We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Tidy, well situated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Akti Olous Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Akti Olous Hotel to your Saves list
Akti Olous Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Akti Oloundos Beach Road, Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Elounda
Lancashire UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Clean and Tidy, well situated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Visited in May/June 2013, the place was well situated within easy walking distance from the port area.
the hotel is spotless and our room was clean and tidy.
our side view room on the second floor had a nice side view out to see.
overall we were pleased, would stay again and recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    135
    41
    16
    7
See reviews for
37
225
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chislehurst, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

For years I worked as a tour operator including a season on Crete. This place is a best kept secret with many return guests. I had a room in the 3rd floor with side sea view. Superbly clean and comfortable. Staff could not be more helpful, breakfast is I think quite extensive. The only moans I did hear were about the single coffee/tea machine, but to be fair that was only when a group of guests arrived at the same time. I did heAr someone say they did not like rooms in the ground floor annexe, but not because they were bad merely that they liked to leave doors open and didn't think they could in those rooms. The standard of the property is clearly aimed at boutique style and whilst the public places have enough evidence to suggest this is the case the rooms are compact enough just to miss on that scale. Don't get me wrong they are no smaller than any other hotel I have represented out here. The suites are naturally a good size and overlook the front. Although we were on the 3rd floor I can truthfully say I was never kept awake by music as they turn it down around midnight. The pool upstairs is 180 deep all round so no shallow end and one ladder to get in and out. Do be careful of wet feet on the tiles as it is very easy to slip. There are limited beds available up there. There is a little shingle beach opposite the main entrance across a not very busy single road which drops in depth quite quickly nice for snorkelling. By the beach are the jettys that form part of the restaurant and it has to be said I have had no complaints about the food. We met some people who were in half board and when they decided to choose from the a la carte had their bill reduced by €14. The car park by the way holds about 15 or so cars and there is limited parking on the street in height of season it may be more difficult to park. Finally we drove from the airport and when we got to resort we overshot the very sharp right turning 3 times. It was at 3 am, if you should get here in the dark look for the red down pointing arrow on the right as you drive in and it's immediate downhill to the right. If its day time look out for the motorbike shop it's just after that. By the way you can no longer legally hire a moped in a car licence you need to have an A on your driving licence. So in summary I love, love , loved the Akti Olous and their extremely helpful and friendly staff, immaculate rooms and tasty food. I'd defo come here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax West Yorks
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Recently returned from a week's stay at the Akti Olous. I do once again, seem to be out of step with the general consensus, but the whole idea of Trip Advisor is to share your personal findings.
The hotel is situated right on the sea front with a very attractive view of Elounda Bay. If you imagine how a view from a Greek Island should look, then this must not be far off that ideal.The road is quiet and is it is very accessible to the town which is about a 10 minutes walk away. Turn right and you are soon in an historical and very scenic part of the area.
The hotel does not clearly advertise itself well and the entrance is up a side passage which can be accessed from the front road and the main road around the back. There was no hotel guide explaining any facilities.
The bedroom was small, but clean.The shower was not sophisticated and water goes all over the floor every time. We had a small balcony which faced a wall and the surroundings were made up of air conditioning units. The sea was just visible through a gap, but this was not a sea view.
We were lucky enough to enjoy 30 degrees heat every day, so air conditioning was essential. No information was given about this 'extra' and when requested on the first morning was just presented with a remote. Pleased be warned to enjoy this luxury costs a whopping 6 euros per day!
The breakfast was quite good with hot and cold choices, but bread rolls would have been welcome. The evening meal was only average with a basic choice of salad, 3 mains and a dessert which was healthy, but not everybody's wish. For another 7 euros per day you could have had a la carte in the outside restaurant. This sounds like a 2 tier system - don't like!
Most of the staff, however, were friendly and polite.
So overall an average score - but if you go for bread and breakfast and eat out in the numerous dining establishments you will fare better.

Room Tip: Try for 3rd floor and above, but not at the side facing the wall
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The perfect small hotel holiday for adults with lovely clean rooms, extremely friendly and helpful staff. Our double room was very clean and quite small but with a big bed,fridge and tea/coffee making facility, and balcony was just big enough for the 2 of us with a side sea view. The bathroom was also very small, but as we dont spend much of our holiday in the room it was fine.The breakfast buffet is very good with a good choice for everyone, and the pier restaurant serves excellant food (but be warned- the portions are very large!) The roof top swimming pool area and sunset bar are great. Although the private beach is small and pebbley it couldn't be in a better location. It was a five-star holiday and we will definately be going back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Had a fabulous week in Elounda, friendly staff, clean rooms, lovely view and several amazing restaurants within a few minutes walking distance. Would highly recommend. (Take a beach towel and snorkel and goggles)

Room Tip: Take your own pillow - if you like a soft one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

The hotel has been refurbished well. We would recommend it to anyone. We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis, the selection of food in the morning would have satisfied the taste of anyone. We had one small problem but thanks to the lovely receptionist Soula, it was quickly sorted.Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and how delightful every morning to be able to eat in the open air by the water.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My Girlfriend and I did some research into Elounda and finally settlled on the Akti Olous. We didn't regret it!
A beautiful little hotel in the most perfect location in Elounda short walks from all beaches restaurants and general shops. Right on the sea front it even has it's own restaurant on a jetty out into the water which is a lovely place to sit, have breakfast and feed the fish! The sky bar and the adjacent rooftop pool offers amazing views of the area and given the size, is the absolute perfect place to just relax and get some sun.
There is also an absolute paradise beach a walk over the hill past the windmills. Get there before the boats at 11:30 and there's a chance you'll have the beach totally to yourself. Utterly unreal.
The service in the restaurant is perfect and everyone is more than friendly and smiley.
We went for the b&b option and the breakfast is also lovely, nice coffee, croissants and other hot bits and bobs.
If you're staying in Elounda, you should stay here. No brainer.

Room Tip: A sea view is the obvious choice! The lower levels will have less chance of noise from the Sky Bar b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Akti Olous Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akti Olous Hotel

Address: Akti Oloundos Beach Road, Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lassithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#7 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
#11 Family Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Akti Olous Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akti Olous is recently renovated, a family-run hotel ideal for those of all ages, looking for comfortable accommodation in a cosy environment. The hotel is located directly on the thick sandy beach in the bay of Elounda, only 300 m from the village of Elounda, its small harbour and shopping area. The location of the hotel provides a relaxed holiday, with stunning panoramic view from the roof top pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Akti Olous Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akti Olous Elounda
Elounda Akti Olous
Akti Olous Hotel Elounda, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akti Olous Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.