We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully situated hotel with very average food and a rocky beach.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 38, Elounda, Crete 72 053, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Elounda
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Beautifully situated hotel with very average food and a rocky beach.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

This property is beautifully situated on the Aegean sea across from the Island of Spinalonga. It is a 5 minute walk from the village of Plaka and a 10 minute car ride from the town of Elounda. The rooms are very large and comfortable, each has a sea view and some have their own private plunge pool. This resort is not for those who have mobility issues. There are a lot of steep steps and although the resort has a funicular, it only takes 15 people at a time and often the wait is very long.
There are several pools on site, mostly salt water however for those looking for a beach, there is none. The hotel has a jetty with some steps into the sea. For those who are nervous about not being to stand in the water, this is not the resort for you. The rocks closer to the shore are sharp and not easy to stand on.
There are 4 restaurants on site, Italian, Steak, Asian and Greek. The breakfast buffet was excellent but we were very disappointed with standard of the food in general, particularly in the Greek and Asian restaurants. There seemed to be huge quantities of everything with not much flavour! The service however was excellent, particularly in the lobby bar and the Italian.
If you are planning on staying here, I would recommend it be on a bed and breakfast basis as there are plenty of wonderful places to eat in Elounda and Plaka, particularly if you like fresh fish and seafood.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sotikre, General Manager at Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review which means a lot to us.

It is wonderful to read that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you enjoyed the location as well as the service.

I have taken on board your comments regarding your dining experience and please rest assured that we are always working on all comments made as the comfort and enjoyment of our guests is of outmost importance to us.

We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming back to our resort.

Kindest regards,

Sotiris Kremastiotis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    217
    106
    49
    33
See reviews for
185
578
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

we stayed for 1 week in a luxury villa with pool. 2 adults and 2 young children, the room plus pool was excellent, especially the outdoor space. all the food and the service in the hotel was very high quality. we ate at the blue door for lunch on the asia restaraunt, and aslo used room service which was excellent. the prices are london prices, but the service and food is as good if not better. plaka is at most a 10minute walk along the beach and has some excellent, relaxed restaurants. all child friendly
the things to know before you go, would be that its a stone beach, no sand, and that to get to the beach you must take the funicular as the hotel and the rooms are quite high up. sometimes you have to wait. the internet was a bit patchy, but this annoyed my daughter more than me. spinalonga is in the bay, and a quick speedboat over from the hotel is a good idea, early in the morning to avoud the tourist boats, when we went we were the only people there for an hour, which was amazing. that was our second summer holiday in crete, and it was again excellent

Room Tip: we had an island luxury suite with a sea view and a pool. we choose the room nearest reception, whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sotikre, General Manager at Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review which means a lot to us. I am delighted that you and your family had a memorable stay and you enjoyed all aspects of it.

I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming back on a future visit.

Kindest regards,

Sotiris Kremastiotis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014 via mobile

It takes 10 mins to get from most rooms to the beach/pool/spa. The spa locker room smelled awful. First room king bed was really two twins pushed together-we couldn't sleep and had to switch rooms but there was no apology. Furniture old tattered worn and scratched. Showers flood room with toilet if on for more than 2 mins. We were given broken tennis rackets... Food ok but very expensive without being particularly delicious. I'm surprised by the positive reviews...if you're used to anything like the four seasons or penninsula in terms of quality, don't come here!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sotikre, General Manager at Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the taking the time to share your comments.

I am really sorry that there were elements of your stay with us that you did not enjoy at the resort and that you found the style of Blue Palace and the experience it provides no to be your liking.

I am astonished with the areas that did not reach your satisfaction as up to now we have received quite positive feedback.

Your comment about the broken tennis rackets came to a surprise to me since we always check the equipment prior to lending it out to our valued guests.

I have taken on board your review regarding your overall experience and please rest assured that we are always working on all comments made as the comfort and enjoyment of our guests is of outmost importance to us.

Hopefully this will not deter you from visiting us again in the future as we would be honored to serve you again.

Kindest regards,

Sotiris Kremastiotis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

If you can stay here, you should! Book a room with a private pool. The rooms are spacious and really well appointed. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful. The concierge Dino's could not have been more accommodating. The beach is rocky but the water is so clean and blue. Beauty is everywhere you look at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sotikre, General Manager at Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind comments! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, the location, as well as our excellent Concierge staff.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Crete!

Kindest regards,

Sotiris Kremastiotis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Peaceful, beautiful resort and everything faultlessly clean.
Amazing a la carte (particularly The Steak, and Asian restaurants).

Blue Palace is one of the best places I have ever stayed. Compared favourably with Four Seasons in Egypt and One&Only Royal Mirage in Dubai, both of which are heaven on earth. However the staff at Blue Palace were amazing, all genuinely friendly...A special thank you, made a huge difference as I was travelling alone.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sotikre, General Manager at Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your very positive review on your recent stay with us which we greatly appreciate.

I am so pleased that you felt everything was perfect and that my team attended to all your needs.

We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back!

Kindest regards,

Sotiris Kremastiotis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

This luxury resort is truly that--pure luxury! Located in the magnificent setting of Elounda, within walking distance to the delightful village of Plaka, the Blue Palace is one of the best resorts I've ever experienced. As a traveler, I love to explore and pack as much sightseeing as I can into a trip. But, when our little group arrived at this destination, we all agreed that we could be very happy just taking in all that the property has to offer with three pools and a private beach overlooking the Island of Spinalonga. Breakfast is included, and it is lush. Every taste and dietary restriction is accommodated. My only regret about staying on this property is that the trip had to end!

Room Tip: Rooms with private pools on their own balconies are offered. But, in my opinion, the public pools a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sotikre, General Manager at Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for posting such a positive review and for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to Crete!

I am most appreciative of all your positive comments and delighted that you enjoyed your accommodation and the service.

I am looking forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back again for a second visit.

Kindest regards,

Sotiris Kremastiotis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

Apart from the elevator music, the place is a haven for relax and a more than welcoming experience for honeymooners. We were gifted a bottle of champagne and sweets as we entered our room, and delighted with the suite and amazing heated private pool. The service is great, (warning put out the Do Not Disturb sign on door if you don't want people coming in while you are taking a dip in the pool) The Greek restaurant called the Blue Door is in an amazing location on the water and very romantic. Flame restaurant has insanely good lobster, lacked some atmosphere, but the food amazIng. Breakfast is impressive, huge. If you are feeling ripped off by food and drink costs, simply leave the resort and head to Plakas or Elounda, no big deal. The BPR is all about luxury, escape,and relax. We did not want to leave. If that is what you want, you will not be disappointed. Tip: The morning trip from Plakas to Spinalonga was cool. Wear sneakers! :)

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sotikre, General Manager at Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 6, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing the Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort and Spa for such a special occasion as your honeymoon.

It gives me great pleasure to know that you had such an enjoyable and relaxed stay with us and that you found everything to your satisfaction. You have included so many small details in your review that will help other people make up their mind about the resort.

I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the resort.

Kindest regards,

Sotiris Kremastiotis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa

Address: PO Box 38, Elounda, Crete 72 053, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Lassithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Elounda
#4 Spa Hotel in Elounda
#5 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#8 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
#9 Family Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Palace, Resort and Spa is a place of rediscovery. A member of the Condé Nast Traveler Gold List 2013, this luxury resort with exceptional charm, architecture and style, is the perfect hideaway to experience island luxury accommodations, authentic cuisine and the breathtaking beauty of a Greek island. Crete is a magical place. Spend a day exploring old villages, wineries and the ancient Palace of Knossos or simply unwind with cocktails under the enchanting arches of the Arsenali Lounge Bar. Get on board the traditional wooden boat “Meraki” which will take you around the coast of Elounda, followed by a BBQ on the remote island of Agios Fokas. Explore the island of Spinalonga with its Venetian, Turkish and Arabic monuments just across from the resort and finish your day with an authentic Greek dinner at Blue Door, the tavern right at water’s edge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Starwood EMEA, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Palace Hotel Elounda
Blue Palace Resort And Spa
Blue Palace Resort & Spa
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Elounda, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.