We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay at the Akti Olous” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Akti Olous Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Akti Olous Hotel to your Saves list
Akti Olous Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Akti Oloundos Beach Road, Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Elounda
Wirral UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely stay at the Akti Olous”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Found the hotel to be nice and exceptionally friendly, very clean and in great location with fab views over Elounda Bay. Didn't use the hotel restaurant or bar, but the breakfast gave a good choice, if not fab quality. Buffet breakfast of cold (cheeses, hams, tinned fruit, yoghurt) & hot (usual attempt at 'full English', toast) plus cakes & drinks. Room design means they're not huge, with a strangely shaped bathroom, but you do get a fridge, hair dryer & tv. Free wi-fi also. From what we could see all rooms have a balcony. Air-con is charged extra, 6 euros a day & safety deposit box a couple of euros a day extra on top. We choose this mainly for its location, close enough to the centre without being in the middle, which is exactly what it is. Lovely to walk into town along the waterfront. As already mentioned, you are not dropped off right outside the hotel as the coach has no access so you have to walk a couple of hundred yards with your case, worth baring in mind. Also mentioned is the hotel being strangely noisy as if the walls are really thin, the people above us playing musical chairs every morning didn't help!!! The resort is one of the friendliest we have been to but drinking anything other than local beer and wine is expensive.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    130
    41
    16
    7
See reviews for
37
220
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is a lovely hotel with customer parking within easy walking distance of Elounda. Right opposite a small beach ideal for swimming. Although there were no rooms available with a sea view, the room we had looked out on to a small garden area with olive trees. Across the road, by the beach is a small pier which comprises the restaurant. Great food and attentive service.
Breakfast was amazing with a larger choice than most of the other hotels we used while on Crete.
The only drawback was the fact that we kept hearing doors slamming right through until the early hours of the morning, this was the only hotel we encountered with this problem and the only hotel with mainly British guests (Any connection I wonder???).
If you were staying here on the night of Saturday the 1st of June and you allowed your door to slam may I suggest that next year you buy a tent and stay in a field in Scarborough.
There is NO, repeat NO excuse for this kind of anti social behaviour.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Returned after 11 nights on a B and B basis . After reading the reviews on tripadvisor we were prepared for the smallish rooms. The cleanliness at the hotel and helpfullnes of the staff is is 5 star. Swimming pool area is lovely and relaxing. We have been to Greece many times and this is one of the best hotels we have stayed at. You could go to one of 5 * hotels in the area but none could compete with the Akti Olous location .Went into Ag Nic on bus 1.70 E each way, Went on the mountain happy train with Ziggy which was great, Elounda is a place to chill . We especially enjoyed Del Mar fro pre-dinner drinks and Babel (the front of house man is great)

Room Tip: try to get a room on 2 floor upwards with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Due to a small disability the shower was important to us and it did only have a curtain. For the larger person not getting the floor wet can be a problem. Now I have got the business of the shower out of the way I can say only good things about this hotel. Food was excellent in the Al a carte restaurant and not expensive. Breakfast was above average I mean one does not expect Bacon every day when abroad in 3*. Staff a delight. The roof garden more than lived up to the photos in fact the hotel was prettier than any of the photos shown on the internet.

Room Tip: Pillows are a bit hard. But as the holiday progressed I forgot about this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clydebank, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Returned 14th June after 1 week stay half board. It was a beautiful setting next to the beach and views were excellent. Unfortunately the choice of food was terrible. There was not much for starters small sellection of salad without lettuce. Main meal was a selection of 2/3 dishes and the desert was 1 scope of ice cream.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Returned 18th June after 2 weeks bed and breakfast. Really sad to come home - which is the acid test for us as to whether it was a good holiday. We loved this family run hotel with great al a carte food in a great location. Holidaying in Greece every year we have found the rooms are hit and miss no matter what star rating they have and no exception here. Room 114 is small with a tiny balcony with wall view and partial sea view, but decent size bathroom, fridge and beds make it bearable. holiday rooms are for sleeping and getting dressed in my opinion. if you compare it to your own bedroom then you will always be disappointed. Air con even in early June was a must for us at 84 euros for the 2 weeks. the whole hotel is spotless, all the staff very friendly and the sky bar and roof top pool were a novelty for us. The cocktails and the moussaka are the best in Crete - nobody argued that point on our stay. We will hopefully return to this hotel for our 10th wedding anniversary next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swasea
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Picking a hotel from a brochure is always going to be a lottery. The proprietors are not going to tell you that some of their rooms are going to be considerably inferior to those in the brochure photos. They are not going to tell you that they never quite got round to putting in the extractor fans in the windowless bathrooms, they are not going to say that there will be little or no hot water at certain times in the day and that they never quite managed to have the surface of the bath room floor tiles the same level as the bedroom tiles - the small difference being just enough to to give your toes a good stubbing.They won't tell you about their gloomy annex or the unloved grounds, they wont tell you that even when you have a room with a view the view is extremely narrow and framed by the surrounding rooftops with the satellite dishes, air conditioning units and chimneys. They will not warn you that the bedrooms turn into small ovens with the glorious Cretan sunshine and that the only way to cool them down enough to sleep is to buy into the air conditioning at 6 euros per day. However, they will tell you that their hotel is in a quiet part of the town and is a short walk away from the centre of Elounda, they will tell you that it has a jetty over the water where you can have an excellent self-serve breakfast and that they have a friendly and helpful staff. Five star comfort and service it is not, value for money it is. I was surprised to read other reviews about this hotel in which it is described as a family run hotel - we made the comment several times to each other that we could never see anyone who looked as though they were in charge and assumed that it was part of a group. Yes, the journey from the airport is over two hours, but that's what it says in the brochure and that is what makes Elounda a quieter resort, we were grateful for the journey as we passed through many of the closer resorts. Elounda has enough good restaurants with a range of different menus and prices to keep you entertained for several weeks, a couple of small beaches on the outskirts and a couple in the middle. There are many hills / mountains that surround the town with miles of footpaths through acres of wild thyme and other herbs. There's an atmospheric island called Spinalonga which, if you can reach early in the morning before the crowds, will certainly move you.

We would certainly return to Elounda and probably stay at the Akti Olous hotel (subject to knowing which room we were going to be allocated)

Room Tip: make sure that you specify 2nd or 3rd floor and not in the annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Akti Olous Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akti Olous Hotel

Address: Akti Oloundos Beach Road, Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lassithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#9 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
#11 Family Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Akti Olous Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akti Olous is recently renovated, a family-run hotel ideal for those of all ages, looking for comfortable accommodation in a cosy environment. The hotel is located directly on the thick sandy beach in the bay of Elounda, only 300 m from the village of Elounda, its small harbour and shopping area. The location of the hotel provides a relaxed holiday, with stunning panoramic view from the roof top pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Akti Olous Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akti Olous Elounda
Elounda Akti Olous
Akti Olous Hotel Elounda, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akti Olous Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.