door to the Oasis for lovely homemade cake at lunchtime (why not you're on your hols after all !!)

Room Tip: Rooms 208 - 210 overlook the pool and have views of Spinalonga.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This was our first stay in Elounda. The hotel is in a perfect location. Just 0.5 miles (10mins) walk from the main square along the sea front. However if you don't want to walk that far, there are restaurants and quieter bars pretty much on the door step. You can't really go wrong with anywhere. We ate at a different place every night & it was all lovely. You have a choice of a couple of beaches. One (the main, and best in my opinion) being near the square, the second is 5 mins walk from Alikes. However we found it a little windy. The staff are lovely and will go out of their way to help you with anything. We spent most evenings chatting away to Jenny in the bar until early hours. The rooms have air con charged at €50 per week, and also a safe (which we didn't use) therefore not sure of the price. Spinalonga & Jeep Safari are well worth doing. We got the boat from the main square to Spinalonga for €10 pp/return. We decided to get the return boat to Plaka and walk back to Elounda (around 3.5miles). Just don't wear flip flops! Most people who were staying had stayed at Alikes before and it's easy to see why they return year after year. It's a gorgeous place with plenty to do. If you want to do anything but sunbathe that is. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallsend, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was our first stay at these apartments and they really are fantastic. We had an apartment (101) on the ground floor, doors opened straight onto the front lawn and the views were great. The apartment was very spacious and very clean - so good to have on any holiday! The staff were all extremely friendly and so helpful - nothing was too much and they always had a word and a smile. The apartments are in a great location - turn left and a ten minute walk takes you to the centre of Elounda - along the coast walk, you pass some excellent restaurants and turn right is a lovely walk to the peninsula. The grounds with its pool is ideal for those 'lazy' days and the sea if only yards away if you want a dip in the sea. Great apartments, great holiday!

Room Tip: Request 'sea view' rooms (we had apartment 101, our friends 102).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

As others have said, it is the staff that make this place so special.This is our third time at the Alikes and it was just as good this time as it was the other times.You really feel like you have had a holiday when you leave, which makes leaving a hard thing to do.Poppie, Maria, and Jenny really go out of their way to make your stay as relaxing as possible.Elounda is a beautiful place with plenty of places to eat and drink, our favourite being Mams house and the Eden bar.

Room Tip: Give Maria a call to see if you can choose the room you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Nicely located in Elounda, near the town centre and the sea, nice view but makes your time at Alykes special is the fantastic friendly staff. It's not a surprise that so many guests keep coming back, getting a warm welcome every time. Thank you so much to Maria, Popi and Jenny.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penarth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

My wife and I spent a week here in September 2012 and it was wonderful the views from the hotel were lovely. The apartments were very clean and quite spacious our apartment opened out onto the front lawn. The staff were very friendly and helpful all in all a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alikes Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alikes Apartments

Address: Akti Oloundas, Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lassithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alikes Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 2002, the Alikes Hotel Apartments are a family run business, offering a high standard accommodation in the beautiful resort of Elounda on the north coast of Crete. To ensure that you have an enjoyable and relaxing holiday the Alikes offers many facilities including a gym, sauna and hammam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Alikes Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alikes Apartments Elounda, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alikes Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.