We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, fantastic location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Akti Olous Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Akti Olous Hotel to your Saves list
Akti Olous Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Akti Oloundos Beach Road, Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Elounda
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, fantastic location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Still here at the moment, it's our last day tomorrow. It has been an absolute pleasure staying here. Friendly staff, cleanliness is second to none, wonderful breakfast, excellent food at the restaurant, fantastic location. If you are wanting to come to elounda next year then this is the place to stay.elounda is a gem of a lace. Love it!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    135
    41
    16
    7
See reviews for
37
225
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed in Akti Olous Hotel for 1 week. We had a wonderful welcome by Soula she was rly friendly and helpful. The breakfast was nice and every day different to choose! And couldn't start your day better when we see the happy smile of the receptionist in the morning (beglo) very helpful and always make you smile! It’s a family hotel and the owner (nikos) does a great job and every problem appears they manage to fix! We were b&b and we ate at the blue sea restaurant and the food was delicious! Elounda is a wonderful place to relax and enjoy your holydays next to the beach like in the movies!! We definitely come back to Akti Olous hotel next year as many people do!!

Room Tip: Everyone wants a sea view but the rooms in the back building are larger and and more quiet! so if th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Only been here a few hours. Love the place.
The staff are really friendly
The location is superb just yards away from the sea
The bar looks great and can not wait to eat in the Hotel restaurant
See you later with a full review. :)

Room Tip: Ask for Sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire Scotland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

This was our first time staying in a hotel in Elounda the breakfast was very good (according to my husband) Iam not a morning person so only made it once to breakfast. The room was a side sea view one quite a big balcony we didn't get the sun on it so the room kept cool, the room was spacious and had a small fridge and a kettle and mugs which was unusual for a B&B hotel. The rooms were cleaned every day and the sheets and towels about every 3rd day the whole hotel was spotless. Air con in the room for 6 euro a day. The centre of Elounda was a short walk away about 10 mins. We would go back to this hotel again and recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This fabulous hotel is set, just 5 minutes from the town centre, on the sea front. It has it's own small beach but there is a lovely bigger beach just 2 mins away (fab snorkelling but take ur sea shoes tho it's pebbley). The sea is crystal clear and the view is to die for!! Elounda is lovely with plenty of restaurants, and has regular boat trips to Spinalonga . The busier town of Agios Nicolaos is only a short bus ride away (€1.70) and is well worth a visit.
If you want drunken night clubs this beautiful town is not for you but if you appreciate stunning views, clear sea, fabulous food then this place is not too be missed!! The people are pretty fab too!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elounda, Greece
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

My husband and I have spent many many happy holidays at the Akti Olous, the only reason we stopped is because we now both live in Elounda. The hotel has been upgraded in some areas this year and I hope this has reflected in the feedback from 'stayers'.

My hubby moved out to Elounda 3 years before me and (up to September last year) I still insisted on my time with him being a holiday and therefore being at the Akti.....

The number of people who book here as returners, twice and sometimes 3 times a year speaks volumes. The family who run the hotel are very very friendly, Soula is a treasure and Poppy is - well, she is Poppy! Every year we have been back it has seemed more as friends than as 'business'.

Please feel free to say hello when Jon and I are on the beach swimming with Boo (our dog), and if you have any photos of him swimming with his dad then please feel free to add them to his FB page Aqua Boo of Elounda. Many people take photos but we do not get to see them so thought this would be a good idea.

Room Tip: We always upgraded to one of the rooms at the front of the main building - worth the extra for me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed in the Akti in September 2013.
The welcome was good when we arrived and the rooms were clean and functional.
The room we stayed in was quite small and the bathroom was also small but was all we needed for the week stay.
The breakfast had plenty of choice and we loved the option to sit outside of a morning and feed the fish.
The Sky bar was a good option to use and had a great view of the surrounding area and of course a cheeky drink!!
Our balcony was really small and didn't have much of a view but that wasn't the end of the world.
The staff were all very helpful and friendly and happy to help.

In terms of restaurants our favourite was the Orlondi on the front towards the square from the Alti.
The trip to Spinalonga was worth a visit and was really interesting.

A really enjoyable stay overall.

Room Tip: Anything at the front of the hotel, rooms to the back don't have any kind of view at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Akti Olous Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akti Olous Hotel

Address: Akti Oloundos Beach Road, Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lassithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#7 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
#11 Family Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Akti Olous Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akti Olous is recently renovated, a family-run hotel ideal for those of all ages, looking for comfortable accommodation in a cosy environment. The hotel is located directly on the thick sandy beach in the bay of Elounda, only 300 m from the village of Elounda, its small harbour and shopping area. The location of the hotel provides a relaxed holiday, with stunning panoramic view from the roof top pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Akti Olous Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akti Olous Elounda
Elounda Akti Olous
Akti Olous Hotel Elounda, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akti Olous Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.