We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Akti Olous Hotel

Save Saved
You added Akti Olous Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 8 more sites!
Akti Olous Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beach Road, Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 39 hotels in Elounda
newcastle
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great value stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Returned 18th June after 2 weeks bed and breakfast. Really sad to come home - which is the acid test for us as to whether it was a good holiday. We loved this family run hotel with great al a carte food in a great location. Holidaying in Greece every year we have found the rooms are hit and miss no matter what star rating they have and no exception here. Room 114 is small with a tiny balcony with wall view and partial sea view, but decent size bathroom, fridge and beds make it bearable. holiday rooms are for sleeping and getting dressed in my opinion. if you compare it to your own bedroom then you will always be disappointed. Air con even in early June was a must for us at 84 euros for the 2 weeks. the whole hotel is spotless, all the staff very friendly and the sky bar and roof top pool were a novelty for us. The cocktails and the moussaka are the best in Crete - nobody argued that point on our stay. We will hopefully return to this hotel for our 10th wedding anniversary next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    122
    98
    34
    15
    7
See reviews for
29
168
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Swasea
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Picking a hotel from a brochure is always going to be a lottery. The proprietors are not going to tell you that some of their rooms are going to be considerably inferior to those in the brochure photos. They are not going to tell you that they never quite got round to putting in the extractor fans in the windowless bathrooms, they are not going to say that there will be little or no hot water at certain times in the day and that they never quite managed to have the surface of the bath room floor tiles the same level as the bedroom tiles - the small difference being just enough to to give your toes a good stubbing.They won't tell you about their gloomy annex or the unloved grounds, they wont tell you that even when you have a room with a view the view is extremely narrow and framed by the surrounding rooftops with the satellite dishes, air conditioning units and chimneys. They will not warn you that the bedrooms turn into small ovens with the glorious Cretan sunshine and that the only way to cool them down enough to sleep is to buy into the air conditioning at 6 euros per day. However, they will tell you that their hotel is in a quiet part of the town and is a short walk away from the centre of Elounda, they will tell you that it has a jetty over the water where you can have an excellent self-serve breakfast and that they have a friendly and helpful staff. Five star comfort and service it is not, value for money it is. I was surprised to read other reviews about this hotel in which it is described as a family run hotel - we made the comment several times to each other that we could never see anyone who looked as though they were in charge and assumed that it was part of a group. Yes, the journey from the airport is over two hours, but that's what it says in the brochure and that is what makes Elounda a quieter resort, we were grateful for the journey as we passed through many of the closer resorts. Elounda has enough good restaurants with a range of different menus and prices to keep you entertained for several weeks, a couple of small beaches on the outskirts and a couple in the middle. There are many hills / mountains that surround the town with miles of footpaths through acres of wild thyme and other herbs. There's an atmospheric island called Spinalonga which, if you can reach early in the morning before the crowds, will certainly move you.

We would certainly return to Elounda and probably stay at the Akti Olous hotel (subject to knowing which room we were going to be allocated)

Room Tip: make sure that you specify 2nd or 3rd floor and not in the annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

We returned to Elounda this year to visit friends who live there and decided to stay again at the Akti Olous , this time for two weeks . We were given room 424 thanks to our friends recommendations and it was a fabulous spacious room with a partial sea view . Once again the staff at the hotel were extremely friendly and very helpful with any queries we had . The setting of the Akti literally right on the waterfront is fantastic and having breakfast out there on the is a wonderful way to start the day . The Blue Sea restaurant food was delicious as always and I would highly recommend both the restaurant and the hotel to anyone wishing to visit the beautiful resort of Elounda , we will be back again in October without a doubt !!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We have just returned (June 11) from The Akti Olous Hotel, we spent 2 weeks half board, and these are our thoughts of the Hotel.
After a great flight with Jet2 we arrived after about a 2 hour transfer, and were dropped off on the main road and walked down the alley way, thinking "this doesn't look very good" but no need to worry, as we got booked in swiftly and went to our room.
We had room 117, we did ask for a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor but we found this room was o/k, small but for 2 of us, was just fine, it had a fridge, hair dryer, LCD tv, free WiFi throughout the hotel, and a small balcony, we had a sea view, with Spinalonga in the distance.
We found the food to be excellent, the breakfasts inc, fruit juices, cereals, Greek yogurts, then followed by a full English or Continental.
The evening meal was just as good, they never repeated the meals and you always had a good choice, we did opt for the A La Carte menu twice, which we received 7€ discount each, I could not fault these meals, they were excellent.
The waitresses and waiters were a credit to The Hotel, also the cleaning staff who kept the Hotel spotless.
Reading some negative reviews on this hotel, I don't know what people expect, in my opinion, this is a wonderful Greek hotel, in a perfect quiet position, and I would recommend it to my friends.
Also the hotel attracted such friendly guests which made a nice atmosphere, inc a lovely family from Nottm.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Always a pleasure to meet up with Friends returning year after year to this lovely family run hotel,set in what can only be described as the perfect location .Breath taking views over the bay and mountains stunning sunrises and sunsets only add to your holiday experience .

Winter has seen a major refit take place throughout the hotel with extensive alterations and improvements ,clearly many thousands of pounds having been spent to make guests stays more enjoyable.

Like all hotels who operate alongside a travel company (Jet 2 for example) one has to remember that one might not get the best rooms in the hotel or indeed the best views .

Bearing this in mind I feel it is your holiday company one should be talking to or the resort representative,not shouting and screaming at the receptionist and hotel staff ,because your discounted holiday package did not provide you wih luxury five star accommodation and treatment.

I am amazed at some of the remarks made here by some guests and to redress the balance ,I have to say that once again in thirteen years two months each year (May /September)I have never once had cause to complain about my stay at this hotel.

The Akti Olous has always delivered and has improved its quality of service year after year,yes to me its a very very special place as it is to many ,people who come back year after year cannot be wrong.
To the Family especially the boys the receptionist ,the crazy chef,the bar and restaurant staff and especially the cleaners who work tirelessly ,I say a special thankyou for this and many years of wonderful holidays.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

After a long 2 hour drive to Elounda we were dropped off on the main road and shown to a back street entrance to the hotel. After checking in, the receptionist showed us to our room which was in the annexe on the ground floor and extremely dark and small with limited storage space. The outlook from the small balcony was an untidy garden area with a tree almost on the balcony and rubbish (including an old toilet!) in the 'garden'. Feeling very disappointed we asked the receptionist if it was possible to change to a higher floor but she stated that as we hadn't booked at least over a year ago and had not specifically requested a high floor it was not possible. I would point out that this was not a last minute bargain and we had actually booked 6 months earlier which in my view is a reasonable length of time. We did speak to our Jet2 rep the following day who said she would look into it for us. After 6 days we were offered a room in the main hotel block on the 3rd floor which had a lovely side sea view and took up the offer. This did make a big difference to our holiday and all in all we were satisfied with this result.

Please be aware though that if you book this hotel you need to specify exactly what you want because I would say there are probably only about 25 rooms out of the 70 (that's probably being generous) which would be anything like those on the web site. Not much is mentioned about the annexe and rooms literally looking onto a brick wall all on one side of the hotel.

There are however a lot of good points to the hotel. The location is on the sea front and only about 10 minutes stroll into the square in Elounda. All the hotel was kept clean and towels/linen were changed every 3rd day and rooms cleaned dailty to a good standard. Bathrooms were the usual 'water on the floor' Greek style and quite small. We also found the water to be nearly always cold by 5.30 each evening but not sure if this was just our room.

The pool area was on the top floor of the hotel with lovely views, although it was very limited for space with only about a dozen sunbeds. Don't expect to be able to sunbathe or swim before 9 on a morning though because the cleaning maids won't let you in! There is also a private 'beach' (shingle) outside the hotel with sunbeds for use. There is no shallow area in the pool so not really child friendly. There is also a nice bar area on the top floor but this seemed to be unused most of the time we were there (end May into June)

The breakfasts were lovely and consisted of cooked eggs/bacon etc as well as the usual cold meats/cheese, yogurt and fruit etc. Everything was topped up regularly and it was great to take a breakfast over the road to the hotel's jetty restaurant. I would recommend a bed and breakfast basis rather than half board as there are so many lovely restaurants to eat out at very reasonable prices. Most of our evening meals with half a litre of wine were in the region of 25 euros or less. Our favourites were Mams, Olondi and Ariadnes.

Trips from the harbour over to Spinalonga were 10 euros return and there is a regular bus service into Ag Nik for about 7 euros return. As we have visited Crete a few time we did not go on any of the organised trips but did think they seemed expensive so it would probably be better to use the local agents.

All in all, we loved Elounda but the journey to and from the airport is a bit gruelling. If we visit again we would probably get a taxi. As for the Akti Olous, not sure if we would return to this hotel as it seems to be a bit of a lottery with regard to the rooms which is a shame because the location is lovely. I would say this hotel is definitely a couples or solo hotel rather than family.

I hope this review will be of help and have tried to give the good and not so good points as I experienced them.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Be warned the transfer is very long at 2.5 hours . When you get dropped you are at the back entrance so in th middle of the night this is confusing down a Seri The front entrance is nice with a lift to all 4 floors . On arrival the room was disappointing , small with a child's bed crammed in. The balcony was tiny and the bathroom very very small and badly laid out . But a nights sleep allowed US to freshen up and see the partial view of the sea at the front on the Hotel. The rest of the view was a brick wall about 6 feet from the balcony . But having seen some others room locations in the annex I would say that we actually got one of the better rooms . Do not book this hotel expecting assea view , you are not going to get one unless you pay for one of the 6 rooms that actually are at the front.the others have poor or no views . rooms cleaned and tidied daily . Having said that the setting is fantastic . We spent hardly any time inthe room and enjoyed to walk . So close both ways from the hotel are lots of beaches , pool bars and taverns . The town is a very gentle 10 minutes away and there are fabulous shops all the wayto it . We really loved location perhaps the best in Greece that we have seen . We went b and b and really loved this too .great breakfast toast , yogurt , bacon , eggs etc etc can't go wrong with this. Don't make the mistake of going half board though like many did as you will miss out on the best food we have ever had in Greece . Eloundas restraints weeregreat . Try those on the waterfront walk just 2 minutes Cromwell the hotel rather than town . By far the best was lotus eaters we loved the service and food . A 'll the eating places are set on the water front with sea views leaving you totally spoiled. Also don't mis the small restraint the other way k a n a l i . Wonderful lunches these . Local buses into agnik excellent . Boats to spina long a great don't buy a trip you do not need it , do it yourself . The jeap trip very very disappointing and very very excessive at 75 Euro each . Lots of driving with no real things to see . Perhaps the worst jeap safari we have been on . 2 adults and child went in turkey last year for 5o e , so to pay nearly 2oo e this year in Crete was very eexpensive , and this Disney not deliver I am afraid . The submarine trip in ag ni k was good . Amazingly not any boat trips around Crete , very disappointing . Hotel pool area poor with only 12 sun beds and some seating areas . First week mainly old people andaswehad a child she felt a little left out . 2 more children came the next week , but got the impression that some of Ghent lfher guests were not pleased to have them about . The bar upstairs was totally lowland unused at night which was a shame as it has wonderful views . All in all thehotsl was only good because we got cheap deal , but it was located I a great spot that was one of the best we had had.

Room Tip: We emailed to get a better room , and compared to others it was ok . You will only get a good room i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Akti Olous Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akti Olous Hotel

Also Known As:
Akti Olous Elounda
Elounda Akti Olous
Akti Olous Hotel Elounda, Crete
Address: Beach Road, Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lassithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#10 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Akti Olous Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akti Olous is recently renovated, a family-run hotel ideal for those of all ages, looking for comfortable accommodation in a cosy environment. The hotel is located directly on the thick sandy beach in the bay of Elounda, only 300 m from the village of Elounda, its small harbour and shopping area. The location of the hotel provides a relaxed holiday, with stunning panoramic view from the roof top pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Venere, Hotels.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Akti Olous Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akti Olous Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.